We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good cusine”
Review of Hotel Galia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galia
Ranked #1 of 3 Prcanj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good cusine”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at H. Galia for 3 nights. Very nice place, just 5 minutes to old Kotor downtown! Very good cusine and breakfast, nice people. They speak English good enough to understand what we wanted for breakfast and for a dinner. Low prices on hotel side, on average on cusine..

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    29
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
36
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Galia twice during our recent two week visit to Montenegro. We loved it so much. The location is amazing, 3km outside of Kotor, with stunning views overlooking the Boka. The room was very clean and maintained to perfection each day. Staff were really friendly and welcoming. The food in the restaurant is home cooked my Sacha, the owner, and his small team, and is fresh and copious. When we returned again at the end of our holiday for 2 nights, they welcomed us like we were members of their family. This hotel is well located if you don't like the crowds of Kotor, and well located for other parts of the coastal area. It is also well priced and good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SoloTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I sayed at the Galia Hotel whilst on a Strel swimming holiday. The hotel is locally owned and in a great location on the side of the fjörd so a morning swim and little pebble beach is right on your doorstep. Our room had an amazing view across the fjörd. It was really clean, safe and the staff were friendly and helpful but not over the top.
Great breakfast with choices including muesli, fruit and yoghurt, omelette and ham and cheese.
We also ate here three times for dinner and the food was fresh with some very good fish.
The hotel staff were always wiling to help from filling water bottles to making adjustments in the menu.
The hotel is a 15 minute walk from Kotor so not in the old city but the price reflects that.

Room Tip: Room 9 certainly has an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MariGWIlliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed at Hotel Galia in Prcanj, Montenegro in early September as part of Strel Swimming week long tour. Our group all agreed the food (breakfasts and dinners) were great and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. It is family run and most staff spoke good English. There was free wi-fi available which was convenient and fast. Hotel is located about 50 m from the water's edge of Kotor Bay and offers amazing views, especially in the evening and morning. We took a taxi few times to Kotor town for 4 Eur/drive. We all very enjoyed swimming with Strel swimming tour operator and I highly recommend this trip to open water swimmers. Montenegro uses Euro, but it's much cheaper than most other European countries.

Room Tip: Try to do and go up to Lovcen National park and visit the mausoleum. We did on the last instead of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in July.

Positives:

Fantastic views of the lake and opposite mountainside from your balcony.
Good breakfast ordered from a menu and cooked fresh to order.
Quiet at night as a short distance from the centre of Kotor. (40 minutes pleasant walk or 5/10 minutes in a taxi/driving)
Couple of bars/restaurants close by within short walking distance – restaurant onsite too that serves good food (Well priced too)
Parking at the hotel when they have space which they did for us both days.
Very helpful staff and easy check in.
Bathroom modern and great powerful shower!

Negatives:

Room furniture a little out-dated and worn but still sufficient.
May be a little far from the town for some, but not for us.
No minibar or fridge in room.


Overall, a good little hotel set slightly back from the road. If driving to it from Kotor Centre, keep an eye out for the small sign and head up the steep driveway staying left. I can definitely recommended this hotel for a few days stay, or even possibly longer, and would be happy to answer any queries about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javab29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Täby
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Fantastic view over Kotor bay but too far out. A taxi from the centre should be 3-4 euro, we paid 15 euro the first night... So be aware of taxi scams. The room had a fantastic view with balcony but really, the shower was flooded each time you used it, the toilet flush did not work the first day, nor did the lamps by the bed. Okay breakfast and good service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missbrun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Had booked this hotel thinking it was actually in Kotor. When we arrived by local bus from Dubrovnik, tourist information in Kotor told us this was 6km. away. Initially disappointed, we took a taxi (once again very friendly and helpful) and arrived at what transpired to be an amazing location and a fabulous small hotel. The owner and staff could not have been more helpful, The room was well appointed and absolutely spotless as was the en suite with shower. The balcony overlooking the bay surrounded by stunning mountain scenery, the fresh food which was well cooked and delicious and good value for money, and the friendliness leaves us to highly recommend the Galia and we would definately come back. Because of the location we didn't find the need to venture to Kotor because you can walk along this bay and there are several bars, all with open air terraces on the waterfront, superb restaurants and every bend you walk round is even more breathtaking. You could easily spend a short break staying in Prcanj.

Room Tip: May not be sound proof but the positives this hotel offers far outweigh this one negative and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swim12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prcanj
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendido
Hotel Splendido
#1 of 3 in Prcanj
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bokeljski Dvor
Hotel Bokeljski Dvor
#2 of 3 in Prcanj
39 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#4 of 4 in Dobrota
66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apartments Djurovic
Apartments Djurovic
#3 of 10 in Prcanj
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Galathea
Art Hotel Galathea
#2 of 3 in Prcanj
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galia

Property: Hotel Galia
Address: Glavati bb, Prcanj, Kotor Municipality 85335, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Prcanj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Prcanj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Galia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing