We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - but not for food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Esperides Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spartochori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Not very exciting, but a decent enough place to stay. The rooms were clean, the pool great, the bar adequate, and the staff friendly. It helps if you speak Greek or have a Greek-speaking companion

The breakfast was adequate, but not a great experience - please do not eat any other meal here - there are plenty of really good taverna just a short drive away.

I think I would baulk at the full price - we got a good deal off a Greek website

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Esperides Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Just returned from our second visit to the esperides hotel. Hotel is still lovely though becoming a bit worn in places. The view from all the rooms is amazing. Staff all friendly. Breakfast basic continental style.
Meganissi is an amazing place to visit for total peace and relaxation. There was a greek wedding there on our last night which went on until 6am, so very little sleep was had by anyone. Unfortunately we had to be up at 6am to catch the ferry. All said and done I can't say I have been to a place that takes my breath away with its views and hospitality, its like stepping back in time going to the villages with their one butchers, fruit and veg, and supermarket, just amazing can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juleso43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We have sailed around these islands for many years before hotel built. We were lucky to stay over when it first opened when everything was perfect. The two subsequent stays have been the same, not as good. The hotel has to be one of the best locations in Europe. Every room faces the sea. The infinity pool fantastic. Prices for 4star unbelievable. Last nite 62 euro b&b for 2 in a room booked at the hotel yesterday. BUT whilst the food is cheap it is bad. There was a 12euro buffet which was great if you liked what was on offer and ate early. The a la carte was cheap but two of us on buffet had finished everything before a la c starter served. Fantastic just don't expect to much by way of food

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Apart from the amazing view this hotel isn't worth the money we paid for it. The receptionist was not helpful and kind. After we saw our room, we asked for a room with a better view as we had paid for the best view and she was very reluctant to give us another room. The room we finally got still wasn't one at the second flloor in the central wing (which have the better view). The breakfast was very average. They never re-filled, although many times we asked them to do it. They were finding excuses, although the breakfast wasn't ending for another half hour. They take advantage of the fact that this is the only hotel in the island and they ask a lot of money for an average hotel. The room wasn't very clean and they changed our towels the fourth day! You had to pay for everything, e.g. to rent the safe in your room and give a deposit for a pool towel (you would take your money back at the end, but I have never encountered something similar). This hotel has nothing to do with Greek hospitality. What a shame!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank fanouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed there from 11-18/8/12 but we would prefer to check out from the first day already... Unfortunately cancellation fees would occur. The only good thing was the room that was clean and the view from it. In general the view is the only strong card of this hotel.
The first morning that went to take breakfast the place was full of bees flying all over.The reason was because the AC was down due to power overcharge and they had to wait for the replacement part to arrive and fix it. That happened only on the 17th... Every morning the bees were flying on top of breads, cakes, fruits, cheese and ham. One day the honey and marmalade bowl had bees in it!!!! So we went to a super market bought some cookies a bottle of orange juice and we stayed in the room to have our breakfast so as to avoid the bees every day until the day we left. The first day and the only day we really managed to have our breakfast in the restaurant I personally tasted the worst breakfast ever. The orange juice was simply undrinkable the cakes were hard to eat the croissants also and the bread baskets had no clips and everybody was putting his hands inside to get some slices of bread.

The food in the pool bar was terrible and slow and the whole place was understaffed. It took us 30 min to get a simple salad with tomato onion and 3 olives inside!!!The same experience at the a la carte restaurant.

They charged us 3 euros per day for the safe deposit key!!! The receptionist although she was polite she had no idea about places to eat outside the hotel or which beaches were considered the best to visit. In general the feeling we had was that the staff really didn't care about anything just to finish the shift and go home. The word "service" for them is simply unknown and they are the least unprofessional.

I am Greek and sorry to say that this hotel is a very bad publicity for the Greek tourism and especially for the island of Meganisi which is a fantastic place to visit with amazing clear sea waters and very good food in the local tavernas and restaurants.
I hope the management in this hotel changes the sooner and that other people don't have the same experience as we did.

Room Tip: Book a room on the high floor preferably not close to the pool
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Kocque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Had a brilliant stay in the Esperides,but i agree with the reports earlier.The music from the pool bar was terrible,so very loud,and okay if you are a teenager.With the fantastic view you have,it was spoilt with the bad choice of music.I also agree with the comments about the people that came to use the pool for a few hours,they were very noisy,and took some of the very few sunbeds.Also the orange fruit juice in the morning was awful undrinkable.I think the owners of the hotel need to take notice of the reports that are been made.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beautiful view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stunning view but ask for a room on higher level or with no trees in front of the balcony. Thank you Mrs Maria at the reception (the only true professional from the whole staff) for changing our room. Room service was slow and lacking, food was very basic. The first day we hung out by the pool Music was horible, pizza was terrible, few sunbeds, many kids, 4 out of 5 nights we stayed at our balcony but the horible greek music could be heard up there too. Overall a basic 4star hotel with a view and location of a Four Seasons Resort.

Room Tip: Our room was the 212 which was fine and had a very nice view but ask for higher level and further aw...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Muriel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spartochori
1.8 mi away
Hotel Meganissi
Hotel Meganissi
#2 of 2 in Meganisi
137 reviews
5.3 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Red Tower
Red Tower
#10 of 12 in Nikiana
32 reviews
8.7 mi away
Enodia Hotel
Enodia Hotel
#3 of 12 in Vasiliki
311 reviews
3.8 mi away
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nidri
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperides Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperides Resort Hotel

Address: Spartochori 31083, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Meganisi > Spartochori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spartochori
Price Range: £84 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperides Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esperides Resort 4 star Hotel in Meganissi is a friendly place of leisure and entertainment by the sea, surrounded by trees and facing the sea from the slopes of a hill. The unique location of our facility provides all rooms with a majestic sea view of the Ionian Sea and the legendary island of Scorpios, owned by Aristotle Onassis. Within a scenery of trees embracing the crystal waters of the Ionian, visitors can stroll around the small villages of the island or enjoy the comfort and calm of a cold drink by the pool, overlooking a most enchanting view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Esperides Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperides Hotel Spartochori
Esperides Hotel Lefkas
Esperides Resort Hotel Meganisi, Greece - Spartochori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing