We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, amazing views.”
Review of Hotel Galia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Galia
Ranked #1 of 3 Prcanj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I sayed at the Galia Hotel whilst on a Strel swimming holiday. The hotel is locally owned and in a great location on the side of the fjörd so a morning swim and little pebble beach is right on your doorstep. Our room had an amazing view across the fjörd. It was really clean, safe and the staff were friendly and helpful but not over the top.
Great breakfast with choices including muesli, fruit and yoghurt, omelette and ham and cheese.
We also ate here three times for dinner and the food was fresh with some very good fish.
The hotel staff were always wiling to help from filling water bottles to making adjustments in the menu.
The hotel is a 15 minute walk from Kotor so not in the old city but the price reflects that.

Room Tip: Room 9 certainly has an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MariGWIlliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed at Hotel Galia in Prcanj, Montenegro in early September as part of Strel Swimming week long tour. Our group all agreed the food (breakfasts and dinners) were great and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. It is family run and most staff spoke good English. There was free wi-fi available which was convenient and fast. Hotel is located about 50 m from the water's edge of Kotor Bay and offers amazing views, especially in the evening and morning. We took a taxi few times to Kotor town for 4 Eur/drive. We all very enjoyed swimming with Strel swimming tour operator and I highly recommend this trip to open water swimmers. Montenegro uses Euro, but it's much cheaper than most other European countries.

Room Tip: Try to do and go up to Lovcen National park and visit the mausoleum. We did on the last instead of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in July.

Positives:

Fantastic views of the lake and opposite mountainside from your balcony.
Good breakfast ordered from a menu and cooked fresh to order.
Quiet at night as a short distance from the centre of Kotor. (40 minutes pleasant walk or 5/10 minutes in a taxi/driving)
Couple of bars/restaurants close by within short walking distance – restaurant onsite too that serves good food (Well priced too)
Parking at the hotel when they have space which they did for us both days.
Very helpful staff and easy check in.
Bathroom modern and great powerful shower!

Negatives:

Room furniture a little out-dated and worn but still sufficient.
May be a little far from the town for some, but not for us.
No minibar or fridge in room.


Overall, a good little hotel set slightly back from the road. If driving to it from Kotor Centre, keep an eye out for the small sign and head up the steep driveway staying left. I can definitely recommended this hotel for a few days stay, or even possibly longer, and would be happy to answer any queries about it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank javab29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Fantastic view over Kotor bay but too far out. A taxi from the centre should be 3-4 euro, we paid 15 euro the first night... So be aware of taxi scams. The room had a fantastic view with balcony but really, the shower was flooded each time you used it, the toilet flush did not work the first day, nor did the lamps by the bed. Okay breakfast and good service.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missbrun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Had booked this hotel thinking it was actually in Kotor. When we arrived by local bus from Dubrovnik, tourist information in Kotor told us this was 6km. away. Initially disappointed, we took a taxi (once again very friendly and helpful) and arrived at what transpired to be an amazing location and a fabulous small hotel. The owner and staff could not have been more helpful, The room was well appointed and absolutely spotless as was the en suite with shower. The balcony overlooking the bay surrounded by stunning mountain scenery, the fresh food which was well cooked and delicious and good value for money, and the friendliness leaves us to highly recommend the Galia and we would definately come back. Because of the location we didn't find the need to venture to Kotor because you can walk along this bay and there are several bars, all with open air terraces on the waterfront, superb restaurants and every bend you walk round is even more breathtaking. You could easily spend a short break staying in Prcanj.

Room Tip: May not be sound proof but the positives this hotel offers far outweigh this one negative and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swim12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Galia for two nights during a self-devised tour of the Balkans and we were so pleased that we chose here as we had initially opted to stay in Kotor old town but change at the last minute and glad we did so. It is a small hotel on the banks of the Boka Bay on the edge of the village of Prcanj about three miles from Kotor on the coastal road. be aware that the coastal drive, although beautiful is also very thin and winding.

Our room was spotless and to a very high standard and had a balcony overlooking Boka Bay and Kotor and we could not have chosen a better location. It was simply divine and could not have been better. The hosts and staff were brilliant, very welcoming and always there to help.

We ate in the hotel's restaurant on both nights and were very impressed. The portions were huge and delicious and very good value for money.

Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel for all of its aspects and we were sad to leave. The staff, location, rooms and food were all top notch and the sleep qualtyis perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walkleytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

With stunning views of Kotor Bay but set slightly back with no direct access to the water, this modern small hotel has well equipped rooms with comfortable beds at a reasonable price for the area. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the bay from where you can watch the huge luxurious cruise ships pass as they anchor slightly nearer Kotor. Some rooms are definitely better than others; some are very small and in ours we could hear the air conditioning in the next room switching on and off all night which kept us awake.

There is free WiFi although some rooms do not get it. Parking is also very limited.

We had dinner and breakfast included in our price and it was good.. A choice of either a fish or meat main dish with soup first and a small dessert. Breakfast was okay, choice of one main dish (cornflakes or eggs and bacon or omelette etc) and bread and jams.

The young owners are friendly and speak good English.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view of Kotor Bay - a few do not have this. Some of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prcanj
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendido
Hotel Splendido
#1 of 3 in Prcanj
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bokeljski Dvor
Hotel Bokeljski Dvor
#2 of 3 in Prcanj
47 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 10 in Tivat Municipality
308 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#4 of 4 in Dobrota
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galia

Address: Glavati bb, Prcanj, Kotor Municipality 85335, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Prcanj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Prcanj
Price Range: £34 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Galia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing