We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic place”
Review of Redmangrove

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Villamil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Redmangrove
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Romantic place”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It was the closesest thing to nature without leaving a hotel. Sea lions will accompany you during your breakfast. It was a beautiful and romantic place to be with my wife. Very close to the action and they loan you bicicles for you go around.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edsantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    63
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
70
86
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here as part of our excursion with the Travel Zoo special for Red Mangrove. The guest rooms are spacious and bathrooms are nice. All rooms are steps to the beach. There is a nice deck for relaxing and watching the sunset. Meals were fine with lots of selection to choose from and one drink was included the first night. The reception area closes early, so my advice is to fill up your water at dinner. We did not know the reception area closed early (8-ish) so we had to walk to town to have drinking water in the room. We did have a nice walk in town to explore the local church, plaza and restaurants. There are also pharmacies and small shops near the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

stayed here as part of the Travel Zoo special with the Red Mangrove and enjoyed it very much. We had a room right on the beach and loved it. The little town was small with only a few shops and places to wander in but so quiet and nice. The food was very good and the staff was helpful and attentive. The snorkeling was exceptional and we spent a good part of the day finding turtle after turtle. I wish we had more time to explore this island and hope to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamamarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a relatively small hotel with a superb location right on the beach. After the busy-ness (relatively) of our days on Santa Cruz, this hotel was such a gift. The staff is incredibly attentive and helpful. The food was great; I really wanted to be able to tell the cook how exceptional it was! Some meals are buffet, some are served. Even at lunch there was an option for the appetizer (my son chose the soup and I had the sauteed octopus one day!). You an eat inside or outside. Bottled water is available for free; getting more just means going a few steps to the restaurant. The sitting area on the beach is shaded yet you can see and hear the ocean. This area so invites you to sit with a good book and a glass of wine. You can explore the beach to see the iguanas and the locals enjoying the water; the children were so much fun to watch! I was really sorry when it was time to leave this hotel and head back to Santa Cruz, although the Red Mangrove on that island also provides a very fine experience...just not the laid back and slower pace of the Isabella.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiAnne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visited the Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge as part of our 6 day Darwin's Triangle Tour with Red Mangrove. We had the two front rooms overlooking the deck and the beach. Service was excellent and the accommodations were great. The rooms are a little more sparse than those at the Aventura lodge, but we felt that was to be expected on a less populated island. The excursions provided from this location were fantastic and living beachside for a few days was very nice. The rooms were kept very clean and neat. And, the service was excellent. They make a mean caipirinha as well!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for beach front. It's worth it on this nearly untouched pristine island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This lodge is only a few steps from the beautiful beach. The Manager and all the staff were wonderful, couldn't have possibly ask for better service. There were 7 of us and we had a fantastic time and enjoyed our stay very much. The food was great and the rooms were very nice and clean. We enjoyed our meals on their patio most of the time, but they do have inside seating in case of rain. All our excursions were well planned with lots of wildlife to see and the second largest Volcano crater, 4 miles across, in the world. Nice hike up to the crater with beautiful views. I would definitely recommend this lodge and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge is located right on the beach. You can listen to the waves crashing while enjoying meals and drinks on the patio. The staff at the hotel was very accommodating. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. I'm a picky eater, but found the food to be surprisingly good.

We were there as part of a Red Mangrove Darwin's Triangle tour. Overall the tour was amazing. The guides were extremely knowledgeable about the area. The activities were fun and the seeing the wildlife up close a once in a life time experience.

I highly recommend both the Isabela Lodge and Red Mangrove tour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Villamil hotels
0.5 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#4 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redmangrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redmangrove

Property: Redmangrove
Address: Av. Charles Darwin | Piqueros, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Redmangrove 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Beach Hotel, Iguanas, blue footed boobies, penguins at the beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Isabela Hotel
Red Mangrove Hotel Isabela
Redmangrove Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing