We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good vibes, fine memories!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Tambor, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good vibes, fine memories!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I am so glad I stayed at this hotel during my vacation in the Galapagos Nov 2013! I think it was very good value and I really don't have any complaints. The hotel is nice and cosy, the rooms clean and spacious and the staff really friendly and professional. I especially liked my tour to "humedales" with the guide Ricardo. I think I must know everything there is to know about turtles, mangroves and the history of the island now. Very interesting! (Kayaking with penguins is also an experience you really shouldn't miss out on!)
Breakfast is colorful and varied and other meals also very satisfying. It's really impossible to go hungry while staying at Hotel San Vicente. And who says no to home made tiramisú? :D
Isabela island is soooo beautiful and I absolutely loved the whole atmosphere there. Everybody says hi to everybody and all of that. This hotel helped me get the most out of my time there and I'm just sorry I didn't stay longer. I will never forget it!
RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zofiafromsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    39
    33
    10
    8
See reviews for
21
37
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Part of a tour by Gadadventures. After touring with Gadventures over Peru and a night in Quito, this hotel was of a much lower standard. It is more a backpackers joint with socks drying over the balustrades. The towels were grey and frayed, the corners of the showers encrusted with dirt, the toothbrush holders showed traces of many previous guests. The staff in the dining room had no concept of serving and food is plonked in front of you immediately as you have sat down without a greeting. The food was often cold. Breakfast is probably the worst I have ever eaten. Watered down "juice", flies circling the food... The guide service that was provided by the hotel was deplorable. Being in one of the most interesting places in the world, the guides were unable to convey any information- due to a lack of training and language skills. Only one guide, Sandra, met the requirements of a guide.
If it were not for Caroline at the hotel, who tried her utmost to improve a lost cause, the experience would have been disastrous.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the crowing roosters. Insist on looking at the rooms and bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinotbasjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Villamil hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Amriswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The room was really big and the facilities great. Considering that the water is salty on the island, Hotel San Vicente did a good job providing sweet drinking water in the room and it was also available fom a big water tank in the outdoor eating area. The food included in my tour was home-made onsite and it was really yummy. There is a family feel to the hotel because all the workers and tourists alike mingle together in a very relaxed and casual way. This hotel, its services, tours and staff definitely compliment a stay in the beautiful Isabela Island. It was nice to hang out there and nice to come 'home' to after a busy day full of action. The guy that owns and runs the hotel is also from Ecuador, which is great because you are supporting a local business. And.. run it well, he does!!

Room Tip: I think all are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank larekiki0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSanVicente, Gerente at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear larekiki0001

Warmest greetings from San Vicente Hotel. We really appreciate your positive and sincere feedback of your stay in Isabela with us. Being a small town, Isabela has basic services but good location and the fact that you have experienced the environment mixed with local people is the best way to describe how the lifestyle is between each other. A lot of people reject that, but while staying in a local town as it is in Galapagos, it's not possible to avoid this, just enjoy it as you did.

We are trying to improve our services even better focusing in giving our guests a quality services and attention.

We hope you enjoyed your trip to Galapagos and a good way back home!

Best of all,
HOTEL SAN VICENTE TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palestine, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The people make this hotel. Very rural, charming. Food was very good. Rooms were clean. Basic but extremely comfortable. The rooms are upstairs ....no elevators. Beds were comfortable and bedding was good quality. It's a great location...just a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: These rooms are basic...most are upstairs, no elevator. Our room was large, beds were comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAFtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSanVicente, Manager at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from San Vicente Hotel. It's been a pleasure to read your feedback. Since we are trying to improve our services, we have been given positive feedback according to our services, meals and extras.

We are completely enthusiastic to keep on giving better services and take high standards for our hotel. We know there is still work to do but we will try to make it better for our future guests.

We hope you have experienced and spotted amazing wildlife and nature.

Best of all,

SAN VICENTE TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here as part of a packaged tour so I'm not sure what the price is like but I'd hope it is on the cheaper side as this hotel is quite basic. The first impressions weren't great...when we arrived the air conditioner in our room was turned off so it was very hot & stuffy & smelt a bit musty, the sheets also had a lot of yellowish stains on them and the bathroom looked a bit rusty & rundown. It didn't seem dirty but just in need of new linen & some TLC. The worst part was the rooster....I know there have been many previous complaints about this rooster in past reviews but they are all true! It woke us up at 4am daily and when your on holidays, this is the last thing you want. It was very annoying & for that reason alone I would not stay here again. On the plus side though the hotel is in a convenient location a few minutes walk to the beach and restaurants and the staff are lovely & made delicious breakfast & dinners for us so it had quite a welcoming, homely feel to it. Also, we didn't come to Isabela to stay in a luxury resort, we came to experience the natural beauty of the island & we certainly weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chazbangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSanVicente, Gerente at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear CHazbangs

Thank you for taking time to publish your comment. We really understand your complains and we do apologize for them. However, just a reminder, the air conditioner can't be turned on the whole day because we do care for the environment and because of the climate in the Islands (wet). It's not necessary to get them turned on while the room is not occupied.

We are trying to deal with the rooster problem. I hope you and our guests can be very comprehensive on that because it's an outdoor problem. As everybody knows the Galapagos islands are populated by native people (our neighbors) and it's a residential zone.

Having set that, we really thank you for letting us know about your visit to Galapagos. We hope you have had a great experience spotting natural wildlife.

Best of all,

HOTEL SAN VICENTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We spent 4 nights at San Vincente and took their day tours. It's a great location, easy to walk to shops, beaches, jetty and restaurants / bars "downtown" :). Rooms are very big and comfortable with AC, hot water, TV, private ensuite and are very clean. The also have a hot tub (we didn't use it). Meals were pretty good and the beer plenty cold. Had to go to Albatross Market for wine though. We had a set tour for 3 days and the guides were all excellent, spoke good English, passionate about the environment and knowledgeable about the local wildlife. Had a great time staying there and exploring Isabella. A couple of comments: Firstly, bring your ear plugs - they have fighting roosters on Isabella that don't stop calling (nothing to do with the hotel) in the village. Second (to the hotel), allow longer-staying guests to set-up a tab (instead of paying for drinks every time we grab one) - as the drinks are so reasonably priced, we very quickly ran out of change to pay for drinks.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main reception / restaurant area are quieter. We had the room in the back, on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank allykat76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSanVicente, Gerente at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your great experience in Isabela - Galápagos. We really look forward to providing the best accommodation while our guest are spending time in Isabela; not only in the stay but in all services such as guides, staff, services, excursions. Believe me if I tell you that we are constantly fighting to take the roosters problem out of our hotel. We will take consideration of this comment and the set-up tab for the drinks for sure!

It will be our pleasure to give assistance every time you or your friends want to go to Galapagos.

Best regards,

HOTEL SAN VICENTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

San Vicente is a well placed hotel, just a couple blocks from the beach. The rooms are comfortable, they have AC, hot water, TV, and are very clean. The price is excellent for the service and accomodations; it includes breakfast and they can help you to set up tours or activities for your stay. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maugusta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSanVicente, Gerente at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Maugusta8

Reciba un cordial saludo por parte de Hotel San Vicente, es un gusto poder recibir comentarios tan positivos como el suyo porque nos impulsa a seguir brindando un servicio de calidad.

Esperamos contar con su presencia la próxima vez que desee visitar lsabela - Galápagos.

Atentamente,

HOTEL SAN VICENTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.5 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#7 of 10 in Isabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 24 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 24 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Vicente Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Vicente Galapagos

Property: Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Address: Av. Cormorant and Puerto Villamil 1204, Puerto Villamil 52172, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Vicente Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos is dedicated to provide the highest quality of service and comfort to each and every of its guests. We like to complement your visit to the Galapagos as perfect as possible. We are proud to say that Hotel San Vicente has become one of the most popular of the Galapagos hotels on Isabela Island, which we believe is due to our standard of excellence and personal commitment to our guests. From our Galapagos hotel you can arrange a variety of land tours that are sure to leave you breathless. The natural beauty of the islands will amaze you while you enjoy a comfortable and superior service from the friendly staff of our Hotel San Vicente Galapagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Vicente Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing