We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Bellary”
Review of Hyatt Place Hampi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Hampi
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bellary
Certificate of Excellence
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An oasis in Bellary”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a select service brand of the Hyatt, so many of the facilities you expect at a typical Hyatt like valet parking, luggage assistance, multiple restaurants, Spa...are not available here. However they totally make up for this with the best level of warm hospitality I have seen.

Smiling, professional staff greet you on arrival, are always available to offer helpful advise on site seeing, routes etc during the stay, always try to make you feel at home.

The menu selection is a bit limited if you happen to be staying here more than 3 nights, but then again, perhaps the team would be happy to help prepare something off menu for the long staying guests.

The guests rooms are very spacious and comfortable, probably the best that you can get at this price range in that geographical area. Big flat screen TVs, complimentary wifi.

The hotel is just minutes from the station, and therefore having driven down here, would recommend traveling here by train instead, as the roads aren't so good. They have bicycles that you can use to move around the township.

Negatives were the pool, bit muddy, no staff around to attend, had to look around for towels. Formal fitness centre had not yet opened, and not sure if they will have a spa, which would have been nice to have in a destination like this as you get exhausted with site seeing, and could use a good massage.

We take back fond memories of the good food, especially desserts, great staff, comfortable beds that you just cannot get out off, but best of all was their special send off ritual...won't elaborate on it to maintain the surprise element, you simply have to experience it, was very touching and made us feel so special.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAPai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampi_hyattplace, General Manager at Hyatt Place Hampi, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Hyatt Place Hampi.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share the experience of your stay at our hotel through Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to receive your encouraging review and indeed glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and the overall services of the hotel.
We at Hyatt Place Hampi strives hard to extend sincere hospitality to all our guests and ensures that they are comfortable throughout their stay with us.
I have made sincere note of your positive recommendations with regards to the upkeep of the pool, fitness center and enhancing guest experience at the poolside or having a spa, and assure you that wherever possible we will make the necessary improvements.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel as your preferred destination to stay and we sincerely look forward to welcome you back again.

Best personal regards,

Sumit Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    201
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
300
110
9
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thrissur (Trichur), Kerala, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is an awesome property .... but the real drag s when it comes to the location. This is a good 45 min away from the Hampi tourist sights. But the ambience and the service really makes up for this. I was told this hotel has 70 staffs manning 120 rooms, which means ever staff handles each and every hotel duties.
The hotel is just a year old and very clean and tidy. An inviting pool. The restaurant is ok . Buffet is very limited.The food is ok , nothing to rave about. The rooms are large and spacious enough. Excellent sleep comfort.
The scoring point for the hotel is their staff. polite courteous and organised.Mr Gautham, needs special mention. Their Manager Hemant ( previuosly employed with Leela group ) was a great host and even sat down and narrated to us how a five star hotel decided to open up in the middle of nowhere.

If its Hampi sight seeing what u want . Then you got 2 options ...
Option 1 : get down directly in Hampi , take one those home stays in Hampi town ( not exactly much of a town , as construction and real estate development is restricted in this area). it cost Rs 400-Rs 600 max for a room ( @ Dec peak tourist time - tell them its for not the entire day \ dont let them fool you by the so called foreign tourist rate) . Freshen up, Hire a rick and a tourist guide ( you need a tourist guide to tell what you are looking at ). Even a leisured up detailed tour of Hampi would take you not more than 6 hours. This is because though there are lots of sight seeing to do its all nearby and closely located. Vacate your home stay room and go to the Hyatt Place . Then you can have a relaxed dinner and retire for the day.

Option 2 : Book for 2 days or more reach at Hyatt , choose the Explore package . The hotel organises a tour package for a day. The problem is you lose out on half a day because your check in is only at 12 pm. With an early check in fee of Rs 1500 you can start your trip early but with amount you can actually rent a room , a rick and an official tourist guide in Hampi, plus save out on the 2 hr to and fro journey from the hotel ( 2 hrs due to a dismantled bridge. Its this journey that are looking to avoid with the first option. shouldnt be a problem when fixed ).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSachinSasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampi_hyattplace, General Manager at Hyatt Place Hampi, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Hyatt Place Hampi.

At the onset, thank you for choosing Hyatt Place Hampi as your preferred hotel for your stay and for sparing your valuable time to share your stay experience and detailed feedback with us.

Your comprehensive information with regards to the sight-seeing alternatives shall certainly assist other travelers planning their vacation at the UNESCO World Heritage site. The Explore Hampi Package offered by the hotel has been created with the purpose of combining comfortable stay and visit to places of exploration for our guest with ease.

I am glad to learn that you liked our hotel and its overall services. It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable stay with us and we as a team are committed to provide best of our services. I have already shared your compliment with Gautam, Hemant and rest of my team and they are delighted with your genuine observations.

Thank you once again for your heartfelt feedback and recommendations.

Sincerely look forward to welcome you back soon.

With best personal regards,

Sumit Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Hyatt is primarily Hotel which is in the proximity to JSW plant, about few minutes from private air strip of JSW, and about 30/40 mins by Car to Hampi...place is neat and clean, though food is good Design of the Hotel is puzzling, difficult to explain but it does strike yu when you take elevator to room, strangely they have no room service and they don't have spa. :(, they don't have dry cleaning service only laundry and ironing, food is good though...and staff are very nice and polite...

Room Tip: upper floor rooms facing Jindal Centre are good...please carry your toiletries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheshkulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampi_hyattplace, General Manager at Hyatt Place Hampi, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Hyatt Place Hampi.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share the experience of your stay through Trip Advisor. I am delighted to receive your detailed review and glad to read that you had a comfortable stay with us.

Being a upscale select service brand of Hyatt Hotels, Hyatt Place do not offer Spa or Room services as a part of its standard brand offerings. We however have 24 hour dining restaurant serving Indian and Western cuisine and a “Market” featuring salads, sandwiches and a variety of bottled beverages available for our guest. We are more than happy to arrange the ordered food in tray for guest to carry to their rooms if asked.

May I bring to your knowledge that apart from the basic bathroom amenities provided in the room , we also have additional complimentary amenities such as dental kit, shaving kit, shower cap, loofah etc. available with us which are on request. I sincerely regret if the same was not shared with you and may have led to any inconvenience.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel as your preferred destination to stay and we sincerely look forward to welcome you back again.

Best personal regards,

Sumit Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,591 reviews
293 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,162 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This spanking new, modern, sleek hotel is not quite in Hampi. It is a great marketing ploy and works quite well. It is a good 45 - 60 mins away by car from Hampi. However, since there is really nothing decent in or around Hampi, the only choice is Hospet (only 1 tolerable hotel) or this Hyatt Place. I would go with this one, not because of Hampi, but because of Vidyanagar.

Vidyanagar is the Jindal Steel township within which this hotel is located. This is a modern, clean township with loads of greenery, wide roads etc, and perhaps more to enjoy than Hampi itself. Right next to the hotel is the excellent Kaladhan complex. Explore it fully not just for the Hampi museum. The grounds are well organized and maintained. Then there is the temple close by ( a rare clean and uncrowded temple in India), a small lake with a walking trail, lots of parks and walking area, a small town center with shops and cafes etc. If you want to experience firsthand the potential of what is possible in India, you should see Vidyanagar. And then as an after thought you may want to drive over to Hampi.

This hotel is one of the most spacious, light and airy structures I have experienced, with a huge sun lit lobby, bicycles for use, and lots of walking all around. The rooms are motel style with outside corridors, but functional and comfortable, except for the mirror hanging over the sofa that will hit your head every time you sit there. The TV is placed in a very awkward place that is not practical for the sofa or the bed.

The biggest problem in the hotel is food. Since, there are no other options around the place (except snacks in the town center), one is stuck with the single restaurant in the hotel. And this restaurant cannot think beyond paneer, paneer, and paneer! Twice a day, you will find paneer in all its glory and all its forms to feed the jaded Indian diner who also cannot think beyond paneer and dal makhani and fried rice. When I mentioned this to the Asst Manager F&B, he was quite arrogant about it, and essentially said, 'this is the way it is here, take it or leave it'! He had no clue about the rich regional cuisines of South India.

However, on the last day, I discovered the excellent 'The Lounge', a private club like restaurant in the Jindal guest house complex within walking distance. It has fine dining though it is also focused mainly on North Indian items. At least there is an alternative. Any one can dine there.

The service is very warm and forthcoming throughout. I guess, now there is no other alternative for Hampi!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampi_hyattplace, General Manager at Hyatt Place Hampi, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day.

At the onset, thank you for choosing Hyatt Place Hampi as your preferred hotel for your stay and for sharing your valued and detailed stay experience on Trip Advisor.

I am glad to learn that you liked our hotel and its overall services. It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable stay with us and we as a team are committed to provide best of our services.

I was however concerned to hear that you went through some discomfort due to the food offering in the hotel not being up to your expectation. I have made sincere note of your constructive recommendations and assure you that wherever possible we will make the necessary amendments. I have also shared your detailed feedback with regards to enhancing the culinary experience with my Head Chef.

Thank you once again for your genuine feedback and recommendations.

Sincerely look forward to welcome you back soon.

With best personal regards,

Sumit Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The room was excellent, service impeccable but at the end of a long tiring drive if you want sandwich in your room with a coffee... not happening. you have to drag yourself to the restaurant. The other problem is calling it a hotel in Hampi.. its about a 30-45 min drive. But the rest of the experience including the new year's dinner was pretty good! Also a Hyatt.. even the toned down version not having a spa was a real let down.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abirapune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampi_hyattplace, General Manager at Hyatt Place Hampi, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Hyatt Place Hampi.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share the experience of your stay through Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to receive your detailed review and glad to read that you had a comfortable stay with us. Being a upscale select service brand of Hyatt Hotels, Hyatt Place do not offer Spa or Room services as a part of its standard brand offerings. We however have 24 hour dining restaurant serving Indian and Western cuisine and a “Market” featuring salads, sandwiches and a variety of bottled beverages available for our guest. We are more than happy to arrange the ordered food in tray for guest to carry to their rooms if asked.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel as your preferred destination to stay and we sincerely look forward to welcome you back again.

Best personal regards,

Sumit Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for four nights on our recent trip to India. The staff were all brilliant from the first email contact to the moment we left. Extra miles all along. We were a little alarmed as we drew near late one night, because the road was terrible but this is a temporary situation due to a bridge failure on the usual route. It does mean it takes a little longer to get anywhere but...
The room was great and the food was super. Buffet meant we could sample a variety of Indian ( or Chinese) fare knowing that it was best quality. We enjoyed the lovely pool and gardens and it was very easy and inexpensive to arrange a late checkout. The service and friendliness of staff was outstanding.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mesapolonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampi_hyattplace, General Manager at Hyatt Place Hampi, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Hyatt Place Hampi.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share the experience of your stay through Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to receive your encouraging review and indeed glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and the services of the hotel.

We at Hyatt Place Hampi strives hard to extend sincere hospitality to all our guests and ensures that they are comfortable throughout their stay with us

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel as your preferred destination to stay and we sincerely look forward to welcome you back again.

Best personal regards,

Sumit Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hyatt Place at 'Vidyanagar Township, Toranagallu, Bellary' is a good hotel and you get all facilities and services which comes with the expectation of Hyatt brand. The staff on property is helping and courteous and food at its restaurant was good.

However the problem is with its marketing as Hyatt Hampi. It is 40 km away from Hampi and given the road conditions in that part of the state, it take more than an hour commute both ways. It makes even more difficult if you are self driving as it was the case with me. There is no signage in Hampi for the hotel and if you miss a turn, it makes another 15 km on top of 40.

Hotel is located in JSW steel plant township and ideal for business travellers to the JSW.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agrabhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampi_hyattplace, General Manager at Hyatt Place Hampi, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day.

Thank you for spending valuable time to share your feedback through Trip Advisor and genuinely recommending our hotel to travelers planning to explore Hampi.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the overall services offered at the hotel.

As you are aware, the hotel resides within a gated community of Vidyanagar Township (recognized as the best township by the President of India) which makes it extremely safe and secure for families and other tourists staying with us from around the globe.

Hampi, being a UNESCO World Heritage site, is spread over 26 sq. km (10 sq. miles) and has been declared as a no construction zone. Hence, Hyatt Place Hampi is located on the other side of Hampi, which is approximately 27 kilometers away and takes 45 minutes to reach by car. The distance however unfortunately has increased since last few days due to a connecting bridge being under maintenance and not available for commuting. As we are located on the way from Bangalore/Hyderabad to Hampi it brings the hotel closer to guests travelling from these destinations with easy commuting facilities via bus, train or car.

Considering the fact that presently the road condition from Bellary towards Hampi is not in great shape we have designed a relevant “Explore Hampi package” which apart from offering accommodation for two nights for two adults with dinner inclusive also provides half day site seeing of Hampi organized by hotel in an air conditioned car. This package is available on our website www.hampi.place.hyatt.com

I would like to thank you once again for taking time out to share your perspective and feedback with us.

Look forward to welcome you back again.

With personal regards,
Sumit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellary
15.0 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
12.0 mi away
Orange County Hampi
Orange County Hampi
#1 of 1 in Kamalapur
101 reviews
13.4 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#2 of 6 in Hampi
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Shivavilas Palace Hotel HAMPI
2.9 mi away
Hotel Rock Regency
Hotel Rock Regency
#2 of 9 in Bellary
152 reviews
17.6 mi away
Royal Orchid Central Kireeti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Hampi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Hampi

Property: Hyatt Place Hampi
Address: Vidyanagar Township | Toranagallu, Bellary 583123, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Bellary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bellary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Hampi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amidst the lush green ambiance of Vidyanagar Township in the Bellary industrial district of Karnataka, Hyatt Place Hampi is an upscale, select-service hotel designed for multi-tasking travelers. Hyatt Place Hampi offers 115 “smart-design” guest rooms -- including seven rooms with private plunge pools and three suites with spectacular view of the Sandur Mountain Range . The hotel offers a all-day-dining resturant - Gallery, and a 24/7 Market offering freshly prepared salads, sandwiches and a variety of bottled beverages. Hyatt Place Hampi also features two meeting places, a fully equipped Fitness Centre and an outdoor swimming pool.Complimentary internet is also available throughout the hotel. For business travelers Hyatt Place Hampi is conveniently located within one km from JSW Steel Limited, the industrial town of Bellary Leisure travelers can visit the UNESCO World Heritage site at Hampi (thirty-five minutes form the hotel),other tourist places like Badami, Patadakkal andAihole about 120km from the hotel. Also Kaladham Museum (an interactive, 3D Museum giving a virtual trip to Hampi) located adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Hampi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing