We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iguana Crossing
Nearby Hotels
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Albemarle(Puerto Villamil)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Casa de Marita(Puerto Villamil)
US$159
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Galapagos(Puerto Villamil)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$83
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Coral Blanco(Isabela)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$494
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Redmangrove(Puerto Villamil)
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel(Puerto Ayora)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveller rating
445
118
33
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
118
33
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolhot tubtortoise breeding centerisabela islandwater savingwater conservationbeautiful hotelmarine iguanasfew secondspink flamingoscevichean ocean view roomjunior suitebest hotel on the islandpush the buttoncrossing the roadocean front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 625 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013

As we were afraid of sea sick with cruse in off-season rough tides, we searched an option to sleep on land. Organizing a trip in Galapagos is not very easy, especially if you do not speak Spanish. Emetebe seems to be the only option to fly between islands and this airline is not very reputable. Pia (Quito based) and Marcia (property based) are very efficient, attentive and easy to communicate through emails. I booked all the local trips, restaurants and inter-islands flights through them. The property is clean, very comfortable and well decorated as an eco-friendly hotel. The only suggestion is to expand WiFi coverage to each room (it is available at hotel lobby area). We had a very good time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okiyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Reading all the other reviews of Iguana Crossing, my boyfriend and I expected a great hotel. Our travel to Isabela island was well coordinated by them. We had someone meet us at the airport along with the subsequent boat and car rides. After a full day of traveling, we arrived to the hotel and checked in at 4pm. We had picked a room with the volcano view with a king size bed. As soon as we arrived, we discussed possible excursions and Marcia, the hotel concierge recommended using another company outside of the hotel. At first we thought she was being nice because she mentioned it was going to be cheaper, but now we think it was just out of convenience after we saw another man have difficulty booking a trip through her. She then takes us to our room and it had two twin beds. My boyfriend went into the bathroom and it smelled like old pee. We proceeded to tell Marcia our issues. She said the water often smells like pee and that was what we smelled. We explained that it was the toilet not the water. We smelled both the water and the toilet. She sent one of the servers to confirm it and then she verbalized housekeeping came at 6pm and could clean and put the beds together then. We decided to go for a walk and book our activities for the next day as she recommended.

At 6:30pm we came to check on our room and if the beds had been put together. They had not. Marcia verbalized housekeeping was late and it was not her job. We checked back at 7pm, still not done. So after a long day of traveling and waiting, we could not use our room. At this point, my boyfriend requested to speak to the manager and have these problems fixed now or get our money back. She came back and offered us an upgrade to the ocean front room. We switch to the ocean front room. The bathroom toilet also smelled like old pee. We let Marcia know and she said housekeeping was sick. We got the hotel general manager's card and called him. He apologized and said he would fine housekeeping for her work issues. That was the end of it, our bathroom wasn't cleaned and they became less helpful. My boyfriend ended up cleaning the toilet with toilet paper. We were there to enjoy our vacation and we were not going to let this hotel ruin Isabela Island.

All the locals were extremely kind and helpful with the tourists. The hotel personnel even refused to provide us with free pamphlets that were provided for free to the other hotels with information about the island trails. Their answer was "you can go and walk around and read the signs" They were inconvenienced by us and our issues. How would we know that a trail was near the port of arrival or other areas throughout town?

The pool was also growing mold and had not been cleaned in a while.

The non advertised jacuzzi on the top was nice with beautiful views. We found it on our last day there by coincidence after we saw a balloon on the roof.

All in all, the hotel had a very nice infrastructure, but the the people managing it were terrible! We have to say that the hotel did not ruin our trip and the island was beautiful!!! We loved Isabela island and would go again but just to a different hotel. They have multiple cute boutique hotels right on the beach.
Also our tour guide with "Tropical Adventures" was amazing, we saw a lot of animals, swam with sharks, turtles, and my boyfriend even got manta ray hug!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank npavlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My family and I spent 5 days at this boutique 'home-away-from-home' hotel at magical Isabela Island and we had a great stay.
The hotel's located a few steps away from an amazing beach. One night, we walked to the beach at low tide and discovered many tide-pools. There was a large bird pecking on a few Sally Light-foot crabs and also spotted an octopus, changing into its camou-mode. This was an unique experience, especially for my 10yr old daughter.
There's a nice surf spot along the beach to the right of the hotel. Surfboards can be rented from Casa Rosada a few steps from the hotel. We also rented bicycles from a guy in town and cycled from the hotel, through the National Park to the Wall of Tears each morning. There are iguana's, many Darwin finches and a few land tortoises inside the park - a lovely ride.

The staff - FANTASTIC! Marcia, the manager is an absolute gem. She made every effort to accommodate us - even when we were low on cash (no ATM"s on the island). She can also arrange any tour from the hotel and it's private. Los Tuneles is a must see!
We had an ocean-view room with a balcony, and the room was spacious and very clean. All the rooms have mosquito nets by the doors / windows. The bar / lounge area has a big glass window that overlooks the beach. I also found this was the best place for internet use. The infinity pool / deck area was my favorite place to chill-out when I was at the hotel. There's also a Middle-Eastern, sunken, covered lazy lounge area outside by the pool. The a hot-tub - you need to tell them 2 hours prior use is located on the top floor. The view from there is amazing!
The breakfast buffet was varied and fresh each morning. The menu for lunch, dinners are limited, and a bit pricey. I will say it's good food, but not great. However, my kids loved the milk-shakes and chocolate volcano dessert. We enjoyed cycling to town (5min) and enjoyed great dinners at some other restaurants. I highly recommend staying at this hotel. It's a great place to unwind and totally relax.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have a balcony and is more spacious. Great views!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jolanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We ended up at Iguana Crossing after a change in travel dates caused significant alterations to our plans. We always say things happen for a reason and we are so glad we got the chance to enjoy this beautiful hotel for two nights. We missed out on Ocean view rooms due to the hotel being booked solid and it broke my heart. I just knew I would be longing for an upgrade during our stay, I was wrong.

We were a group of three couples; we had rooms 5, 7 and 14. Rooms 5 and 7 were on the second floor and had king size beds; room 14 was on the first floor and had two double beds. Rooms 14 and 5 were corner rooms so had three large windows and nicer views than room 7. All three rooms were spotless and comfortable. It was pure heaven having air conditioning as it is very hot and humid on Isabela in April. The dining room where you have breakfast and dinner is also air conditioned which we loved.

The hotel has so many places from which to enjoy the ocean views that we did not miss having an ocean view room. The roof top bar area is a beautiful place to watch the sunset and have a cocktail before dinner. We had the whole roof top to ourselves the first night. The second night a family member of the owners had booked the place to celebrate a 50th birthday. In order to not make other guests feel excluded, all were invited to join the festivities. During the afternoon preparations, we were given tastings of the appetizers that would be served at the party. Even though all were delicious, we opted to stick with the dining room for diner and let the party goers have their fun. Dinner was delicious both nights with many options to choose from. We discovered there are two menus, one for visitors who are not guests, which list items a la carte with prices, and one for those who have the room and meal rate. The visitor menu lists several desert choices for an extra fee, we decided they sounded too good to pass up so ordered several to go with the standard offering of the night. It was well worth the splurge.

Laundry here was the cheapest by far charging only $1 an item. We turned in our items in the morning before our excursions and all was ready by time we returned late afternoon.

Yes, the iguanas do cross in front of the hotel every day, photo of their crossing included as part of this review. If you have a volcano view room, you will also see them swimming in the lagoon behind the hotel.

Excursions are plentiful and adventures we had while here were Sierra Negro hike (go the extra distance to Volcan Chico!), the Wall of Tears, Tortoise Breeding Center, flamingo pond, mountain biking (we biked back to the hotel after the Sierra Negro hike , a visit to unique Tintoreras, and snorkeling with reef sharks. One thing we did not do that we wished we had was a visit to Los Tuneles, the pictures we saw of this place looked amazing.

We loved our stay at Iguana Crossing. It was the perfect finale to our Galapagos Islands adventure. The only thing we would have done differently is stayed longer. Do not worry if you are not able to score an Ocean View room, you will still have an amazing time and many opportunities to soak up the sounds of the waves from the pool deck, lounge or roof top bar.

Room Tip: Ocean view definitely! But if they are all booked, don't worry, volcano view is still very nice.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lfisgd746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The hotel is at the edge of town along the ocean front. Lots marine iguanas and Sally Lightfoot crabs at the beach. There a large marsh in the back of the hotel.
You can walk along the pristine beach and not seem many other people.

The hotel has a bar with a large window overlooking the ocean. There's also a cistern with drinking water to fill up your water bottles..

We got multiple rooms. All the rooms were nice and had beautiful bathrooms. They use water saving faucets that you have to depress the handle to get water, but yet their shower heads are not the water saving variety. lol

The views from the room facing the marsh were okay, but ocean view rooms were great. They had a balcony so you could sit outside and enjoy the scenery.

No television stations, but they had a DVD player and a DVD library. I'm not sure what kind of interface the television uses, but I did have movies on my tablet.. But why watch television? Best to enjoy the scenery and company.

Free internet connection, but it didn't reach my room very well. The access point is at the front desk next to the bar. Perfect place to read the news and have a drink.
It's a small place so the bartender has multiple positions (e.g. - bell boy). You may have to look for help.

Didn't try the hot tub, but it's normally off so you need to give them advance notice to heat up the water. I rather use the pool since the weather was in the 80's.

The food at the hotel was good. But I'm a foodie, so I wouldn't be eating at the hotel if I stayed here again. The food had a nice presentation, but they tried to be fancy when they should be making it simple using local preparation techniques.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best. One room had a balcony that faced the ocean and wrapped around the side of the build to face the marsh in the back.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews