We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did not expect that much...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Reviewed 6 September 2012

there is no 5 stars hotels in puerto Villamil...so people used to more be advised...i travel not often in less than 4 stars hotels but this one was really cozy and enjoyable...i would rate it a 3 stars...the only thing is the roosters waking us up at 4h30 in the morning...but it's ok! food was great, host were very friendly...would sleep there again for sure, or would try their other hotel:la laguna...more recent and closer to beach, but must be more expensive.

Room Tip: Room 16 seems to be the largest one, nice ceiling...third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piboMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSanVicente, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Guest
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are most glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We are sorry for the rooster next door, we actually hear that a lot, but it belongs to our neighbors and we cannot really do much about that. Still, sorry for the inconvenience, I am glad it wasn’t that much of a bother. We do try our best to make passenger feel cozy on a familiar environment. I am glad you like our meals, we shall pass that compliment on our chef! We would be pleased to have you visiting us again if you come to Isabela Island.

Hope Isabela and Galapagos treated you well…. Thanks again for your comments.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. Unfortunately I believe I had one of the smallest rooms located by the kitchen, which was a little noisy at times. The room itself was clean and functional as was the bathroom. There was no view to speak of as the window looked out onto the wall of the neighbouring building. Breakfast and dinner here were good on both occasions I ate there although there was a bit of a shortage of tables to eat at when I was there. All in all reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snicks207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSanVicente, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Guest

Greeting from San Vicente and thanks for your review and for your comments on out hotel. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Isabela Island and Galapagos overall.

I am sorry for the accommodation, not all of our rooms have a nice view. We usually offer different room categories and prices. We should have warned you on the room size beforehand. We will do that with our next guests.

I am glad you found the room comfortable overall concerning the fitting and cleanliness. We also make our best to prepare varied meals. August is indeed a very busy month; we will try to double our effort in organizing meal timings so travelers won’t feel uncomfortable.

Once again, thanks for your review and taking the time to write. Hope you enjoyed Ecuador and Galapagos overall!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We staid four days in the Hotel San Vicente and we spent a wonderful time. The Hotel doesn't only count with a good hotel service but also with nice rooms, wonderful showers (specialy enjoyed that), friendly staff, a perfectly working air conditioning,a service for good guided tours, a good breakfast buffet, nice sitting places in and outside, the cheapest bear prices we found on isabella and rent of all the equipment neceasary for each type of journey on the island.
After a rather easy flat in Santa Cruz we were absolutly satisfied with our stay in the hotel.
Greetings to all who take the good decision to come to Galapagos! It's wearth it all!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This is a basic hotel. Our room was clean, large and light. Bedclothes were spotted. Towels were frayed. We did not recieve any new towels during our 3 night stay, insted they just folded the dirty and wet towels and put them on our bed again.

Hot water was to an from. The cocrels of the neighbourhood was bothering us, often from 03.00 in the mornings. Breakfast buffet was not big, but we enjoyed it. Good juice, yoghurt and basics. Nothing extravagant.

We liked the guides working there, but they had a difficult work at times, due to too large groups. Some of the tours felt like time-fillers, and we felt like we wasted valuable time on Isabela. The place was too commercial. We were prepared that they propabely wouldn't be anything special, but it is a shame that they waste a place with potential. They had far too large groups, and clearly had problems handeling everyone. People were friendly, but we were twice placed to have our dinner/lunch at other hotels within minutes notice before it started. One time we asked not to because our kid was sick with an upset stomac, but not! That was a BIG disapointment. People were also placed on several different hotels.

There were lots of smaller and seemingly more charming places to stay. Search other options before you choose Hotel San Vincente. If you choose to stay here, know that it is basic and nothing else. Be prepared on flexibillity!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Kalmkruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSanVicente, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Guest
First of all, thanks for taking the time to review us and for giving us such a useful feedback on our services. I am very concerned that your stay was not all that it could on Puerto Villamil.

I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and our staff for your stay. Our service is not usually this unsatisfactory. We try to keep things orderly as possible and neat. I am so sorry your towels were not changed every day. Our standard procedure is not change them daily, our staff must have missed it. We will make sure to pay more attention next time. We are well aware of the noise caused by cockerels from neighboring houses. Some passengers don’t bother, but others do find this annoying, we usually warn passenger on this beforehand. I am sorry nobody asked you about this as we could have placed you on a different room.

We are glad you enjoyed breakfast and that you find our staff friendly and our guide knowledgeable. As for the interaction with our staff member with regards to your meals, it is not typical and we will be sure to be more conscious when dealing with these issues
As for tours, it does get specially crowded during this time of the year. We receive lots of travelers on this August. We actually try to keep an eye on everything sin our hotel, from tours to comfort. We do care for every passenger either if they are in large groups or individuals. I am sorry if your experience was misfortunate and that you got the idea we are too commercial, we just try to keep things as good as possible. We are thankful for your feedback as we can focus better on these aspects later on.

Once again please do accept my apologies; we think Isabela Island is so beautiful and it saddens us we could not complement it better. I do hope that the rest of your stay in Galapagos was most enjoyable.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed at the Hotel San Vicente on Isabela Island for 2 nights...This was my favorite of the islands we visited. We stayed in room number 2 which is right in the main entry and could be a bit noisy at times. There were 3 single beds in this room and it was pretty basic. The AC worked great and kept the room cool. It was a neat little hotel, the breakfast was very good every morning. Bring your spanish phrase book as the front desk folks are very limited with english

My room had no towels at all upon arrival so I went to go ask for some and initially through an interpreter she said there were no more until tomorrow, some grovelling and she understood we had none so she went and got us a set.

There was also a dead flat Gecko in our entry that the ants were going to town on, it was gone by morning. This being the tropics bugs are expected..deaq things ..not so much.

On the upside, the location is close to everything - 10 to 15 miutes walking will get you anywhere...there's a good grocery store & a pharmacy not far from the hotel. A short walk gets you to the beach and the restaurant strip. We found a place on the beach called the Beta Bar...walking on the beach you'd know it by the tree with the bottles hanging in it. We enjoyed pre-dinner sunset cocktails each night we were there. No food or snacks though so bring your own. The music is great the atmosphere fun.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the entry for a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSanVicente, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks so much for visiting us at Isabela Island and for taking the time to review our hotel and your suggestions. We will make sure to keep them on mind.

We indeed take great care for our meals and for our traveler’s comfort. We are very glad you enjoyed the breakfast so much and found the room cool and clean. As you say, San Vicente is conveniently located close to grocery stores, drug store and the beach. We are glad travelers find this suiting.
We are sorry the noise on your room, as you know, we receive daily visit from tourist all around and most of them are getting ready for excursions. We will make sure to let our guests know of this while reserving and booking this room. We will also keep a closer look to small details on our hotel, as we understand this can cause a great impression on put guests. Thanks for making us notice that : ) !

Good to know you liked Isabela so much, as you say it hold a very special charm. Hope you return to visit us anytime time soon!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Hotel San Vicente,
Review of Hotel San Vicente.
My husband and I booked a land tour of the Galapagos Islands through Nature Galapagos & Ecuador ( an Equador company) choosing the "tourist class " option.  We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights.

The room was more like a 4 star hotel than the 3 star it is rated as. It was a very clean, large modern room with bathroom and shower. We were comfortable and slept really well every night despite others complaining of roosters crowing and such.  The beds were clean, remade every day. There was air- conditioning which is very important as the temperatures were between 30 & 36. At the end of every day a fresh jug of water greeted us in our room.

Meals were served at the hotel. T Except for one luncheon, all food was tasty.  Food tends to be more simple here with fish and chicken as main menu choices and that suited us just fine.

All the staff except the heavy-set lady behind the front desk were wonderfully friendly and eager to help us.  That lady needs to take a hospitality course.  She was a sergeant major.

Unfortunately we spoke little Spanish and used our dictionary a lot.  It helps to learn some basic phrases before leaving home.  The guides usually know some English but they are not always at the hotel.

This hotel far exceeded our expectations in quality and service and we would recommend it highly to any of our friends.

There was always a wonderful atmosphere around the hotel with many tourists from every part of the world laughing, trying to speak another language and having meals together.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSanVicente, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Rika
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and sorry for the delay in responding back. Trip Advisor has just verified our hotel documentation, giving us the great opportunity to finally keep in touch with our visitors.

Thanks for all your good comments on your experience with us. We are very happy to learn you enjoyed our services so much. As mentioned, we indeed try to keep our rooms clean and well-conditioned as we understand that temperature can be high, especially at May when you visited us and considering most of them go out on excursions. We also try to keep a friendly environment to the hotel, as we receive visitors from all around and try to make it as comfortable as possible for everyone.

As for meals, there are certain some limitations given most of the foods are brought from the continent and Isabela being a little far away. But we will try to figure out a way to include more variety to our menus. As for our receptionists, we have already talked with them so we can have friendlier face on the front desk. Sorry if this might make you feel uncomfortable. Sometimes at the hotel we are just busy and forget to smile :-)!

Rika, once again, thanks for recommending us and for all you suggestions. The San Vicente Hotel family will be pleased to receive you once again if you decide to visit us at Isabela any time soon!

Best regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our land based tour with Nature Galapagos. The hotel was a 10 minute walk to the beach and restaurants which wasn't too bad and the hotel itself was conveniently located close by to a supermarket for picking up snacks and drinks. A word of warning when visiting Isabela Island - there are no ATM machines so ensure that you bring cash with you if you are staying for a longer period of time. To add to this, most restaurants only accept cash and not cards.

We had the front room upstairs which had 3 beds in total so it felt a bit crowded and as our room overlooked the road, similar to someone else's review we could hear people talking as they walked by and were awakened every morning at 5am by a rooster. A dog also constantly barked in one of the houses behind the hotel during the day which was a bit of a nuisance but if you are out partaking in activities then this shouldn't be an issue.

In terms of the beds, they were reasonably comfortable and we had air conditioning which was effective and much needed in the intense heat.

We were told that the hotel had wifi but we really struggled to get a connection because the signal was so poor. However the staff were very sweet and offered for us to use their laptop.

There were lots of insects, mostly mosquitos on Isabela and whilst they weren't an issue in the room, there were lots outside on the balcony and in the communal areas so ensure you bring lots of insect repellent.

The food was very basic and was served buffet-style and we felt that there was not enough food for all the guests and the plates were not always replenished.

In reception there was a water cooler where we could fill up our water bottles for free which was very convenient.

We found the staff lovely and so friendly and helpful despite our basic Spanish.

Overall the hotel was very basic and good value for money if you are on a budget but there are other options for the same price overlooking the beach which are worth looking in to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0 mi away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
34 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
321 reviews
0 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#21 of 25 in Santa Cruz
42 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
68 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#14 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Vicente Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Vicente Galapagos

Address: Av. Cormorant and Puerto Villamil 1204, Puerto Villamil 52172, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: £72 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Vicente Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos is dedicated to provide the highest quality of service and comfort to each and every of its guests. We like to complement your visit to the Galapagos as perfect as possible. We are proud to say that Hotel San Vicente has become one of the most popular of the Galapagos hotels on Isabela Island, which we believe is due to our standard of excellence and personal commitment to our guests. From our Galapagos hotel you can arrange a variety of land tours that are sure to leave you breathless. The natural beauty of the islands will amaze you while you enjoy a comfortable and superior service from the friendly staff of our Hotel San Vicente Galapagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Vicente Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing