We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel Dire Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rainhill
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Dire Food”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel is quiet, parking is secure, there is ground floor accommodation, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms have the usual Premier Inn layout and while not in the first flush of youth are spotlessly clean.
The hotel has no restaurant but is semi connected to a pub which is responsible for food, including breakfast. I met up with relatives for an evening meal. One of us had food that was ok and the other two had meals, parts of which were inedible. The breaded mushrooms were like bullets on the outside and slimy on the inside. They tasted like they had been fried in very old oil. Of the bangers and mash only the mash could be eaten as the bangers were grey and rubbery and the Yorkshire pudding was like a well played with Frisbee. The courgette and mushroom lasagne was odd, owed nothing to Italy, and tasted largely of salt. It even seemed to have pearl barley in it, but frankly it could have been anything. The puddings tasted ok but they did not have to be cooked. There were few other diners but the time between courses was long although the waiter seemed to be doing his best, I think the kitchen was letting him down.
Breakfast was a fiasco. It seems that there were not enough hotel guests to open up the pub for breakfast, so they did not bother, and bagged breakfasts to be eaten in the rooms, were provided. So no fresh coffee and warm croissants for any of the guests that morning.
This really is not good enough. Surely Premier Inn is a big enough chain to be able to put pressure on the pub to provide a decent service for guests, after all this hotel, given its location, is not cheap.
I have to say, do not stay here unless you absolutely need this particular location or if a guarantee can be given that decent food will be served when you need it. It is a pity because the staff are very good and the rooms are fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francis161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    75
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
81
69
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This was our second visit to Rainhill Premier Inn, around 12 miles outside Liverpool but Rainhill station is only 20 minutes walk away. Hotel clean, really big beds, larger than I've ever slept in before, We thought the breakfast was lovely, loved the huge blueberry muffins and the staff couldn't do enough to help, we paid £29 for this room (available if you book well in advance) great value for money. Rooms were spotlessly clean too! must say a big thank you to Sandra, it was quite cold and she preheated the room and put an additional heater in there as she knew we had young children. also Vicky and Sharon? We think she may have been the Manager? Look forward to seeing you soon.

Room Tip: families chose 215, room twice as big as the others at no extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We went with a group of friends for our annual Christmas shopping trip. What a great stay. The rooms were to a very good standard, clean with excellent beds. The bathroom was clean if a little dated but perfectly functional. We ate in the restaurant and have to say the food was really good, and certainly value for money. 2 courses for 6 with 2 bottles of wine and a coiple of beers £98!! They have a discout card scheme for over 50's which helped but even without it was was still great value at around £116. Make sure you ask about it. We went into the bar after and had a fantastic night with some fellow guests singing along to some guitarists playing in the bar. The staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. We would use this place again without hesitation. In fact I would make a point of staying here if in this area again. I dont think you can go wrong, especially if you get it on a deal as we did.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here 4 nights and found it to be an excellent base for getting to both Liverpool and Manchester by train (Rainhill station 15-20 mins walk away). All the reception staff we met were very helpful and friendly. Room was comfy, good shower (we always wish that Premier Inn baths were a little longer and kids' beds were a bit on the short side for a 5'10" 14 year-old!). Our only major gripe reiterates other recent reviews about breakfast - we had the cooked breakfast on Sunday morning and had to wait 30 minutes for it, even though we were the first people to arrive at 8 am (although the door was not unlocked till 8.05). We nearly missed our train because of the slow service. On other mornings we just bought breakfast ingredients at the Co-op near Rainhill station and ate them in the room or on the train - much better value.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank KLD965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Lovely huge comfortable room and bed. The pub next door is well worth a visit
Amazing food friendly staff both in the pub and in hotel lovely clean and warm soon would definitely visit again loved our stay






  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1982Doris1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great location if you don't want to be in the city. Really friendly & helpful staff always willing to help and advise. Rooms were clean & basic.
WARNING DO NOT use the ship inn for your meals. My family of 4 adults & 3 chidren aged between 6 & 10 sat at our table for 7,30pm as booked, we placed our order for a three course meal then waited & waited until eventually 1hr later had to ask when we would see any food, 15mins later the starter arrived, 40mins later the main course arrived.We were then informed the sweet would not be served for another 30mins. By this time we refused to wait any longer & left with 3 unhappy children & a partial refund.
The breakfast was a similar story. We sat down at 8am the buffet wasn't ready, fried breakfast arrived 1/2 hour later. The scrambled egg was overcooked & brown from the microwave, the sausages were deep fat fried, the fruit juice glass still had lipstick on from the previous user, all that for £8.99 a head. Apart from that Everton won 2-1 so that's all that matters

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here last year & have just returned for another couple on nights. Convenient location for Liverpool if you don't want to sat in the city itself. Standard excellent as usual but don't know what has happened to The Ship where you take breakfast and dinner. Last year it was fine, this year complete opposite. Had to go and find someone yesterday when we went in, only person around was cleaner busy vacuuming. Someone came, asked where we should sit, was told anywhere. No explanation of how to use the hot drinks machine, no fresh fruit salad, fruit bowl with whole fruit in didn't look good, pears seemed over-ripe. Toaster shot first lot of toast onto floor behind, where cardboard boxes appeared to have been dumped. Not much better this morning except we knew how to get a hot drink without watching very hot water come out of the machine for what seemed like several minutes. No white bread out this morning, butter jar was empty, still a lack of staff, only person on seemed very disinterested. Shame that this happened as we find the location a very handy place to stay for lots o f reasons. Maybe Premier need to have a word with pub management.......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rainhill
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 3 in St Helens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool (Tarbock) Hotel
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
Address: 804 Warrington Road, Rainhill L35 6PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Rainhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rainhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are always guaranteed a friendly welcome and world class stay when you visit Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill. Within easy reach from Junction 7 of the M62, the hotel offers complementary parking and excellent links to Liverpool City Centre, Liverpool Airport and Knowsley Safari park. We also have a variety of Retail Parks and restaurants and can offer ideas of local attractions to ensure you enjoy all of your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing