We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way beyond expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Laguna Galapagos
Ranked #19 of 24 Puerto Villamil B&B and Inns
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Way beyond expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I and my family stayed here in late June. The rooms are nice, breakfast excellent and the staff absolutely wonderful. Incredible service.

The only slight drawback was the mould smell in one of our ground-floor rooms.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio G, Gerente at Hotel La Laguna Galapagos, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Bernt R,

We are absolutely trunkful with your review. We’ve been improving so much, by now we are constantly receiving better reviews from our guests and it means the work we are putting and the effort we are given, is making a change in our hotel.

We have changed from average criteria to great ones. We will give all what we got in order to offer a great and quality service.

According to the room and that smell, we will be seriously keeping an eye on what we can do to get this away from our hotel.

Thank you once again for having chosen us!

HOTEL LA LAGUNA STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    27
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 11 nights in late June. The hotel has a very good location and fantastic view. From the common spaces you can see flamingoes at the lagoon. We had two different rooms, of very different quality. Our first room ( on ground floor) was spacious, but the bathroom smelled like a sewer and the aircondition was very noisy and smelled quite bad to. We found cockroaches in our room and the spray they used smelled horrible, I am surprised we did not all wake up with a headache the next morning. Our second room (first floor) was much nicer, cleaner, the bathroom and air conditioner smelled only a little. In both rooms the beds were quite comfortable. There was also a nice common room just outside the second room that we could use. Here you could make coffee and drink water (if they remembered to put cups, coffee and refill the bottle). The wifi did not work in our room, but worked well here.

The breakfast was included, served at precisely seven o clock every morning and was at best okay. If you wanted hot coffee they would reheat the instant coffee for you. We only tried the dinner here once, and that was a big disapointment. Too little food and too bad quality. They also never recognized our daughter (aged 2) as a person. She never got her own plate, glass, fork (or even towel) etc. I found this very weird. We have travelled for over two months and everywhere we have stayed they (restaurants/hotels) welcome her as part of our group. Also they did a lot of construction work while we were here and the floor in the restarant was very dirty. One morning I had to clean the chairs before we could sit down and havd our breakfast. We used the jacuzzi several days and most of the times it was clean and warm. And it has a great view. You have to book it at a set time, and you can expect it to be ready 15-30 min after that.

Some of the staff really make up for the faults of this mid-range hotel. They were nice, welcoming, helpful and did everything they could for us to have a enjoyable holiday. Thank you! But we feel that for the price we paid, we expected more.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio G, Gerente at Hotel La Laguna Galapagos, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear María R

We hope you are doing well. Thank you so much for having shared with us your thoughts and your experience in our hotel. As it's not a good result at all, we are really looking forward to explain to you what happened on each part:

1. The smell of the room is not because of the bathroom or sewer; it's because of the humidity. What we have been done is to turn the air conditioning 15 minutes before each one of you arrival. It’s something we have to deal with as this is coming from the weather, not our hotel. The air conditioning is the one we have in all our rooms, not very noisy at all but it sounds. We haven't changed this because it works pretty good and it's not necessary. Most of our passengers have understood this fact.

2. Cockroaches are grown in the whole islands so this insect is in all parts. In most of the cases we have opened the windows to filtrate air because of humidity to save energy from the air conditioning for each room and these insects go into the rooms without taking notice of this. The receptionist told us that she uses insect sprays to kill them but the window was opened and the air conditioning didn't let go the smell and that's why it remains. Please, I really want to note that we tried our best to keep you without problem but it causes another one.

3. Wi-Fi is ONLY available in social areas and this was explained by the receptionist and the person in charge of changing cups and glasses was not aware of the lack of this so we didn't figure that. We are constantly keeping an eye for refill this stage as the water also didn't arrive to the island in time so we have to wait till the next day.

4. This is the first time we received a complaint from our restaurant and services and if you check other reviews, minimal complains about food. We assume the error we didn't put a plate and forks for your little children as the person in charge of the restaurant hasn't worked so much with passengers with children and she really excuses for this error. She should have put an extra plate for the little kid. According to the menu, our receptionist told us that she spoke with you about the dinner and you have told her that everything was great. Anyway, we are going to take care even more of these complaints.

5. About the construction, it was because we have to replace the whole equipment of the kitchen (because the gas section wasn't work very good in some cases). The receptionist and the person in charge of the house keeping told us that they were constantly sweeping the floor and cleaning it up. However, they didn't notice the chairs. They are quite let down as they were putting their effort to not cause major inconvenient, especially for the construction.

6. About the Jacuzzi, YES we always ask our passengers if they want to use it, they should ask for these services (free of cost) in the reception so they can be aware and they can start prepping it. It really takes time to fill it and warm as we are working with solar panels (we are one of the few hotels that are going green) and we can't have this Jacuzzi turned on all the time because of energy issues.

7. As I told you, we want to give an extensive apology and explanation as such number of nights must have been perfect or near the perfection. We are really looking forward to offering the best services we can but as you said, we need to keep an eye on these issues so other passengers don't complain about it. Vanessa, our receptionist was really worried about this and that's why we really wanted to know your review of our Hotel.

Having explained that, we really hope you have enjoyed your visit to Isabela and you have spotted so much. We wish you well and thank you so much for highlighting what our strength that is our location and nice and friendly staff that it's always there to help you as much as they can.

Best regards,
HOTEL LA LAGUNA STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in a lovely room with balcony and view over the lagoon. Big comfortable bed and air conditioning. Only a block from beach front. Very clean. Stayed 4 nights.
Nice breakfast, fruit, rolls, juice, tea and eggs.
All meals in the hotel were tasty but sometimes a bit the same. For example had the same soup for lunch that had the night before for dinner.
Fresh water supplied for drinking. Short stroll to the Main Street with lots of cafés and restaurants.
No hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Room 4 had balcony with view over lagoon. Quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Strathcona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio G, Gerente at Hotel La Laguna Galapagos, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Strathcona.

First of all, we want to give you a warm greeting from all our Hotel and thank you for having posted your review about La Laguna Galapagos Hotel. We really appreciate it as it is the only way to know how satisfied our guests were after having stayed in our Hotel.

Again, we highlight our location as, our name says in spanish "La Laguna", it is in front of the Flamingo Lagoon where you can see flamingos eventually. Also, it's important to remark the surrounded places that you can find for example restaurants, the beach, and the mains square, among others.

We have been encouraging our staff from the kitchen to create new menus as our restaurant, apart from the quality of our dishes that we have received pretty good reviews, it needs variety and we are extremely focusing on offering better services and more dishes; despite in the islands we don't have enough ingredients to work with. We excuse ourselves as you don’t find the variety we used to offer to our guests.

We are continuously working on our hotel's services and involving our staff to appropriate of the hotel because it's the only way to know better how our passengers are feeling about their current stay and, obviously, the next improvements we should do.

We hope you have spotted most of the wildlife our islands have for you and all our future passengers.

Best of all,
LA LAGUNA HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a wonderful room, nice and clean with all the amenities we could ask for. We could look out our balcony and see the flamingo lagoon so that was a nice perk. Being right next to the beach was perfect and with just a quick stroll you were in the middle of town, close to laundry and nice restaurants. The restaurant has great food and we really enjoyed the buttery soups before dinner. This was welcoming since "American Breakfasts" in Ecuador are not good. So even though they put something out we usually skipped this meal. We found this to be a country-wide thing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stallar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio G, Gerente at Hotel La Laguna Galapagos, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Stallar,

Warmest Greetings from La Laguna Hotel. We were really pleased while reading the whole review because we have given a wonderful stay to you and you have enjoyed not only the room, but our services too.

Yes, as you told in your response, our Hotel is located in a very centric zone where you have all services on hand and it's a very strong pro from us apart from the spectacular view to Flamingo Lagoon that you can appreciate in your room.

We really hope you have seen most of the wildlife Galapagos can offer to tourists and, the most important; you have had an amazing trip.

This review will totally benefit other customers about the potential of our hotel.

We wish you well.

HOTEL LA LAGUNA Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in La laguna for 5 nights. We were in room #4, a big room with a balcony and a view of the Salinas Lagoon. There is a jacuzzi in the rofftop terrace but normally it is not working, one has to tell the recepcionist several hours in advanced for them to prepare it. Breakfast is not buffet style and it is very boring, specially when you stay for several nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank QQQMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio G, Gerente at Hotel La Laguna Galapagos, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear QQQMadrid,

At first, we want to thank you for having taken time to post your comment and important feedback from our hotel. What we have read in your opinion is very sincere and we want to offer and explanation for this as there’s always a reason.

First of all, if you want to use the Jacuzzi, it's totally free of cost. However, our personal should be advised, as you said, in advance because we need to prepare and heat the water and, of course, we will be very kind to help our passengers with this service. Also, it's important to take in count that we are trying to go green and save energy and be ecological (just few hotels in the whole Galapagos are being conscious of this), as we are also using solar panels; and that's why we can't put this service in all hours. Just under request.

According to the Breakfast, we don't offer buffet breakfast in any way, because the rate covers a basic but complete breakfast that includes coffee, bread, milk, juice and fruits. I really apology if you were expecting more but, as being a hotel with competitive rates and extra services with no extra cost as Jacuzzi, Wi-Fi, stage of coffee; we want to clarify the most of it and we don’t want to betray our customers.

Despite of not having a good feedback from you, we really appreciate you comments and we wish you have looked at a lot of wildlife in our beautiful Isabela - Galapagos.

Best Regards,

HOTEL LA LAGUNA STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a nice big room in this hotel: it was clean, comfortable and had air conditioning. Our stay was absolutely perfect.
La Laguna is so close to the beach we could go out for a walk on the fine sand, come back, take a shower and have dinner without ever wearing our shoes :)

We always had dinner in their restaurant, and the food was good.

The only problem (which, to be honest, is not the owners' fault) are other guests dragging and bumping their heavy suitcases down the stairs at five in the morning!

Personnel were kind and attentive.

We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio G, Gerente at Hotel La Laguna Galapagos, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear akhal,

Beforehand, we want to thank you for taking time to publish your comment on-line as it is very important, not only for us, but for our current and future passengers.

Such a great comment is very encouraging for our hotel ‘staff because it really shows that we are getting better and we are trying to provide the best service and experiences to our guests.

We are being congratulated continuously for our food, served in our restaurant and most of it, the great environment our hotel is hosting.

It’s important to say that we are going to have improvements in our hotel's rooms by the end of this year and we really hope these changes will provide a better stay.

We wish you well and we hope you have experienced the best in Galapagos.

Best Regards,
HOTEL LA LAGUNA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in La Laguna for 2 nights in January 2014, along with my wife and two small daughters. The building is beautiful, with superb rooftop terrace and top-floor dining area with panoramic views of the Salinas Lagoon (across the street, home to a few wild flamingos) and to the beach (a few blocks away). Isabela is a primative island with very little development, so one should note that there are no Hiltons or other luxury hotel/resort chains. Even the infrastructure of Santa Cruz or San Cristobal is missing here, and every hotel and restaurant should be judged accordingly.

Given those details, La Laguna is very sufficient. A quiet location is convenient to restaurants, post office, little convenience stores, tour shops, and the beach. Rooms are nothing special but are more than adequate, featuring A/C. There was a TV, but we didn't turn it on, preferring to enjoy the natural setting. We were in a room next to the lobby, which was convenient but featured a thin door that likely insured our conversations were heard by any staff or passers-by. There was no safe, but Isabela is a very safe place-- I don't think I would have bothered anyway. Breakfast is continental and very basic, but the staff is very friendly and accommodating. We inquired about dinner in the hotel restaurant, but it seems you may need to make reservations in advance. No room service. Clean water is provided, but it's not cold and there is no fridge in the room. Walk to the nearby convenience stores instead for cold drinks. Hotel staff kept our luggage after check-out until our departure.

Overall, and particularly given the selection and conditions on Isabela, I recommend La Laguna and will return in the future should I ever make it back to the island.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ultramodern1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio G, Gerente at Hotel La Laguna Galapagos, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Ultramodern1

Warmest greetings from Hotel La Laguna, we are totally thankful for your feedback and your extended commentary of our Hotel and surroundings. That's what exactly we are used to selling to our clients. We don't want our clients get a wrong idea about our hotel despite of not having the greatest infrastructure as big cities have but still comfortable and suitable.

We have invested a lot of resources to create brand new rooms so our passengers can get the best of their vacations spending in a peaceful place.

One important pro we need to rescue is the fact that TV's are occasionally available in our hotel in some rooms because we want to share an eco-friendly space of just getting relaxed. Obviously, it doesn’t mean that TV is not available at all.

Having set that, we are enormously grateful for having had a great feedback from you and we hope you have spotted a lot of wildlife nature nearby.

Best of all,

HOTEL LA LAGUNA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Villamil hotels
0.3 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 24 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 24 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Laguna Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Laguna Galapagos

Property: Hotel La Laguna Galapagos
Address: Av. Los Flamingos, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador, Puerto Villamil 1724, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Laguna Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Laguna Galapagos Hotel. Our mission is to provide affordable and exceptional Service for our guests to make sure that your stay with us is nothing but spectacular. Located next to the Flamingo Lagoon and just blocks away from the beach, La Laguna Galapagos Hotel is the perfect place to rest and relax comfortably while enjoying your Galapagos vacation. Enjoy our comfortable rooms, facilities, spectacular views, and great location during your stay on Isabela Island, and come see why La Laguna is considered one of the best hotels in Galapagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Laguna Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Laguna Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing