We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food-catered for our needs!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wooden House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay. When travelling we do not eat salads/cut fruit and the kitchen specially made soup for us. Delicious food. Isabela Island was our favourite.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWHISABELA, Gerente at The Wooden House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear Guests,
We really appreciate your comments and above all we love your observation about our staff and service.
Thank you again and we hope you come back soon

The Wooden House Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2011

Once my wife and me decided to go to the Galapagos, we chose Isabela as a starting point to discover the wonders of this incredible archipelago.
We arrived on Isabela island with a booking in this refurbished hotel... "The Wooden House" and once we arrived, we discovered that it is much better than in the web site we booked it!!! It was great, a really nice, cozy and warm place where to stay.
The manager told us that new owners have been working hard to renew this place and you can see it... We spent 4 night at the hotel... in one of the front superior deluxe rooms, this was really big, a lot of space, a/c and fan with a nice view to the pool and to a green mangrove section.
The food was great, on time... a blend of ecuadorian and international cuisine; every night the service was excelente and the crew was checking all details around us.
Isabela is wonderful... our time spent at the hotel, the best travel experience I would really recommend this hotel for your hollidays!!!
:)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadGPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. My only complaints: The TV was in a shared space, so you couldn't enjoy in privacy. And the walls are a little thin between rooms.The food in the restaurant was really delicious (though a little strange in its efforts to be "international").

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny_in_Palo_Alto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWHISABELA, Gerente at The Wooden House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

Dear friend,

Thank you very much for your comments it is very important for us to be updated with your suggestions ... This helps us to improve our service in the future...

We hope you come back soon ;)

The Wooden House staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Let me start by saying that there is a new owner of The Wooden House and as of August 2010, he has owned it for a little less than 6 months (I believe). I read the other review where they indicated it was the hotel from hell and that may very well have been in the past but that is not what we found during our visit. When we arrived on Isabela we were scheduled to stay at another hotel but our local guide informed us we would be staying at "Lapailon" - "The Wooden House" instead. We instantly fell in love with the place. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the ocean. It is not "oceanfront" but it is across the street – a sand street, that is. I would highly recommend requesting a second story room. You can hear the ocean waves and it lulls you to sleep in the magnificent beds. After hiking, mountain biking, horseback riding, snorkeling, etc., it was amazing to come back to these very comfortable beds and the sound of the waves. Another thing we really liked about The Wooden House was its location. It is on the outskirt of town and on the way to the dock. It is quiet and peaceful and with the stained wood and volcanic stone, it gives a comfortable but rustic feel. There is a fresh water pool that is small, but on a hot day I am sure it would be inviting. There were a lot of things we wanted to see and do during our visit to Isabela so our local guide had us waking up very early in the morning to get a jump start on the day. If we were not downstairs in the dining area by at least about 15 minutes before our local guide was to arrive, the owner would lightly knock on our room door and gently remind us so we would have time to eat a quick breakfast. Breakfast consisted of eggs, bread, and a really tasty jam. There was also yogurt, granola and cereal available. The showers here are HOT so do be careful! It is refreshing to have a hot shower since it was hard to find hot water other places around the Galapagos but feel it before you jump in.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BnRadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

First, this establishment is under new ownership and has just opened under this new ownership in the past month. They are expecting to make many new changes in the future. It is a family run business and the family has connections to other islands in the Galapagos including their own boats.

My room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was hot.

The hotel is known in Spanish as El Paillon (that is close, but maybe not 100% correct).
The people on the island will not know it as the Wooden House. It is only a 10 walk from the boat dock. Do not make the mistake I did and get on the bus to the center of town. You will just have to walk back.

The price I paid was much cheaper than listed on the website. Breakfast was included. They do not have lunch or dinner unless their are sufficient guests to warrant it, but there are several good restaurants in the center of town as well as inexpensive places where you can get a good almuerzo (set lunch) for $3.

Isabella is a relaxing island with great beach. I like it because it does not have the tourist feel of the Santa Cruz. The turtle breeding program is the best I saw on the islands I visited. I liked it better than the Darwin Research Center--although you have to see it and Lonesome George just because people will ask you if you did.

This place was recommended to me by a travel agent in Quito who knew it had just reopened under new ownership.

Good food is available in town. I had a great lobster for $12.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
Thank Mamiya7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We spent 3 days at the Wooden House and it could not have been nicer. The couple that run the hotel went out of their way to help us. Our room was very large and clean. The rate let us borrow kayaks, included a great breakfast and they even let us use the internet for free - something we had to pay for at other hotels in Ecuador.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omarbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We've traveled to all of the continents except one and our first night stay at the Wooden House Hotel on Isabela Island in the Galapagos was truly the worst. Here is what I wrote to the tour operators we had booked with on our return because we had a couple of bad experiences, but by far, this had to be the worst.

And then there was the Wooden House Hotel… we get to the hotel about 5:00 pm-ish and on entering the grounds see that right up front is a patio with dining tables and chairs, occupied by some people eating and drinking whatever and an open concept kitchen in the centre where food is being prepared. The swimming pool is also close by on the right hand side.

We didn’t think anything of this until we were shown our room. Horror of horrors, we were shown this room where two of the walls ABUT the patio with dining tables and chairs!! Not more than a couple of feet away from two of the walls of the room were these dining tables and chairs!!! MOST OF OUR ROOM WAS SMACK DAB IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DINING AREA!!!! The room was dark, tiny, dirty and dingy with two tiny windows, of course, opening on to the patio. The sheets on the bed were stained and torn and there was a small, threadbare, blanket for cover. We told our tour guide that we flatly refused to stay in that room but really had no choice, being told there was no other room available and because we were so tired from having started out so early that morning and just wanted to put our bags down somewhere, we acquiesced when the owner said she would move us to the back the next day.

We needed to get ready for first of our tours and went to shower.... guess what? the bathroom was not even ready!!!! There were no towels, no toilet paper, no soap, nothing!! It was like they weren't even expecting any one to stay in that room. Once we got that sorted out, we left the room, only to find that now there were more people eating /drinking on the patio. We returned a couple of hours later after the tour to people still on the patio and deafening music which we asked the owner to turn down after a while (she didn’t do this of her own accord). We were not even able to open the windows because everybody could see in. And so we spent the rest of the evening, cooped up in this tiny, dark, dingy room with no circulation.

On our way back from sightseeing, our tour guide had told us where we could buy some dinner from… it was about a 20 - 25 minute walk from the hotel. Under normal circumstances, we would not have minded the walk at all but because we were sick we didn't feel like the walk so we thought we could request the hotel to make us a couple of sandwiches. The hotel operators did not speak English, so our tour guide asked them if they would prepare the sandwiches for us. They told him they couldn’t and that they were busy preparing food for another group!! We couldn’t believe it…. how long does it take to put a couple of slices of tomato and cheese together??? We were so tired, we would have even settled for a couple of slices of bread and butter… and we wondered again at being dumped at this very heartless place.

So we asked the tour operator if he could ask the owner to call us a cab for 7:15 to go and buy some dinner. She said yes after which the tour operator left. 7:15 rolled around, then 7:30, then 7:45 and we waited and waited and no cab arrived. We then asked one of the guests there to translate for us and ask the lady to call the cab company to ask why the cab hadn’t arrived. She told him that no cab would, because cabs stop operating about 6 pm! We were shocked! Why were we told earlier that there would be a cab for us at 7:15? In complete disbelief, we left at 8 pm that night to walk into town to buy some dinner and returned about an hour and a half later, totally exhausted.

The night got worse.... we got no sleep... with the sounds of people talking and laughing at the tables, the sounds of chairs scraping on the stone floor as they left the dinner table late that night and with sounds of people above us, going back to their rooms, thudding on the wooden flooring/ ceiling. Dawn arrived with noise of guests leaving, rolling their luggage around and again thudding on the wooden flooring/ ceiling/stairs. Then of course, the noise of early morning risers again at the very same dining tables having breakfast, laughing and talking and scraping their chairs on the stone floor to get in and out of them outside our room.

The Wooden House Hotel, I am told by our tour operator, has refused to respond to our complaint . We had booked the tour and accommodation to stay there at the end of June and yet ended up being given a dump for a room when we arrived there 6 months later? NO ONE BUT NO ONE should ever be put in some dump of a room like we were put up in…. Rooms that we firmly believe should be boarded up.

Furthermore, we would have gladly accepted an apology or a valid excuse, but none was forthcoming. The owners had a haugtiness about them, a "don't really care/ give a damn" attitude. Not at all what one would expect from a hotel operator. It was an abysmal experience and one I hope no one else ever has to experience ever.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Villamil hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
613 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casita de la Playa
Casita de la Playa
#3 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isamar Luxury Hotel
Isamar Luxury Hotel
#8 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wooden House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wooden House Lodge

Address: Av Conocarpus S/N, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: £81 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wooden House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wooden House Lodge, located at Isabela Island, has a capacity for 35 people hosted in 12 different rooms. Our rooms could be booked in standard and luxury accommodation which depends on your request and budget. The Wooden House is an eco-friendly hotel in the Galapagos island with Solar water heaters, and own farm with always fresh and seasonal products, our team is working hard to achieve new green certifications offering you a reliable operation. Enjoy our in-house services while you stay in this beautiful Galapagos Island Hotel. Swimming pool, bar & restaurant. Snorkel gear rental and Island hopping tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Wooden House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wooden House Lodge Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing