We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly Managed Cheap Lodge”
Review of Redmangrove

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Villamil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Redmangrove
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto,Ontario,Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Badly Managed Cheap Lodge”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Isabela Lodge is much cleaner than the Floreana Lodge. We have booked 2 ocean view rooms few months ago. When we arrived after a rough rocky boat ride from Floreana, we were given 2 rooms at the back of their property. Our daughters were given a room right at the rear entrance (not guarded) of the hotel which is right next to the main street. When I complaint to the staff about their mistake, they connected me to their head office at Quito by phone since there is nobody in charge on site!
Juan the manager first claimed my booking wasn't for ocean view room until I presented their confirmation and my proof of payment for the ocean view rooms. Then he gave me the running around..... I was on the phone in their restaurant (that also double up as their office)back and fore wasting my vacation time negotiating with them. They even made me wasting more time sending an e-mail to the owner of Red Mangrove explaining our dis-pleasure. ( including the terrible conditioning at their Floreana Lodge) It helps my negotiation according to Juan!
Finally they promised to refund us about US$270 each when we arrived back at Santa Cruz. The actual pain started when we try to collect the promised money. First, there were not enough cash, then they cannot refund through VISA because it is foreign currency...They promised money will be wired to our account when we get back home. The first few e-mail to them regarding the refunds always came back with some stupid excuses.. then they don't even answer my e-mails after a few weeks. Finally, I have VISA involved and received my refund 3 months after we left Red Mangrove.
Food is not bad here but you have to arrive earlier than the flies since it is buffet style again. Do not drink their fountain water. Staff are also nicer here, may be they all over-heard my complaint with their head office.
Isabela Island is a beautiful island with a lot to see eg. flamingos ,sea lions and iguanas (you grew to love those ugly things). Go with an honest organization...enjoy this beautiful paradise!

Room Tip: They only have 2 ocean front rooms but you have to climb up onto the roof top to see the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dennisk32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucorodas, Manager at Redmangrove, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for taking your time to send this follow-up. For Red Mangrove it is very important to have a first hand evaluation of our services and it is thanks to reports like yours that we can improve our services. We are really sorry for the impression you had while your stay on Isabela, after reading carefully all the aspects you mentioned we have been through an intensive control of procedures and standards. For your information we have done a complete re-structure of each department in order to provide better services, we are working hard in completing training process with our staff. If you need any further information please do not hesitate in contacting us.

Best Regards

Red Mangrove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    63
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
70
86
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Lodge has a nice location, close to town and also close to harbor and it is right on the beach. Rooms are large, simple and comfortable. The bathrooms are comfortable enough. Decorations are neither interesting nor tasteful but overall it is a nice place to stay. Food is excellent! Staff very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leotar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This lodge was my favorite of the three Red Mangrove Lodges we stayed in during our trip. The beach was quiet and pristine, the room was very large and well appointed and the service was very good. It did not have the fun sea lions and iguanas we thoroughly enjoyed at Aventura on Santa Cruz but it was close to several little shops, had the beach and larger rooms than the others. My review of Red Mangrove on Santa Cruz has additional information.

Room Tip: Rooms not on the patio are quieter. All are easy to access and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Isabella Island is what you go to the Galapagos for and the Red Mangrove Lodge is a good place to stay. The rooms are excellent, the food adequate, and it is on a pretty beach which gives you access to something to do between the mandatory escorted tours/dive trips. There were sea lions that played in the water there with the swimmers. Park yourself here and don't bother with the other islands. Everything you want to do can be booked from here. Red Mangrove is amazingly organized with people coming and going all day to one thing or another. Just watch your gear.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peskykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We booked a custom tour of 3 islands in May 2011 and Isabela was our favorite place to stay though they were all magnificent! The 4 lodges we stayed at through Red Mangrove were amazing, comfortable, clean, great staff and guides. Isabela lodge was right on the beach, close enough to walk to the pier and town, or use the bikes to explore further.

We had a few snags in our scheduling and trying to combine us with other groups, we were left once even though we were sitting in the lobby they had swapped our trips around to try and merge us in with a larger group. Also were combined with a couple not capable of doing the activities that the rest of the group signed up for and the lodge left it up to a group vote. Naturally there was a bit of pressure and guilt from the couple whose options were to convince us to all change or sit at the lodge all day alone. To be fair we usually do not do big group tours or "packages" so these not so major issues just reconfirmed for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaHess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We won this fantastic trip to the Galapagos. We have the highest praise for the tour. While we stayed in Red Mangrove lodges on Santa Cruz, Floreanna and Isabella, the one in Isabella was so nice we added an extra day to relax and take in the beautiful beach. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and so charming, and we saw incredible sights on the islands. Red Mangrove arranges everything, move your luggage to each island, arrange all transfers etc. Our only complaint is that we wish we could have stayed longer in the islands. It is totally worth visiting the Galapagos Islands, truly amazing place and a trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danette55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We spent two night here as a part of a land based Galapagos trip. Rooms were large and spacious with a nice bathroom. Food was decent, but nothing special. The Inn is right on the ocean and that is what makes it spectacular. It was well located for boat trips to other islands and exploring Isabela Island.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclist6049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Villamil hotels
0.5 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#4 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redmangrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redmangrove

Property: Redmangrove
Address: Av. Charles Darwin | Piqueros, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Redmangrove 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Beach Hotel, Iguanas, blue footed boobies, penguins at the beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Isabela Hotel
Red Mangrove Hotel Isabela
Redmangrove Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing