We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing, Great View, and Great Service”
Review of Iguana Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iguana Crossing
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at Iguana Crossing as part of our Duvine Tour of Ecuador and the Galapagos. We were met by Daniel, who was the general manager, and he was great. The service was fantastic and the staff was really nice. The pool and hot tub on the roof was great, especially after a long day of hiking around. The food was very good, but not outstanding. The wine selection was weak and they often run out of the wine we liked. The rooms were very comfortable, but the windows need screens as there were many annoying flies buzzing around. That being said, the hotel is far and away the best hotel on Isabella and is an easy walk to town.

Room Tip: High floors have better view and less noise.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHtravelers41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear NHtravellers41:

It was great to welcome you at our hotel as well.
Thank you for your comments and for suggesting what we can do better. We´ll work hard in improving for we also share your passion for fine cuisine and wine!
Greetings from Isabela !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for Iguana Crossing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed next door and wish we had stayed at iguana crossing. We enjoyed n amazing dinner and evening at the lovely property. The staff were unbelievably nice - Daniel made sure everyone was welcomed whether or not they were guests of the hotel. Delicious meal and drinks - truly five star experience. A must on a visit to Isabela.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keightat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

Dear Keightat8 and Sandy_B001:

We are very happy to have had the opportunity of welcoming you at our hotel. We thank you deeply for your possitive comments about our house and it´s cuisine. Hopefully the next time you´ll grant us the pleasure of having you as our in-house guests.
Cheers from Isabela and thank you for your visit to the enchanted islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went to Iguana Crossing for dinner on our last night in Isabella and instantly regretted not staying there. The staff was incredible and really managed our expectations. The waitress explained that our food would take a 1/2 hour and invited us to relax in the bar until it was ready. Daniel was the best - so kind and made sure we had a great experience. The food was beyond delicious - fresh and flavorful!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy_B001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I stayed here with REI Travel for 3 nights. The hotel is right on the beach. Most of the rooms overlook the ocean with roomy balconies to enjoy the views. The hotel is walking distance to town. The food was delicious. The staff, especially the manager Juan, were extremely accomodating. Would love to return ASAP!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2011

Dear Francine:

ASAP come back!!
We thank you for your words, we enjoyed very much your visit to this wonderfull island.
We´ll work to leave our future guests as pleased as you so kindly have reviewed.
Merry christmas and happy new year from Iguana crossing´s staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Really amazing, luxurious hotel right on the beach. Extremely kind staff, beautiful views. Make sure to get an ocean view room. 5 min walk to restaurants in the (small small) town. A great place to return to after a long day in the wild of the Galapagos!

Room Tip: ocean front!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank towhatend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Dear Towhatend Guests:

We thank you deeply for your very possitive comments about our hotel and work.
We´ll keep on working as hard as we can, in order to meet and exceed our present and future guests expectations.

Greetings from all of our staff !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We recently stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip to the Galapagos islands. The rooms are lovely and clean, and extremely comfy, as is the rest of the hotel.

The staff were always helpful, and the hot tub on the roof is a real gem.

Only very tiny negative comments are that the breakfast is not that extensive in choice, and the evening meal menu has the same problem, especially if staying there more than 3 nights. However this did not detract from how great this hotel is, we have stayed in many around the world, and this one on the beach with iguana's all around is up there with the best.

Room Tip: Get a sea view!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Mike H:

Thanks for sharing this very special time of your lifes with us. We try to keep Iguana Crossing as romantic as it´s beatiful location...
As well we deeply thank you for your kind suggestions, as we inform you that we are working hard to improve both our breakfast and menu,.
We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Iguana Crossing is the only hotel of it's kind on the beach in Isabella - right next to the wildlife, the beach, the town, but relaxed and somewhat private atmosphere with very modern, comfortable facilities. Great service, rooms, bed, lounge areas, hot tub with a view, and great food. We had breakfast and dinner there and loved it.
The prices are the highest in the area, but not unreasonably higher than what it would cost to stay/eat in a typical western city - but at least double the price of other surrounding businesses.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jharrisfosf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear harrisfosf
We are very proud to read your kind review, and to know that our work made your stay as confortable as you expected. We´ll keep on working hard to meet our future guests expectations as much as we did to meet yours, and try as well to improve in all of the services that you have so politely described.
Best regards from Isabela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.4 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#8 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casita de la Playa
Casita de la Playa
#3 of 26 in Puerto Villamil
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Crossing

Address: Av. Antonio Gil, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: £150 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iguana Crossing 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Crossing is Isabela's newest and most innovative hotel. Its minimalist design and superior service offer guests a privileged experience on this scarcely populated island. Iguana Crossing is located in between Isabela's extensive white sand beaches and directly behind a wildlife-filled lagoon. Iguana Crossing offers an oceanfront swimming pool, Jacuzzi, 12 fully equipped rooms and a master suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iguana Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Crossing Hotel Puerto Villamil
Iguana Crossing Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing