We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relatively good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Laguna Galapagos
Ranked #21 of 27 Puerto Villamil B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Relatively good”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Everything seemed decent. The rooms were spacious and clean. The hot tub on the roof was a good idea, if the water wasn't really murky. Like the other reviews, breakfast was okay. The location was relatively good. Hotel staff were not to be seen most of the time, but when they were, they seemed friendly. We would stay there again if we went back to Puerto Villamil.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    27
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

After checking out many of the hotels/hostels in town, we found La Laguna to be very good value for money. Centrally located, it offers spacious rooms and amazing view on the lagoon. Flamingos were there every single day. The building looks very nice from the outside but could use some new paint inside. The staff does not speak English but they were very friendly and there was nothing that we did not manage to communicate (I don't speak any Spanish). Nice smiles and body language worked perfectly well. Breakfast is just OK but comfortable to have it in the same building. Would stay there next time as well!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
159 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We spent three nights here with our tour group. It was just fine. I agree with the other reviewer that they need to work on their staffing. The front desk was not staffed, but there was usually someone up in the restaurant. There was always water available in the lobby and in the restaurant area. Rooms were clean and comfortable enough. We had three breakfasts and I thought they were just fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grizz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Laguna Galapagos, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at La Laguna and at Isabela.

We certainly like to keep rooms and restaurant as neat as possible. Good to know you likes the breakfast and found your room suiting. We are aware our reception is at times lacking a member of our staff I apologize if this caused any inconvenience to your stay. We will try to keep our personal more often on reception. We try to keep our staff on all locations to be more helpful and sometimes forget to watch over reception : ) .

Once again, thanks for your sincere comments. We hope to see you soon if you ever visit Isabela Island on the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

While staying in a smaller community in the developing world we have limited expectations with respect to certain elements of our hotel accomodations. The one factor we can usually rely upon is good customer service. Unfortunately, service was nearly non-existant during our stay at Hotel LaLaguna. The reception area is never staffed and a sign directs you to the top floor for information. Upon arrival there was some confusion and it appeared nobody was expecting us. We had reservations for two rooms and were shown a triple room. We finally got that worked out and settled into our rooms.
One day my mother who is 75 years old returned to the hotel by herself to rest and recuperate from our days adventures. When she arrived there was NO staff on-site and the room with the potable water and sodas had been locked closed. She had no access to drinkable water for over two hours!!
The rooms themselves were fine with nice beds and very clean. The hotel is clean, but with extremely poor maintenance. The hotel is designed very nicely and it would be comfortable to use if it had been maintained properly. There are many beautiful windows throughout and all of them were very dirty and unkept. The sofa on an outside landing was broken down and useless. The walls were originally very nicely painted with an interesting color pattern, however, they had not been touched-up in years and there were scuff marks all along the common areas.
The grounds were very nicely designed but were in a state of serious neglect with weeds growing up through the foliage, etc. Lastly, we had hot water only one day during our three night stay. When we reported it to the staff they had in repaired but the repair broke down after only one nights use.

This hotel provides a breakfast for its guests included in the nightly rate. The food was marginal at best. Cold eggs and pancakes, good juice, instant coffee, nice rolls. The kitchen staff has no training whatsoever in customer service. We would have been happy if they were engaging, responsive, or just plain smiled when we did. This did not happen.

We would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Puerto Villamil. We spent the last two nights of our stay at Casa de Marita and had an absolutely wonderful experience. There is no comparison, whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bendorbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel La Laguna Galapagos, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Traveler

Frist of all, sorry for our delay in responding back, we just finished verifying our hotel documentation at Trip Advisor, giving us the great opportunity to finally keep in touch with our visitors. Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for all you suggestions

I apologize in name of La Laguna hotel for all this inconveniences. Sorry your stay want´s all pleasant at our hotel and that our staff wasn’t helpful enough. We have indeed been trying to avoid this informal courtesy form our staff. We do understand language is a limitation among our staff. Considering your comments and for the comfort of our guests, travelers are now greeted by an English speaking host that is most of the time at the reception and all around the hotel trying to make our travelers feel as comfortable as possible.

I am sorry about your mother and her not having access to beverages. Though we always keep two water dispensers at the reception and at the dining room for all of our customers, it was certainly a failure on our part not to inform you on this at you arrival to our hotel. We usually keep a close eye to the presentation of our installations and cleanness. As you noticed, our rooms are always clean and well-conditioned. It might be of your interest that we currently just working on some improvements on our finishes as well as retouching the terrace. We also hear you on the meals; food is usually very well prepared, paying attention to details. I am sorry service wasn´t that good during your stay. We are now watching closely that food is served fast and on time.

Once again, we are deeply sorry for the inconveniences and we are thankful for your comments on this, as a sincere traveler perspective is always welcome and it gives us an idea on the things we are missing in order to achieve good quality service.

La Laguna Galapagos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Villamil hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#4 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casita de la Playa
Casita de la Playa
#2 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drake Inn
Drake Inn
#1 of 22 in Puerto Villamil
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hospadaje Mother Fanny
Hospadaje Mother Fanny
#20 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Laguna Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Laguna Galapagos

Property: Hotel La Laguna Galapagos
Address: Av. Los Flamingos, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador, Puerto Villamil 1724, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Laguna Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Laguna Galapagos Hotel. Our mission is to provide affordable and exceptional Service for our guests to make sure that your stay with us is nothing but spectacular. Located next to the Flamingo Lagoon and just blocks away from the beach, La Laguna Galapagos Hotel is the perfect place to rest and relax comfortably while enjoying your Galapagos vacation. Enjoy our comfortable rooms, facilities, spectacular views, and great location during your stay on Isabela Island, and come see why La Laguna is considered one of the best hotels in Galapagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Laguna Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Laguna Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing