We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galapagos masterpiece”
Review of Iguana Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iguana Crossing
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

A wonderful hotel. From the staff and service down to the amenities and extras, the Iguana Crossing delivers. Beautiful rooms look out on a pristine beach over the pool. The ramada on the roof deck is unsurpassed for views and refreshments after any of the island's attractions: swimming in the Pacific, the caldera, the Tunnels, Islas Cuatro Hermanos, Tortuga, the tortise ranch; all expertly guided by Minino and easily accessable from Iguana Crossing. The food was excellent and fresh. I will be back.

Room Tip: They are all ocean view. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaleRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

Beautiful room with ocean view. All amenities of a 4 star hotel. Few meters from iguana crossings. Turtoises reserve, endless white sandy beach. Gorgeous food and amazing service. Discrete, professional, comitted to make your stay
Unforgettable. A place to stay for days! Bravo to the management and thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laetiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo D, Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Laetisz:

Thank you for your comments, the team at Iguana Crossing was glad to hear they made your stay unforgettable. It is always our pleasure to give the best to our guests and we are thrilled to have helped in a small way for you and your husband to enjoy some great days over the Galapagos. We will be more than happy to have you with us again and hope it will be very soon! Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Fantastic experience! Luxury rooms! This is our second time in galapagos we never imagine puerto villamil or isabela island was so amazing we could repeat the experience over and over again!!! We cant forget to mention how amazing the food was!!!! Very fresh ingredients.... As a suggestion Please try the galapacho very fresh tuna...

Room Tip: Feel free to take any room , are really comfortables!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fabi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

the hotel is amazing, the food is really incredible, the staff, service rooms are luxurious and they treat you like a family, this hotel is the most beautiful from the island, try the galapacho ceviche!
drinks at the pool, having lunch next to the sea watching the iguanas crossing next to you is priceless! I recommend this hotel for sure, there is absolutely no one better than this one in the island! enjoy it! I wish I stayed longer!

Room Tip: ocean view suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cabezon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Yes, the hotel is amazing, but my favorite part is there is literally an iguana crossing in front of the hotel, and yes, the iguanas do pass by regularly.

But on to the hotel. Our room was luxurious. Comfy bed. The AC worked nicely. We were on the first floor right next to the pool, so my only gripe is that the shades need to be closed all the way for privacy to dress, which made the room dark, but otherwise folks could see right in. That said, the view was so lovely that we didn't mind closing the shades or going into the bathroom to change.

The eco faucets took some getting used to, and my seven-year-old had difficulty using the shower herself. But the sentiment was nice. The pool was warm and the kids had a blast using it. I loved the lobby, with the loungers and the comfy sofas. So nice to sit there with a drink from the bar (they made great drinks!), watching the sunset while waiting to go to dinner. The dinners were quite good.

The one quibble I have is with the breakfast buffet. The breakfasts were only okay, with processed meats (which my kids did love), and when the juices ran out, they weren't refilled. But the bread was good, the granola and yogurt nice, and they did make eggs to order.

The town is small and Iguana Crossing is at the end of the row, giving a nice sense of privacy. Plenty of places to go off and explore, whether you want to walk to see the tortoise breeding center, enter one of the many parks, or go surfing or snorkeling. I would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank jbrown68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Not knowing exactly what to expect when arriving in the Galapagos, this hotel was a game changer. The service could not have been more accommodating and personal. With only 14 rooms they treated you like family. The rooms were very clean and quite spacious. You could really unwind and relax in your room or go to the beautiful pool overlooking the ocean or head to the stunning rooftop bar and hot tub. Whichever way you chose to relax the service was unobtrusive and always there. Juan Daniel, the hotel manager made everything easy. Excursions were arranged, transportation arrived on time, and the quality of the guides arranged was fantastic. You felt as though you were getting the best quality experience possible on an island where that might not always be the case. The food was also crazy good. My expectations were not high and I was always blown away by the freshness and the quality of the meals. The Ceviche was to die for and the breakfasts were always a great start to the day. All in all, this hotel and the memories it delivered were outstanding. It was a home run!

Room Tip: The corner rooms were spacious (room 4 and 9). The top floor suite was fantastic as well. Great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoodyH663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

... that's what I consistently read about this hotel, nvertheless I broke my Galapagos expedition between this (3n) and Finch (2n).

After fighting a place in a 30-yrold bus from the airport to the port, then a short ferry ride with our lugagges piled atop the open roof to croos Islands; then a taxi cab (US$ 18) took us from there to Puerto Ayora, a long straigth line with a savannah-like vegetation (I'm no expert) in the borders with dark green, high trees in the middle. And some giant turtles in the way.

After acquiring another boat trip to Isabela (2hrs ride, $60 apiece), having a very good shrimp at Cafe Hernan (to be reviewed), we took this boat ride and arrived to a small pier, for a 10-minute ride to the hotel across the tiny 'downtown'.

The rececption was warfmul and personal, escorted by a natural peach juice and explanations about the hotel. We went to the room, and were negatively surprised by the bad smeel and very salty tap and shower waters. The mangue behind the hotel probably added to the smell. Ops! I thought. The hotel has a pool and a nice hottub in the top; the roof houses a bar, some chaise longes and a mattress to contenplate the sky and the beautiful and quiet beach. All over an artificial lawn. Resturant is in a cozy room, same place as the goos breakfast.

The hotel is in a GREAT location, it is the last building in the town, after that you find just the Iguana Path and an unpaved road, So this hotel is walking distance from all restaurants, and is far enough to provide peace and privacy. We grew to love it, to the point of missing when we had to leave (now you can read the title...). Staying here is a proof of the plasticity of the brain, overtime you neglect the smell (it's a natural thing dang!), you master the shower effetctively pressing the button every 1o secs while following your everyday bath routine.

Definitely a place I would return to if I ever go back to Isabela.

Room Tip: Think all rooms have see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Truccolo:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a proper and nice review about the hotel and our staff; we work everyday to improve the service to give our customers the best experience in Isabela. We are very happy to read your feedback and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.4 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#7 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#20 of 25 in Santa Cruz
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Crossing

Address: Av. Antonio Gil, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: £157 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iguana Crossing 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Crossing is Isabela's newest and most innovative hotel. Its minimalist design and superior service offer guests a privileged experience on this scarcely populated island. Iguana Crossing is located in between Isabela's extensive white sand beaches and directly behind a wildlife-filled lagoon. Iguana Crossing offers an oceanfront swimming pool, Jacuzzi, 12 fully equipped rooms and a master suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iguana Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Crossing Hotel Puerto Villamil
Iguana Crossing Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing