We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel staff was fantastic during an emergency”
Review of Iguana Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iguana Crossing
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel staff was fantastic during an emergency”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. We happened to be on Isabela during a freak tsunami red alert (Chile had had a giant earthquake that the USGS thought might bring a tsunami our way; this is a very rare occurrence, and shouldn't deter anyone from going to the Galapagos!). I was, as one might imagine, extremely alarmed, but the hotel had an excellent emergency plan and evacuated us to the hotel owner's place up in the hills, where we would be safe. Furthermore, once we were there, they went to great lengths to assure our comfort, bringing sandwiches, cake(!), a whole lot of water, extra mosquito repellent, building a fire, and on and on and on. Their hospitality was extraordinary. Within five hours, the alert was lifted. There was no tsunami. We went back down to the beautiful hotel and enjoyed a few wonderful days of seeing animals. Would recommend this place with all my heart.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carbonarapasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    106
    25
    13
    13
See reviews for
175
233
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My wife and I ventured to this amazing property last month, March 2014. From the get go, Felipe and Alejandra (whom I believe are the owners) were wonderful at accommodating our requests between our dinners, our non-obstructed ocean front/view room, et al. A very easy, one-to-one engagement, which is rare.

The property/location was ideal to us in a sleepy little town in Isabela. Pictures of the resort do not do it justice - the craftsmanship that went into the resort design, pool, woodwork, etc alongside a very open/open air design was stellar. And you won't be disappointed as the resort lives up to its name with daily crossings of the Iguana's. Proximity is great as your just off the path to the town center (although very small town center) providing even more intimacy, but an easy 3-5 minute walk.

The coastal and highland zones are all wonderfully visible from the property itself, and the resort will undoubtably make any excursion for you upon request. And yes, plenty of sea lions in near proximity!

I'd say this simple review does not do this resort, island or location justice - a magical destination, but one last point of recognition I'd like to make was to our new friend Emma who I believe was one of the manager's - above and beyond she stood out to us and went on to help my wife and I on varying requests, as well as simply being a genuine kind, friendly and professional person. Although I can't recall a couple of the other individuals we engaged often....all top notch

Cheers!

Room Tip: Top or bottom floor facing ocean are all great, but 2nd floor provides more view. All balconies are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesschildknecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this wonderful hotel a few weeks ago. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, we were expecting a fantastic hotel and we weren't disappointed! We splurged and booked an oceanview junior suite (room 8) which was amazing. Our balconey wrapped around the hotel and we had an oceanview and a sideview of the lagoon. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back if we are fortunate to get back to the Galapagos! Staying on Isabela and at the Iguana Crossing was one of the highlights of our trip!

Room Tip: Room 8 had an amazing view of the ocean and a side view of the lagoon where we could see the iguanas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanetOO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We couldn't have picked a better hotel to spend our vacation in the Galapagos. The place not only blends in perfectly with the pristine feel of the island, but the staff was so friendly and hospitable! They always found a way to accommodate our needs. The food was also out of this world. During our entire stay in the island we only ate at the hotel. We were told that the restaurants around town were very good, but the hotel offered a wide selection of local flavors that we couldn't resist but to try them all! The room we got was also very comfortable: an amazing view, complimentary drinking water, warm water in the shower, AC... Overall, it was a wonderful experience! Plus, the hotel is located right in front of the beach, so you can enjoy the island's beautiful scenery and fauna while taking a swim in the pool. On our last night, we enjoyed freshly grilled seafood on the hotel's breathtaking sundeck. We would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PS_ec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the nicest on the island, but needs some updating. We booked an ocean view room and it has a beautiful room but the pillows on the bed had holes in them and the comforters on both beds had stains. The bathroom was up to date but the ceiling could use a coat of paint. The service and the pool area make this hotel. We ate at the restaurant and the food was excellent. Anything we asked for the staff was very accommodating. Now the problem and I did not tell the hotel because I wanted to make sure what I thought at the time was correct. On the second day of our trip I counted the money in my wallet and it seemed like something was missing. I wrote down how much I had spent and I was sure that some cash had been stolen from my wallet in the safe. I thought I made a mistake in the amount of cash I took out but unfortunately I was wrong. It was only $60 and I probably would of left it as a tip but it soured our experience. Also a group of friends of the owner were staying at the hotel and the made it hard to enjoy the hotel. They would drink and smoke all day by the pool which made it hard to relax. Also they were very loud and it made it hard to sleep. Overall it is a very nice hotel but unfortunately we had a bad experience.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenmattson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Spend 5 days with our two teen boys in march.
Lovely quiet boutique hôtel .
Confortable large rooms.
Excellent service, friendly and helpfull staff.
Food was excellent .
Had dinner by the pool facing the sea one evening.
Location was perfect , walking distance the park entrance.
Loved Isabela Island, for it's wilderness .
The hôtel arranged for us two great excursions , one snorkling in the tunnels, and one walk to the volcano siéra nigra.
Would definetely go back.
Thank you Pedro for a perfect stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Embarquement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

It has an amazing view of the beach, which has turquoise waters and white sand. The food is delicious and the people in the hotel and in the island are extremely kind, friendly and helpful! You get to relax and enjoy the view if you want to; or be a bit more adventorous and enjoy the island life! I would definitely choose this hotel again. We had a great time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefiss2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.4 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#8 of 10 in Isabela
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#4 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Crossing

Property: Iguana Crossing
Address: Av. Antonio Gil, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Iguana Crossing 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Crossing is Isabela's newest and most innovative hotel. Its minimalist design and superior service offer guests a privileged experience on this scarcely populated island. Iguana Crossing is located in between Isabela's extensive white sand beaches and directly behind a wildlife-filled lagoon. Iguana Crossing offers an oceanfront swimming pool, Jacuzzi, 12 fully equipped rooms and a master suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iguana Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Crossing Hotel Puerto Villamil
Iguana Crossing Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing