We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Thumbs Up -- Just back from Darwin's Triangle 6 day Tour with Red Mangrove” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redmangrove

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Villamil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Redmangrove
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two Thumbs Up -- Just back from Darwin's Triangle 6 day Tour with Red Mangrove”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visited the Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge as part of our 6 day Darwin's Triangle Tour with Red Mangrove. We had the two front rooms overlooking the deck and the beach. Service was excellent and the accommodations were great. The rooms are a little more sparse than those at the Aventura lodge, but we felt that was to be expected on a less populated island. The excursions provided from this location were fantastic and living beachside for a few days was very nice. The rooms were kept very clean and neat. And, the service was excellent. They make a mean caipirinha as well!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for beach front. It's worth it on this nearly untouched pristine island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    63
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
68
86
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This lodge is only a few steps from the beautiful beach. The Manager and all the staff were wonderful, couldn't have possibly ask for better service. There were 7 of us and we had a fantastic time and enjoyed our stay very much. The food was great and the rooms were very nice and clean. We enjoyed our meals on their patio most of the time, but they do have inside seating in case of rain. All our excursions were well planned with lots of wildlife to see and the second largest Volcano crater, 4 miles across, in the world. Nice hike up to the crater with beautiful views. I would definitely recommend this lodge and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge is located right on the beach. You can listen to the waves crashing while enjoying meals and drinks on the patio. The staff at the hotel was very accommodating. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. I'm a picky eater, but found the food to be surprisingly good.

We were there as part of a Red Mangrove Darwin's Triangle tour. Overall the tour was amazing. The guides were extremely knowledgeable about the area. The activities were fun and the seeing the wildlife up close a once in a life time experience.

I highly recommend both the Isabela Lodge and Red Mangrove tour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The lodge was located on the beach. There were lounge chairs outside by the restaurant that you can sit and relax, you can hear the sound of the waves few meters away...what a perfect background sound to sleep. The room was average size, clean and has basic amenities. The bathroom is small but clean and toiletries were provided. There is no TV in the room. Free Wi-Fi but no connection in the room, only in the restaurant area and has slow connection. We had an all-inclusive package and Adventure activity package and a naturalist guide provided. The food in the restaurant was very good. Bottled water was provided daily. The lodge staff were very nice and helpful and attentive to our needs. Isabela Island has a typical island ambiance, no shops, buildings or restaurants, just simply an island environment. We had a nice Coco Loco drink at Beto's Bar by the beach, 10 mins walk from the lodge. We hiked the Sierra Negra Volcano up to the caldera, about 12 Km back and forth, what a spectacular view. We saw many plants and trees endemic to the island. We did snorkeling in the bay by the Los Tintoreras islet. We saw sea turtle, sea horse (7 inches long), colorful schools of fish, magnificent frigate birds, penguin (small, so cute !), marine iguanas and sea lions swimming with us, Sally lightfoot crabs, and other birds endemic to the island. What a wonderful stay we had in Isabela Island staying at the Red Mangrove lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This place is very cool and the manager and his staff were incredibly nice and accommodating. We stayed at the Red Mangrove lodge(s) in March and the Isabela location was far better managed and customer focused then the Santa Cruz location. The hotel is right on the beach and you have beautiful views and sunsets to watch. There is not much in Isabela other than wildlife and it is really peaceful at night and early mornings. Clean rooms and nice staff. I would definitely go back to this lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendi404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

In early March 2014, my wife and I were at the Red Mangrove on Santa Cruz and Isabela. Although other than the 'suite pequena' at Santa Cruz the room were generally sufficient but not exceedingly up-market. However what was commendable were the first class guides who were both helpful and knowledgeable. There were Duncan and Luis from the Red Mangrove. But the special guides at each location generally also went the extra mile to make us, a not-too-young, couple comfortable and relax even on the more physically demanding, at least for us, activities.

Room Tip: If you are not too young like ourselves, i.e. above sixty, be prepared physically and mentally for g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loyahwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell, South Dakota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Red Mangrove staff at Isabella was very pleasant and accommodating. The tours that are offered have very knowledge staff and ensure you have the opportunity to see all of the wildlife that is there. We stayed both at Isabella and Santa Cruz and both were nice, but my favorite was Isabella.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDE57301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Villamil hotels
0.4 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 23 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 23 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redmangrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redmangrove

Property: Redmangrove
Address: Av. Charles Darwin | Piqueros, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Redmangrove 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Beach Hotel, Iguanas, blue footed boobies, penguins at the beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Isabela Hotel
Red Mangrove Hotel Isabela
Redmangrove Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing