We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second home far away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wooden House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our second home far away from home!”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The wooden house lodge is a very unique place, where you are going to feel like home! The standard rooms are comfortable, clean and very cosy, and their bathrooms are great. But the suite is just amazing! The room is very big and consists of a huuge bed, a walk-in wardrobe, AC, big private bathroom and further little things to feel like home.
Beside the cosy building, one has to mention all the people working in the service. It was really a pleasure to get to know you! You were always smiling, and laughing, friendly and helpful in every case. The meals you served were just delicious! Starting the day with such a healthy and fresh breakfast was great! And after a wonderful day on the island, we always loved to enjoy your dinner! In case of planing a trip, the house own travel agents (scuba galapagos) supported us where ever we needed their help!
Overall, we just have to say, that the wooden house lodge and all their stuff was definitively a big big highlight of our half-year-backpacking-route!
¡Muchas muchas gracias hosteria team!

(Martina y Stefan)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinaystefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWHISABELA, Manager at The Wooden House Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Martina & Stefan,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your Galapagos adventure!
We hope you'll come back soon - If so ask for a special detail for you or one of your friends !

The Wooden House Lodge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    48
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
63
56
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our family stayed in the Wooden House a couple of nights while exploring Isabela. The familiar atmosphere was amazing as well as the whole crew supported our stay in every way they could. The food was one of the best we had on the whole trip and although we had special demandings due to celiac disease and vegetarianism, they had always a delicious alternative.
The rooms are as the name already tells quite woody, but that's part of the charme - really beautiful and clean.
The house is located in a quite place, but just a couple of minutes away from the harbour, beach and just about ten from the village. It had everything to let us feel comfortable during our stay!
All in all, we can recommend the wooden house as a great opportunity to stay on Isabela.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2012

It is a very cute, magical and very rustic, it is much better than it looks in the photos, my room were comfortable and clean, the food is delicious and people working there treated us well. I recommend, visit it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabelet007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Do yourself a favour and pay for your drinks as you go. We were told a price for a bottle of wine and at the end of our stay were charged 65% more!!! The rooms are very noisy, you can hear virtually everything going on not only in the room next door but in the whole hotel. The food though was not bad.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWHISABELA, Gerente at The Wooden House Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenient paying your drink bill... The charge was 22% because of local taxes. Next time we will pay more attention with info about prices and rates.

Best regards,
The Wooden House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here through a travel agent, so the hotel was not our choice, I did ask to change it, but the agents said all the hotels were full!!!!

The service was good, nice people..... But the rooms were old and really worn out. The beds covers are really old and stiff, the room is slanted litteraly..... The toilte won't flush if already used, for some time, the soap holder is rusted.....

Skip this hotel unless a major facelift is given.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanicoloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWHISABELA, Manager at The Wooden House Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback... since your visit we have been working hardly on that ! It is important your opinion to improve our quality.

Best regards,
The wooden House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The location was great, 5 min walk from port, 10 mins to town ( also bikes available from hotel). We cant say enough about the staff who served us dinner and breakfast, they were always smiling. The girl who cooked our dinner should be working as a master chef!!!! The manager, Pedro, was always around to help with any questions we had, and to advise on excursions. No TV connection, but can watch DVDs (bring some)!! Free wifi throughout hotel. Small plunge pool. Town centre close offers limited restaurants. We chose 'Delphins' and went daily for lunch (good food and inexpensive) We had dinner at hotel every evening. Great trip

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiceboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWHISABELA, Gérant at The Wooden House Lodge, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this helpful review! Day by day we improve our service for having happy faces getting back home.

The Wooden House Lodge staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This hotel is horrible. The manager of the hotel is rude. We asked for details of our bill and they could not be provided. We were charged a 22% tax which he could not explain.(Even though are booking.com confirmation clearly said 12% and no service charge) The hotel is actually not that bad, however the manager should NOT be in the hospitality business. He is rude and could care less about guests concerns. Finally, the food was the most discusting thing i have ever eaten in my life.
Save yourself a terrible headache and never stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dewitt18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWHISABELA, Manager at The Wooden House Lodge, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We understand your inconvenient during your stay on our Lodge, but we warn you in advance about the service charge once you contacted us directly.

About the food you always had the choice to eat or not in the lodge... and you decided every day to stay and eat there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Villamil hotels
0.7 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#4 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casita de la Playa
Casita de la Playa
#3 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wooden House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wooden House Lodge

Property: The Wooden House Lodge
Address: Av Conocarpus S/N, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wooden House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Puerto Villamil - Isabela Island. The hotel has 10 rooms (single, double and suites) with restaurant and bar services. Pool, laundry, transport, bike & snorkel gear rental. We organize multi-day programs with multilingual guides and unique blend! Dive | Hike | Snorkel | Mountain Bike in just one place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Wooden House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wooden House Lodge Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing