We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest owner and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Los Delfines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Los Delfines
IL, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendliest owner and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The building is right on the beach and has a big common balcony overseeing the ocean 180deg. The rooms and facilities are good to great, considering how remote this location is. The owner/manager genuinely cares about the visitor and helps to figure out what to do during the stay. He called tour operators for us, explained everything, chased down the availabilities. Value is through the roof.

Room Tip: Balcony room on 3rd floor should be prime location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    20
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
18
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Good value for money! Hotel room with oceanen view for small budget.lady if the house is very kind.the hotel is not in lonely planet,but just view meters ahead from the sierra negra hotel,so close to city central plaza.enjoy!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank keideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
180 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The location of The Dolphin House is excellent - directly on the beach and just a block from the center of town. Unfortunately, only a few of the rooms actually face the ocean. However, there is a large rooftop terrace for guest use, that while generally unfurnished - save for a few plastic chairs - provides stunning views.

My ocean-view room was spartan and plain and clean - though wrestling with a - probably unavoidable - odor of mildew. A bare bulb in the center of the ceiling was the only light source - and glaring when lit. Furniture consisted of a very-very-hard full size bed, a twin bed, a small old (antenna) television, and a small refrigerator. Sheets and towels were mix-and-match and felt rather hand-me-down - almost ready for the rag-pile. The hot water was fine - but there's a trick to getting it. A red "x" will mark one of the faucets. Run that faucet for about 5 minutes and you'll get hot water.

It's good to know your Spanish, because no one on the property speaks English. Which is okay - it is a Spanish speaking country. Just stating this because without a basic knowledge of Spanish, or some good sign language, you're not going to get much help from the staff.

The people running the hotel are accommodating, but a touch impersonal. The common - lobby area - can be a little intimidating at first - during my stay it was often occupied by teenagers hanging out - laptops and music and smart phones ablaze. Nothing bad - just a disconcerting vibe.

Wifi was non-existent in the room during my stay. However, a general wifi was available on the porch - where it was nice to sit with a beer - and in the common area.

As long as you're prepared for what you're going to get, this is a safe and clean hotel for a traveler on a tight budget.

Room Tip: There are only a couple rooms with a direct view of the ocean. Ask for #6 on the second floor, or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

we stayed 1 night in a double room with private bathroom

+ well situated close to the beach and center
+ free and reliable wifi
+ did not charge for one our late check out

what could be improved in our view:
- cleanliness: it was not dirty, but not clean neither
- lower the price
- make sure the door is open if you expect guests who arrive early
- put a nice lounge on your terrace with a fantastic view

our conclusion: okay place to stay, but not really could value for money

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisscouple1983-rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel in august 2011 with 3 friends. We slept together in a room with private bathroom. The room was very neat and quite spacious. The bathroom was alright too. We didn't see a lot of visitors during our stay, neither did we see the owners a lot. But we stayed 4 nights and it was perfect. Good beds, good location (central), and a great roof terrace with superb view...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NelVerbeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a short three nights and loved every minute of it. Just down road from main square about a km from port.

The good:
Location - right on the beach. Awesome. Close enough to restaurants but far enough away not to here associated noises.
Rooms - big and airy but with ac. Try to get no. 7 the seal room.
Patio - overlooking the beach this is huge. Great to enjoy a drink or two while watching the sunset. Never get sick of that!
Staff - friendly and amiable. Only speaks Spanish but saw some English-only speakers get a good deal for a room still.
Value - some other place on the beach are nicer and more modern but you will never get it at the price of dolphin house. Just down road from casita de la playa which after much negotiation is still double the price.

The bad:
Roosters next door. First nights sleep was cut short due to these guys. Then got used to them and was able to sleep in til after 9am on third night! Who knows they maybe on the restaurants menu by some stage!

The ugly:
Nothing ugly here. Gorgeous location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I was lucky enough to travel with friends who were very familiar with Isla Isabela in the Galapagos. The Dolphin Hotel in Puerto Villamil is always their choice and with good reason - great owners and service staff; very clean and very affordable; and right on the beach. The hotel is located a little over a mile from ocean entry dock and the Concha del Perla, a gorgeous snorkeling cove and estuary. A dollar taxi ride will get you there quicker than walking, although hoofing it there, and around the whole town, is doable. Using the tour agencies close to the hotel, we scheduled day excursions which included Las Tintoreras, Los Tuneles, Tortuga Island, and much more. After a day of amazing landscape views and incredible sea and wildlife encounters, we'd return to the hotel and would have our choice of many restaurants within walking distance - but mostly we ate at Aloha Betsy's, which was 3 doors down, and Betsy always cooked up some great local meals. There were also visits to Bar de Beto, which is a brief walk on the beach that ended with a few cold beers and unbelievable ocean sunsets. The inexpensive laundry service next door came in handy also as we prepared to come home - and with clean clothes no less! The Galapagos is a once-in-a-lifetime experience and The Dolphin Hotel made it a very comfortable and enjoyable one. Thank you Manuko!

Room Tip: The hotel has wi-fi but with a very limited range. It can be picked up near the very front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Time4Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
3.5 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 24 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.5 mi away
Drake Inn
Drake Inn
#1 of 22 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Isabela Beach House
The Isabela Beach House
#7 of 29 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Los Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Los Delfines

Property: Casa Los Delfines
Address: Av. Antonio Gil y Los Petreles, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador (Formerly The Dolphin House)
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Los Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Los Delfines Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing