We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average”
Review of Hotel Galia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galia
Ranked #1 of 3 Prcanj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Täby
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Below average”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Fantastic view over Kotor bay but too far out. A taxi from the centre should be 3-4 euro, we paid 15 euro the first night... So be aware of taxi scams. The room had a fantastic view with balcony but really, the shower was flooded each time you used it, the toilet flush did not work the first day, nor did the lamps by the bed. Okay breakfast and good service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missbrun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    29
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Had booked this hotel thinking it was actually in Kotor. When we arrived by local bus from Dubrovnik, tourist information in Kotor told us this was 6km. away. Initially disappointed, we took a taxi (once again very friendly and helpful) and arrived at what transpired to be an amazing location and a fabulous small hotel. The owner and staff could not have been more helpful, The room was well appointed and absolutely spotless as was the en suite with shower. The balcony overlooking the bay surrounded by stunning mountain scenery, the fresh food which was well cooked and delicious and good value for money, and the friendliness leaves us to highly recommend the Galia and we would definately come back. Because of the location we didn't find the need to venture to Kotor because you can walk along this bay and there are several bars, all with open air terraces on the waterfront, superb restaurants and every bend you walk round is even more breathtaking. You could easily spend a short break staying in Prcanj.

Room Tip: May not be sound proof but the positives this hotel offers far outweigh this one negative and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swim12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Galia for two nights during a self-devised tour of the Balkans and we were so pleased that we chose here as we had initially opted to stay in Kotor old town but change at the last minute and glad we did so. It is a small hotel on the banks of the Boka Bay on the edge of the village of Prcanj about three miles from Kotor on the coastal road. be aware that the coastal drive, although beautiful is also very thin and winding.

Our room was spotless and to a very high standard and had a balcony overlooking Boka Bay and Kotor and we could not have chosen a better location. It was simply divine and could not have been better. The hosts and staff were brilliant, very welcoming and always there to help.

We ate in the hotel's restaurant on both nights and were very impressed. The portions were huge and delicious and very good value for money.

Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel for all of its aspects and we were sad to leave. The staff, location, rooms and food were all top notch and the sleep qualtyis perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkleytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portugal
Level Contributor
244 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

With stunning views of Kotor Bay but set slightly back with no direct access to the water, this modern small hotel has well equipped rooms with comfortable beds at a reasonable price for the area. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the bay from where you can watch the huge luxurious cruise ships pass as they anchor slightly nearer Kotor. Some rooms are definitely better than others; some are very small and in ours we could hear the air conditioning in the next room switching on and off all night which kept us awake.

There is free WiFi although some rooms do not get it. Parking is also very limited.

We had dinner and breakfast included in our price and it was good.. A choice of either a fish or meat main dish with soup first and a small dessert. Breakfast was okay, choice of one main dish (cornflakes or eggs and bacon or omelette etc) and bread and jams.

The young owners are friendly and speak good English.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view of Kotor Bay - a few do not have this. Some of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Even though the rooms are not sound proof , they are spacious,with free internet ,parking and a big breakfast.The view from your own private balcony is rewarding. At night when the walls surrounding the old city light up , its magic. To get there you absolutely need a car or be ready to walk for at least half an hour from the east entrance of the old city,

Room Tip: ask for room no 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleftheria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights during July 2012. Prcanj is about 4K from the old town of Kotor ( 3-3.5€). Similar villages are located along the bay, 1-2 KM from each other. A small beach is about 50m from the hotel entrance. There's a small supermarket in Prcanj, as well as a couple of restaurants. You can rent kayaks 1K from the hotel.

Hotel Galia: the owners were very friendly and spoke sufficient English. Rooms are big enough, quite modern, with airco and tv. I paid 86€ in half board for 3 persons, so satisfied price-quality wise. For breakfast you can choose one item from the "food list" and one item from the "drinks list". A bit awkward. The dinner is quite "oily", would like to suggest the owner adapt this. There are laptops at the reception which you can use.

The area is very relaxed. Few foreign tourists ( mostly Serbians ). Kotor old town is very charming. Quite convenient transportation from and to Kotor by public bus.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed one night in Prcanj, which is just across the Bay of Kotor from Kotor. It was a very comfortable hotel - room big enough for both of us and our luggage (including one very large bag). The bathroom was clean. The balcony was nice - we made good use of that. The room had all the amenities we required, although the air conditioning needed to be turned to 16 degrees (Celsius) to really cool things down, but it worked so that's what counts. We had a bit of an issue in the night - it was quite windy when we were there and a door marked "Private" had been left ajar and the window in that room open. We both woke at about 3 am to the door banging in the wind. But we just got up and sorted it out - it was the only noise in the night. There were other guests on our floor but we didn't hear them at all. Breakfast was good - a good variety of things on offer and it came out freshly made and quickly after we ordered. I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJHaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prcanj
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendido
Hotel Splendido
#1 of 3 in Prcanj
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bokeljski Dvor
Hotel Bokeljski Dvor
#2 of 3 in Prcanj
34 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#4 of 4 in Dobrota
63 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Galathea
Art Hotel Galathea
#2 of 3 in Prcanj
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galia

Property: Hotel Galia
Address: Glavati bb, Prcanj, Kotor Municipality 85335, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Prcanj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Prcanj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Galia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing