We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Isabela Island”
Review of Redmangrove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redmangrove
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Isabela Island”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Our room Acacia is next to the restaurant and has a view to sandy beach. The WiFi is good in our room (a big surprise), as hotel indicated the WiFi is only available in lobby/restaurant. This lodge is one of our stops in the Darwin Triangle (short) program provided by Red Mangrove. We were satisfied by the program which is is well organized and led by a professional guide. We did not experience any issues through out our time in Galapagos Island (5 evening, four days). The only thing we would like to change is to have more time to have more activities!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank leo88copper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    63
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
70
86
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We travelled to Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge as our 3rd Island in our 9 day visit to the Galalagos and it was the most relaxing and enjoyable. The property is right on the beach and a 5 minute walk along the beach to the main part of town where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. The staff were helpful. The 1st thing we did was borrow two of the resort bicycles to explore the town and attractions - so, when we were not off on one of the many boat adventures or swimming in lagoon with the seals etc we were on our bicycles riding exploring the town and surrounding roads or relaxing on the beach - or sleeping. Now if sleeping is your thing - then, ask for a room along the western boundary of the property. The reason is that the timber deck walkway into the resort from the road to the beach and check-in is along the eastern boundary and as many of your fellow guests are moving around with their stuff, the bang, bang, bang of the wheels of their suit cases being dragged along behind them on the decking will keep you awake. We had this happen to us so we moved rooms. The staff are aware of this and carry the bags rather than wheel them but fellow guests don't. We loved our stay and would go back to Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west boundary are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank American-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Our experience at The Isabela Lodge was positive. We paid for a room in the diver's lodge, which was nice and spacious, and had one double and two single beds in it. The bathroom was nice and big, too. Though, as all the floors were granite type of surface, I found my feet were always kind of damp and the floors were slippery. They didn;t have any mat or anything on the floor to dry my feet on (they have a shoe box outside the room so I knew I was supposed to be barefooted in the room), so sand got on the bed unless we specifically cleaned our feet and wiped them dry completely...and the diver's lodge is just a 10m walk on sand from the main lodge. 5m to the beach. We really liked this beach, it was great for birding, bodyboarding, swimming, or just hanging out.

Food was decent, but a la carte lunch was very very salty. Good flavor but too much salt. They had some good items on the buffet, though. The staff were polite and did their jobs well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaridelCaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We travelled to Galapagos for the 8 days Full Adventure trip, and it was absolutely wonderful!
We started on Santa Cruz, then Floreana and continued to the island of Isabella, definately our favourite of the three islands. The Isabella lodge was right on the beach. A perfect location! The room was excellent. Lots of space, a very nice bathroom with sufficient pressure in the shower. A well functioning air conditioning. Safety deposit box. Big beds. And everything was very well managed and clean. Having the toilett bucket emptied every day and clean towels every day is worth a lot in the Galapagos heat. We stayed three days on Isabella and we enjoyed every minute of it. The hike to Sierra Negra was one highlight. A tip is to bring a lot of water because it is a long trek (6-7 hours) in the heat of the day. The lodge provided us with a nice packed lunch and to bottles of half a litre of water. We brought one more bottle, but at the end of the hike, we were still thirsting for more. The weight is more than worth carrying. Other highligts was swimming with sea lions and penguins in the bay, snorkling with sea turtles and even manta rays! We really loved Isabella. It is not much to do on this island after the excursion is over, but the few beach bars are worth checking out. We loved the peace and quiet of the island, but if you need a lot of action around you, you might think differently. We had a wonderful 8-day trip around Galapagos and the only regret we have, is that we did not schedule two-three days at the end of the trip to just stay at Isabella and process all the experiences we had.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abhaugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

On a very swimmable beach good for families, sheltered from high waves by a pier. One doesn't go to Galapagos for the food, but buffet style meals here were fine, especially breakfasts with granola, yogurt, many fresh fruits and juices as well as eggs, buns, toasts. Comfortable A/C rooms relatively modern motel-style, indoor and outdoor seating for meals, and a rooftop sitting spot with a view of the offshore surf and ships at anchor.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms have the disadvantage of facing on the inn's outdoor dining deck, not the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockledge, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our package tour and while the beach behind the hotel is very nice, we did not care for this hotel or the staff. When we first arrived we were shown to our room and we turned on the air (as it was in the high 80's and hot) our a/c blew hot air. We turned it as cold as we could and waited 30 minutes but it was still blowing hot air. So hubby went and got a staff member who fiddled with the dials and told hubby he would have to find the manual. 20 minutes later he still had not come back and now it was hotter in the room than outside and we were really sweating. Hubby went back to the lobby and staff member was on the internet watching music videos. Hubby again asked him to come check the a/c. he again fiddled with the dials and tried to leave. We brought him to our friends room next door to let him see how cool their room was compared to ours and he finally agreed to move us to another room where the a/c worked.

The food was good however they ran out of cold soda's the first day so our only other choice for the next 2 days was warm bottled water, unless we wanted to pay for beer which we do not drink. We asked several times if they could put the water bottles in the fridge but they ignored us. (Aventura Lodge on Santa Cruz always had cold bottled water). So we ended up going to town each day and getting cold soda and cold gatorade from one of the stores.

Next issue was 6 of us ended up sick the 2nd day on Isabela with intestinal issues. We only had a 1/2 roll toilet paper in our room so hubby went to the desk to ask for more and the same guy from a/c issue handed him a 1/4 roll that he got from the public bathroom and proceeded to tell my hubby that they were out of toilet paper and they would have to send someone to the store to get more. Needless to say we never got any more that day. So the next afternoon we were out of paper and we asked again for some toilet paper and were given another 1/2 roll from the public bathroom. Apparently toilet paper is scarce at this hotel. We also had to ask twice for soap as there was none in our room. Finally the maid came by with some.

The staff at this hotel are not very good and gave us all the impression that they did not like tourists. I was very surprised that only one staff member spoke very limited English when these hotels main guests mostly speak English. There were approx. 12 English speaking guests there with us. This hotel also shuts down at 9:00 pm and the entire staff leaves so it was a good thing no one had an emergency after 9:00 pm.

The hotel itself is OK and rooms were clean. It is on a nice beach, you can walk to the iguana nesting sites and also on the pier. Town is very close and within walking distance. All our tours on this island were wonderful. We really enjoyed snorkeling with the sea lions and penguins.

I think if they would improve the staff services at this hotel it could be a nice place to stay. We spoke with one of the managers at the Aventura Lodge when we got back and she told us they have had several complaints about the staff at Isabela and they were looking into the issues.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixelsaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The beach where the hotel was located had very fine and soft sand. You could have an unobstructed sunset view there. There was a small but beautiful red mangrove at one end of this long long beach. If you walk for 10 minutes, you would find a pier and a bar. The hotel room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was also very clean with hot water for shower. Internet reception however stopped after around 9:30pm. The restaurant served free soda and bottled water. The food was very good. The only thing I wasn't sure was how secure the hotel rooms were. The beach was shared with other tourist accommodations and local people homes. Theoretically, anyone could walk to knock your room's glass door (note: the room door was lockable). I stayed two nights with my dirty shoes outside but they were intact. Guess security wasn't a problem. Travelers however should take note of this and stay vigilant.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ydenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.5 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#7 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redmangrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redmangrove

Property: Redmangrove
Address: Av. Charles Darwin | Piqueros, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Redmangrove 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Beach Hotel, Iguanas, blue footed boobies, penguins at the beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Isabela Hotel
Red Mangrove Hotel Isabela
Redmangrove Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing