We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Laguna Galapagos
Ranked #21 of 27 Puerto Villamil B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We spent three nights here with our tour group. It was just fine. I agree with the other reviewer that they need to work on their staffing. The front desk was not staffed, but there was usually someone up in the restaurant. There was always water available in the lobby and in the restaurant area. Rooms were clean and comfortable enough. We had three breakfasts and I thought they were just fine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grizz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at La Laguna and at Isabela.

We certainly like to keep rooms and restaurant as neat as possible. Good to know you likes the breakfast and found your room suiting. We are aware our reception is at times lacking a member of our staff I apologize if this caused any inconvenience to your stay. We will try to keep our personal more often on reception. We try to keep our staff on all locations to be more helpful and sometimes forget to watch over reception : ) .

Once again, thanks for your sincere comments. We hope to see you soon if you ever visit Isabela Island on the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

While staying in a smaller community in the developing world we have limited expectations with respect to certain elements of our hotel accomodations. The one factor we can usually rely upon is good customer service. Unfortunately, service was nearly non-existant during our stay at Hotel LaLaguna. The reception area is never staffed and a sign directs you to the top floor for information. Upon arrival there was some confusion and it appeared nobody was expecting us. We had reservations for two rooms and were shown a triple room. We finally got that worked out and settled into our rooms.
One day my mother who is 75 years old returned to the hotel by herself to rest and recuperate from our days adventures. When she arrived there was NO staff on-site and the room with the potable water and sodas had been locked closed. She had no access to drinkable water for over two hours!!
The rooms themselves were fine with nice beds and very clean. The hotel is clean, but with extremely poor maintenance. The hotel is designed very nicely and it would be comfortable to use if it had been maintained properly. There are many beautiful windows throughout and all of them were very dirty and unkept. The sofa on an outside landing was broken down and useless. The walls were originally very nicely painted with an interesting color pattern, however, they had not been touched-up in years and there were scuff marks all along the common areas.
The grounds were very nicely designed but were in a state of serious neglect with weeds growing up through the foliage, etc. Lastly, we had hot water only one day during our three night stay. When we reported it to the staff they had in repaired but the repair broke down after only one nights use.

This hotel provides a breakfast for its guests included in the nightly rate. The food was marginal at best. Cold eggs and pancakes, good juice, instant coffee, nice rolls. The kitchen staff has no training whatsoever in customer service. We would have been happy if they were engaging, responsive, or just plain smiled when we did. This did not happen.

We would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Puerto Villamil. We spent the last two nights of our stay at Casa de Marita and had an absolutely wonderful experience. There is no comparison, whatsoever.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bendorbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel La Laguna Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Traveler

Frist of all, sorry for our delay in responding back, we just finished verifying our hotel documentation at Trip Advisor, giving us the great opportunity to finally keep in touch with our visitors. Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for all you suggestions

I apologize in name of La Laguna hotel for all this inconveniences. Sorry your stay want´s all pleasant at our hotel and that our staff wasn’t helpful enough. We have indeed been trying to avoid this informal courtesy form our staff. We do understand language is a limitation among our staff. Considering your comments and for the comfort of our guests, travelers are now greeted by an English speaking host that is most of the time at the reception and all around the hotel trying to make our travelers feel as comfortable as possible.

I am sorry about your mother and her not having access to beverages. Though we always keep two water dispensers at the reception and at the dining room for all of our customers, it was certainly a failure on our part not to inform you on this at you arrival to our hotel. We usually keep a close eye to the presentation of our installations and cleanness. As you noticed, our rooms are always clean and well-conditioned. It might be of your interest that we currently just working on some improvements on our finishes as well as retouching the terrace. We also hear you on the meals; food is usually very well prepared, paying attention to details. I am sorry service wasn´t that good during your stay. We are now watching closely that food is served fast and on time.

Once again, we are deeply sorry for the inconveniences and we are thankful for your comments on this, as a sincere traveler perspective is always welcome and it gives us an idea on the things we are missing in order to achieve good quality service.

La Laguna Galapagos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TonyaD84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank APASUV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mariana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Creo que son todas parecidas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones de la segunda planta que tienen una terracita comun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ferlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Villamil hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
199 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
473 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Los Delfines
Casa Los Delfines
#9 of 23 in Puerto Villamil
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Laguna Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Laguna Galapagos

Address: Av. Los Flamingos, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador, Puerto Villamil 1724, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: £71 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Laguna Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Laguna Galapagos Hotel. Our mission is to provide affordable and exceptional Service for our guests to make sure that your stay with us is nothing but spectacular. Located next to the Flamingo Lagoon and just blocks away from the beach, La Laguna Galapagos Hotel is the perfect place to rest and relax comfortably while enjoying your Galapagos vacation. Enjoy our comfortable rooms, facilities, spectacular views, and great location during your stay on Isabela Island, and come see why La Laguna is considered one of the best hotels in Galapagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Laguna Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Laguna Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing