We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”
Review of Hostal Insular

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Insular
Ranked #17 of 28 Puerto Villamil B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I thought this was great value. I booked directly with the hostel and paid $20 for a single room. Had a bit of an issue paying the deposit and ended up mailing a $20 bill - it all worked out and their pre arrival emails were great. It was good value and i had a choice of room on arrival. Did my laundry which was great, girl on reception was lovely and helpful and supermarket next door, fridge in room and 5 minutes to restaurants and beach. Great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilJackieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Insular
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

I spend 3 nights in this hotel. Clean rooms with air and hot water - which I never used. Very friendly and helpful at the reception. Breakfast can be arranged if desirred. Decent price for what you get - recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms by the street receive less sun in the afternoon!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etienne2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We were a group of students and adults. This is a nice little hotel. The rooms were very clean, beds good. Hot water in some rooms, not all. Fridge, a/c in room.
Grocery store attached. Breakfast was great- big bowl of fruit to start, then cereal and toast, juice and coffee.
Great base for day trips. You can even get your laundry done!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

the price is competitive, but you get much more value. for example, i could have stayed in a small room, shared bathroom, for the same price, instead i got a new bed, a nice sunset balcony, air con, my own bathroom and a good sized fridge right in my room. there is a great closet area so you can actually unpack and enjoy. plus there is a handy dandy market right downstairs to stock the fridge with. it is not on the beach, but the beach is only 5 minutes away, and the strip with all the restaurants on it is 3 minutes away. there is a little esthetic shop close by where i got a pedicure for $6., including flowers painted on freehand by the lovely Rachel. it is quiet too. i loved it.

Room Tip: the wifi only works on the balcony's, and is slow, BUT it is like that on the whole island, so i...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This is a newer, cozy, clean, family-run hotel. It is several blocks from the beach. The hotel has an attached grocery market that is very handy in preparation for outings. The breakfast is simple and good. Coffee is served with breakfast. Service is friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quality_Evaluator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKG1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: alleen wifi bij de receptie
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fuente de Piedra II
Fuente de Piedra II
#102 of 111 in Quito
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#10 of 61 in Guayaquil
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#4 of 14 in Otavalo
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#7 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Paraiso Insular
Gran Hotel Paraiso Insular
#7 of 12 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Insular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Insular

Address: Gaviotin y Tero Real, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: £21 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Insular reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Insular Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing