We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice and friendly atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wooden House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is very nice and the staff are very friendly. I like the atmosphere here like in a tropic island. The breakfasts weren't so variety, but very tasty: home made omelet, cheese, bred, fresh tropic fruit and fresh juice. The only cons: the staff didn't speak English well and the noice from the kitchen that started at 6am. The hotel is a bit far from the town centre, maube arond 10 min, but for those who want to live in peace and tranquility it is a perfect location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    43
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
54
54
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable beds, good air conditioning and clean. There are two open air lounges we hung out in to check our email, play cards and unwind.

The breakfast included fresh fruits, bread, eggs, coffee, juice. One morning we also had the local plantain and cheese bolóns. Dinners were a very generous portion with a good variety of dishes. One evening, they also cooked up a fish we had caught. They catered to our schedule for meal times.

The location is nice - about 5 minute walk to town or a few minutes to the harbor. The building is a lovely clean wood and rock structure. There is a outside shower to wash off your snorkeling/scuba gear and an outside bar. Unfortunately, behind the lodge is an empty trash strewn lot. Our room had a view of this unsightly lot, but since we did not hang out in our room it was not an issue.

We did use their laundry service - $3 per kilo for lovely, clean, folded clothes

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ahling33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights in February, had the best room No 6. The staff are so helpful, friendly and efficient. They all seem really happy to work there. The hotel is clean and well run. The lady in the kitchen serves beautifully presented food at lightening speed from a very clean kitchen. All our trips were organised by the hotel, we also had bike hire. Nothing is too much trouble. On the last day Elizabeth got up at 5am to serve us breakfast, then escorted us in a free taxi to the dock where she guided us onto our boat for departure! the dock is somewhat chaotic as 3 boats get randomly filled so her help was much appreciated. This hotel goes the extra mile and for that reason alone I would recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Room 6 is upstairs, has access to hammocks and I think is biggest room. Has big king size and a sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slugmama_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This a very nice small hotel with attentive staff providing good service and good food.
We stayed with a group and enjoyed the hospitality of manager, Alberto, who worked hard to ensure everything ran smoothly for us. The staff washed a bag of laundry for us, and although there had been some technical problem with the washer, they still managed to get our things back to us clean and dry.
The rooms were very comfortable and had an old world charm about them.
The food was lovely, fresh fruit for breakfast and good coffee.
Quick and easy to walk to beach, town or harbour.
Overall , excellent . The best place we stayed during our tour of these wonderful islands.

Room Tip: Upstairs on the front of the property, nice view from the balconies. (There was a little early morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bezza O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWHISABELA, Gerente at The Wooden House Lodge, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guests:

Thank you very much! For us it is a great pleasure to receive these comments. Fortunately as you said our location is privileged a little apart from the town but close to the pier, the beach and the peace of the island.

I am glad you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff and the delicious fruits that provides us the island and the food from our kitchen.
I hope you come back to Ecuador and in your plans include visiting The Wooden House =)

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here 3 nights during our island hopping adventure. We had the room on the second floor. You can walk to the lava rocks with trails to the left to the hotel and see big sea iguanas for free. Got the breakfast was good, but you can get cook to order eggs or more fruits. Our to was right under the kitchen so we were woken up at six in the morning in everyday by loud walking waiters and cooks so we did not need an alarm clock. The shower had hot water. The important pro let I had was at great service with the service staff, special with the manager, he is a hospitality professional, always with a wonderful smile and beautiful form to help us, in every day. Thank you, " Mr. big ". The meals in the dinner was excelent. However, I still recommend this hotel since it is in a great location and quiet other than the morning dancing on our ceiling.

Room Tip: these rooms are very clean and the beds are confortable !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Very nice place. Five minutes walk from harbour (probably the most beautiful harbour I have ever seen) and around ten minutes walk from town. Wooden rooms. Clean. Ensure you do not get a room near the main bar/ breakfast area as otherwise you will be woken up by people coming back late at night or the ladies cooking breakfast early in the morning. Great food - delicious. Area to clean your snorkelling gear and hang it out to dry. No lids on the rubbish bins in the bathroom which is rather grim as you are not meant to put toilet paper down the toilet. Water fountain with purified water in breakfast area which was always full and is great to provide. Swimming pool was empty when we were there (no water). Owner was very friendly and vigilant to ensure you had a great stay.

Room Tip: Ensure you do not get a room near the main bar/ breakfast area as otherwise you will be woken up by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renkum, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
344 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed with a group of 16 persons 2 nights in this wooden pension. It is about 300 m from the harbour, so we walked with our Luggage over the dirtroad to this place. The rooms are spacious and authentic, though the sanitary stuff needs some renovation. They serve good breakfasts and dinners. It is a nice place to spend the evenings outside in the lounching facilities.
But!!!: Beware of the prices of beer and wine. A glass of wine for $ 8,- is far over the top, even at the Galapagos Islands. Was a bit spoiling the fun we had at this place.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms at the front side with their own porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.7 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 25 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casita de la Playa
Casita de la Playa
#2 of 25 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Isabela Beach House
The Isabela Beach House
#5 of 30 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wooden House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wooden House Lodge

Property: The Wooden House Lodge
Address: Av Conocarpus S/N, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wooden House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Puerto Villamil - Isabela Island. The hotel has 10 rooms (single, double and suites) with restaurant and bar services. Pool, laundry, transport, bike & snorkel gear rental. We organize multi-day programs with multilingual guides and unique blend! Dive | Hike | Snorkel | Mountain Bike in just one place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Wooden House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wooden House Lodge Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing