We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Casa Los Delfines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Los Delfines
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We got to Puerto Villamil without reservations and had to find a place to sleep. We checked out about 6 different hotels before we decided on the Dolphin House. The reason we picked this place because a) A lot of other places were booked - there were a couple of other hotels that looked really cute, but were all sold out b) this place was cheap and looked clean. We stayed at the Dolphin House for 3 nights in Room 6 on the upper floor. We were originally given a different room on the 2nd floor which was a lot smaller and had a tiny window that looked out to the ocean. We then saw that the bigger room on upper floor was available with a much better view and a terrace attached to it, so we asked if we could switch and they were very accommodating to allow us do that. The room was very basic (no decorations), with two beds, mini fridge, AC, old TV, clean basic bathroom. WiFi does not work in the room, but is available in the reception area. Breakfast was included in the price. The hotel is very close the area with all the restaurants, although everything is very close to everything in Puerto Villamil.

All in all it was a good basic hotel, but compared to other places we stayed on our trip to Galapagos, this was probably the least impressive for the price.

PS: On the restaurants in the area. Favorite lunch place: Cesar's - cheap local lunch deal for $5-6 includes juice, soup of the day, and main dish of the day (mixed seafood rice or grilled fish on the day we ate). Food was great here. Favorite dinner place: On the adjacent street to the main street restaurant called "Cultural Cafe" or something like that. They have delicious crapes and pasta! They had a "Happy Hour 2x1" sign displayed, but said it was only on weekends. The drinks were good anyway. Worst dinner place: Los Delfines - don't go there. We got dinner meal which is common in most restaurants where you get juice, soup, main dish and desert. Other than the juice, everything else was gross. When they brought out the main dish I wasn't sure there was any fish on the plate - the sliver of grilled tuna was so tiny and thin, that I didn't even notice it on the plate at first. Aside from the portion, the food was just not good. Snacks: Our favorite place was a little Panaderia (Bread Store) just down the street that sold delicious bread/pastries. They were only opened early in the morning or after 4 or 5 pm. Pan de Chocolate or Orejas were our favorite pastries.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Casa Los Delfines
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

We actually stayed in the Caleta Iguana for one night before moving to this place. We loved it here. The room was very clean and had AC, hot water, mini fridge and a small lock box (lock not included). We had room #6 which was on the second floor with an ocean view.

The woman running the place does not speak English but extremely nice and will go out of her way to help you. We used google translator to help with the communication barrier.

The room had 2 beds (one was nice and soft and the other one was like a rock).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Hello,

My wife and I went to Isla Isabela in the Summer of '11. We had made reservations with a placed called Hotel Sula Sula before we left the US. We were so unimpressed with Hotel Sula Sula we decied to look on the island for other places to stay. We stumbled upon The Dolphin House. The Dolphin House was not advertised online until my wife and I asked Trip Advisor to add it. I am glad they added it!

More on the property.

The Dolphin House is on the beach. 9 Units Total with total accomodation of 23 persons. 2 Triple Rooms (three beds) 3 Doubles (two beds) and 4 Matrimonials (two or 1 bed). We stayed on the top floor in unit 7 (not exactly sure if it was room 7 but pretty sure). The unit is beside the "roof top patio" which had a lovely view of the ocean with chairs to sit and enjoy the view. You can see in the photos that room 7 looks out onto the patio from the windows in the room.

The unit is quiet, with lovely ocean sounds emanating day and night. My wife and I fell asleep to the ocean sounds every night. This cannot be said for our other hotel experience on Isabela which had us falling asleep (if we could) to dogs barking, vehicle noises, wind making the windows rattle, bed sheets too small for the bed, etc.

The unit is very clean and cleaned daily by the Hotel owners.

The owners do not speak English. We did not speak spanish very well. I can somewhat undestand basic spanish when it is spoken to me... I utilized a iPhone app to communicate with the owners about my need for a room, asked quesitons about the price, asked to see the room etc. I was able to get the room for $40.00 per night. This is what we were paying at the Hotel we did not like. So we cancelled the rest of our reservations at our previous hotel for The Dolphin House and only wished we could have stayed at The Dolphin House the entire time!! The owners are so very nice and kind. I could tell the owners cared about us and wanted our stay to be special. I which we could have communicated with them more. We said Muchas Gracias as much as possible! This review is our way of saying thank you to them.

Amenities:
Hot Water All The Time (not just certain times in the day)
Clean / Fresh Towels
Comfortable Bed (at least in Room 7)
Newer Construction (maybe 3-5 years old in 2011?)
A/C with Remote Control all rooms
TV with Remote Control all rooms (but why use it?)
1 Block from main shops / restaurants / plaza
On Beach (One caveat: beach access is possible from the property but you are kinda walking through the owners yard in a way. We chose to walk to the beach from the beach path next to the property and allow the owners to have their privacy. If I could speak more spanish I would have asked if we could walk to the beach on their property... but I would not know how to ask it!)
Refrigerator in each room!! (Cold beer purcahsed cheaply from local stores versus restaurants or bars)
Across the street and to the left there is a place to reserve day trips on the island. They speak English and also have real coffee during the morning and evening. Yes, that is right, real brewed coffee not instant! Being from Seattle, my wife and I were desperate for good coffee. This was as good as we could hope for. They plan excursions to the volcano, diving trips, snorkeling, surfing / body boarding (I think...). A great tour operator... wish I could remember the name.

I am glad The Dolphin House is now known to the world via Trip Advisor. I hope the family running The Dolphin House can have more happy visitors like us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank danicwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank andreamira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maryQ9170RQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Sugiero habitación segundo piso. Tercer piso es bonita vista a la playa solo una habitación, pero ma...
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
3.5 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
577 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#7 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
446 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#4 of 28 in Puerto Villamil
197 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 28 in Puerto Villamil
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Los Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Los Delfines

Address: Av. Antonio Gil y Los Petreles, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador (Formerly The Dolphin House)
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: £37 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa los delfines se encuentra ubicado en el centro d la ciudad a 50 mts de la playa, contamos con 9 habitaciones entre simple, dobles, matrimoniales. Triples, y cuadruple, con baño privado, agua caliente, aire acondicionado, area wifi, muy cerca al hospedaje se encuentran operadoras, restaurantes, micromarket , alquiler de bicicletas y de ser necesario coordinamos los tours, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Los Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Los Delfines Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing