We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel in a stunning setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Galia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Galia
Ranked #1 of 3 Prcanj B&B and Inns
portugal
Level Contributor
238 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Small hotel in a stunning setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

With stunning views of Kotor Bay but set slightly back with no direct access to the water, this modern small hotel has well equipped rooms with comfortable beds at a reasonable price for the area. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the bay from where you can watch the huge luxurious cruise ships pass as they anchor slightly nearer Kotor. Some rooms are definitely better than others; some are very small and in ours we could hear the air conditioning in the next room switching on and off all night which kept us awake.

There is free WiFi although some rooms do not get it. Parking is also very limited.

We had dinner and breakfast included in our price and it was good.. A choice of either a fish or meat main dish with soup first and a small dessert. Breakfast was okay, choice of one main dish (cornflakes or eggs and bacon or omelette etc) and bread and jams.

The young owners are friendly and speak good English.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view of Kotor Bay - a few do not have this. Some of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    28
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Even though the rooms are not sound proof , they are spacious,with free internet ,parking and a big breakfast.The view from your own private balcony is rewarding. At night when the walls surrounding the old city light up , its magic. To get there you absolutely need a car or be ready to walk for at least half an hour from the east entrance of the old city,

Room Tip: ask for room no 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleftheria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights during July 2012. Prcanj is about 4K from the old town of Kotor ( 3-3.5€). Similar villages are located along the bay, 1-2 KM from each other. A small beach is about 50m from the hotel entrance. There's a small supermarket in Prcanj, as well as a couple of restaurants. You can rent kayaks 1K from the hotel.

Hotel Galia: the owners were very friendly and spoke sufficient English. Rooms are big enough, quite modern, with airco and tv. I paid 86€ in half board for 3 persons, so satisfied price-quality wise. For breakfast you can choose one item from the "food list" and one item from the "drinks list". A bit awkward. The dinner is quite "oily", would like to suggest the owner adapt this. There are laptops at the reception which you can use.

The area is very relaxed. Few foreign tourists ( mostly Serbians ). Kotor old town is very charming. Quite convenient transportation from and to Kotor by public bus.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed one night in Prcanj, which is just across the Bay of Kotor from Kotor. It was a very comfortable hotel - room big enough for both of us and our luggage (including one very large bag). The bathroom was clean. The balcony was nice - we made good use of that. The room had all the amenities we required, although the air conditioning needed to be turned to 16 degrees (Celsius) to really cool things down, but it worked so that's what counts. We had a bit of an issue in the night - it was quite windy when we were there and a door marked "Private" had been left ajar and the window in that room open. We both woke at about 3 am to the door banging in the wind. But we just got up and sorted it out - it was the only noise in the night. There were other guests on our floor but we didn't hear them at all. Breakfast was good - a good variety of things on offer and it came out freshly made and quickly after we ordered. I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJHaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodoe, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Everything has been perfect from the moment we got here (and yes, we are still at hotel Galia, we leave tomorrow morning)! We arrived very late in the evening, and got the most perfect room with the best view over Kotor and the fjord. Even though it was past 11 PM, the owner still made us some sandwiches to eat after our long drive. Another thing is that we had bought some white wine one evening, and the owner offered us to change the bottle of white wine with one he had in his fridge, so that we got a cold one instead. How nice is that?

The location is excellent, especially if you have a car. Just takes a couple of minutes to drive from Kotor city, even though the road is very narrow.

Breakfast is great, with a lot of different dishes to choose from.

What else can I write? It is an excellent place to stay for such a low price!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stay there with my wife in April. Hotel is located about 3km from Kotor Old Town overlooking Kotor Bay. Our room was very clean, staff polite, helpful and friendly - just what you expected. We had a problem with a wi-fi as our room was in a top floor, far from the router. The only possibility to have an internet in that room was to put a computer/iphone on the floor by the door. Taxi to the hotel cost between 2,70E - 3,50E (we took a taxi around 5 times while have been there) from the old town, same from the bus station. Do not believe in offer like 5E per person etc., walk down the road from bus station and you will find a taxis everywhere around.
I will recommend that place, it was everything we expected for that kind of cash

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have aproblem with wi-fi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wsiolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prcanj
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendido
Hotel Splendido
#1 of 3 in Prcanj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bokeljski Dvor
Hotel Bokeljski Dvor
#2 of 3 in Prcanj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#4 of 4 in Dobrota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galia

Property: Hotel Galia
Address: Glavati bb, Prcanj, Kotor Municipality 85335, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Prcanj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Prcanj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Galia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing