We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality and Great Value”
Review of La Gran Tortuga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Gran Tortuga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed at La Gran Tortuga for 5 nights. We loved it! Jose and Juana were fabulous hosts and we had everything we needed including a wonderful breakfast every morning. The room was comfortable, conveniently located and it is priced very well! We had a wonderful time on Isla Isabella and Jose and Jauna helped to make it superb.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

Decent hotel with large rooms and comfortable beds. The bathroom could use some improvement though. The breakfast was good with eggs & sausages, toasted bread, yogurt, granola, and fruit. There's a roof top lounge area with hammocks which is nice to chill out with fellow travelers. The location is good, close to the beach, restaurants and bars and the port. There is free wifi that was working perfectly in our room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelNat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juana V, Propietario at La Gran Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013
Google Translation

gracias por su opinión para nosotros es muy importante saber que usted se halla sentido satisfecho con nuestros servicios y en nuestro hostal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Very nice owners who take care of you from arrival at the port to leaving the island, good help for booking tours, and agreeable, very clean rooms. Good modern air condition. Fair price. Pto Villamil is a very tiny place, so all is close. There are some rooms without windows and thus not having a good ventilation, for single visitors, not everyone's taste. The rooms at the 1st or 2nd floor are in any case more agreeable.

If you don't appreciate being like at Ballermann in Ibiza don't go to Isabela during the carneval weekend in February. We had 4 days of whamming music coming from an open air disco at the beach with huge loudspeakers from 3.pm in the afternoon till 4.am, and as the village is so small you almost can't escape or be it to the more luxury hotels at both ends of the beach which are quieter.

All tours are good, very nice the tintorera tour (3hours with lots of penguins, birds, iguanas, sealions, crabs, tintoreras - small white fin sharks and snorkeling, 30 usd)', the volcano tour (35usd) and absolutely not to miss the tunnel tour (60usd), a hole day with spectacular snorkeling, swimming with turtles, tintoreras, beautiful fish, Galapagos at is best.

Room Tip: Upstairs, with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hape007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

If you are looking for something authentic and for pure nature this is the place to stay. It's 100% eco and the owner Ana Rosa and her husband have created an unique environment and do their job with a big joy. They will talk to you, share their opinions, tell you the whole story of the island and their resort and will prepare delicous food based on the best ecological ingredients; the fresh fish from the sea and vegetables and fruits from their own garden.
The huts are very clean and cosy and you have to be prepared for spare electricity and water, as this is fully ecological place and nothing should be wasted.
This Eco Hotel is not for overcrowded and every guest can get the feeling of being kind of special

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agatchen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The friendly, family run place is a good option to stay. Close to the beach and the main plaza with all the restaurants, it's located perfectly. Our room was large and very well equipped, there was a TV and A/C, WiFi-signal and cupboards for your things. The bathroom was very spacious and well working. A good breakfast is served in the morning, all days a bit different which we liked a lot.It is also possible to book Day Tours (Los Tuneles and Tintoreras) through the Hotel. There seem to be two different price ranges of rooms – look at both before you decide. (Via Internet we could only book the 70 USD double which was the more expensive one...)

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I agreed with the other reviewers regarding the helpful and friendly staff at this place, but it was curious to me that nobody had mentioned how noisy the rooms along the street are. Maybe the rooms upstairs are quieter, but try to avoid the streetside rooms, because you can hear everything!! Breakfasts were good and hot water, air conditioning were all fine. Even had a fridge in my room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juana V, Propietario at La Gran Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012
Google Translation

Hola gracias por su comentario siempre somos los propietarios y por eso estamos pendientes de cada uno de nuestros clientes.
con respecto al ruido mil disculpas pero en esa fecha que usted se alojo se festeja en el pueblo las fiestas de carnaval en la playa y como estamos muy cerca se escucha la musica por 4 dias hasta altas horas de la noche y hay muchos turista,s Isabela es la isla de Galapagos donde se festeja el carnaval por lo que recomiendo si le gustas disfrutar del carnaval hagalo en Isabela
y si viene a descansar hagalo en otra fecha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This was my third trip staying at Gran Tortuga in Isla Isabela! I spent two weeks surfing, snorkeling, hiking, and horseback riding. What really sets Gran Tortuga apart from some of the other hotels/hostels on the island is the personalized service/care from the owners. The complimentary breakfast does not end at a certain time, it is when you wake up, as long as you inform the owner beforehand. Special dietary requests: vegetarian, etc, no problem. During this trip they also helped arrange tours to Los Tuneles (amazing lava tunnels far offshore in the middle of the ocean) where i snorkeled and saw rays and sea horses and to volcan chico and sierra negra which was also a blast. They even helped me rent a bike to visit the Wall of Tears instead of having to hire a tour and go with a group. I was able to not only save money, but also to have an amazing bike ride and a much better experience. Juana and Jose, the owners, are really out there to ensure everyone has a great trip. They put people first and are not just trying to run a business like some of the other hotels.

That being said, in addition to the personalized attention, the conditions of the hotel and rooms are also high quality. They have now completed a second floor (4 or 5 more rooms) also complete with private bathrooms, hot showers and cool a/c (a must have for summer months). They are currently completing a chill-out area on the roof with a huge balcony and a bunch of hammocks, which will be perfect after a surf session, hike, snorkel, etc.

I will definitely be back in the Galapagos in 2013, and undoubtedly staying at La Gran Tortuga!

Room Tip: Email in advance to ensure the hotel/hostel doesn't sell out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.2 mi away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
34 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#8 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
122 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#21 of 25 in Santa Cruz
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gran Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gran Tortuga

Address: Las Fragatas y 16 de Marzo, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: £49 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Gran Tortuga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your vacation in La Gran Tortuga! We offer comfortable rooms with air conditioners, private bathrooms, television and wireless internet access. We also organize tours to volcanoes, bay tours, tours to lava tunnels in the sea and tours to Galapagos Tortoise center. We hope to see you very soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your La Gran Tortuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gran Tortuga Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing