We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, dear.”
Review of Hotel Albemarle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Albemarle
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had read the reviews, especially the poor ones. Our tour company set this one up for us so we were wary. The first room the air conditioner didn't work, no tv which wasn't a big deal but, and there were no amenities in the room at all, like they had just put us into a room someone had just left. I complained about the lack of air flow, and she said just leave the door open. Right. Leave it open on the main dirt road in from the of the hotel. I'm sure I'd sleep good that night! Unacceptable so she reluctantly showed me another room where the air worked, tv, and had all the amenities. Another world until I realized it was close to a rather unique run down bar. Fortunately, the bars closed early. Happy ending. Just a rather sad old hotel. But it was close to the beach. Again, poor hot water and shower.

And what's with no shower doors in these hotels so the water sprays everywhere? Wow, that was weird.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the first floor rooms facing the dirt road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ata_Homa_Ina_Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAlbemarle, Owner at Hotel Albemarle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

The Albemarle Hotel is now under new management. The issues you raise have now been resolved. The Albemarle hotel has improved significantly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Far from being a perfect place to stay, I do think that it's a good option, considering the place and the price. I had a bad experience with the availability of our room, but even so, I think that I would return to this hotel. The room was very nice, big and clean, the little pool was old and dirty and the breakfast was the one you would find in most of the hotels at Galapagos.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The location of the Abermarle is perfect, literally right on the beach. We had 2 ocean front rooms with an adjoining balcony and the views were from a postcard. You can literally step out the front door and be on the beach. Shops, rentals, restaurants are all around the corner. While we aren't very picky travelers, some other aspects of the hotel we found challenging. There was only hot (lukewarm) water the 1st day of our 4 day stay. After my 1st inquiry, the woman at the desk attributed it to a large group that just left. The next day's answer was a water heater that broke and the replacement that came on the boat was the wrong one so it was temporarily replaced with a much smaller one. OK - the island is 600 miles from the mainland and they don't exactly have a water heater factory in the Galapagos so I can accept that. But this smaller one didn't seem to work and when we left, it still wasn't fixed. Well if I couldn't warm up with a hot shower, I thought of a hot beverage. The 24 hour complementary "hot" tea/coffee, was almost as cool as the shower. The same woman at the desk said that there was something wrong with the urn and she didn't know why it wasn't heating. Speaking of the desk, there was rarely someone there, even in the middle of the day. The sheets had an odor to them, towels weren't changed or even re-folded on the rack. Very basic room. The t.v. worked but only 1 fuzzy station. (ok - I'm not in the Galapagos to watch t.v.), in room DVD player displayed "no disc found" for every movie we tried, a spot in the shower on the wall for shampoo/soap but no dispensers. After inquiring, we were given a few individually wrapped mini slices of soap (perhaps glycerine soap since it didn't lather), no shower curtain, no toilet paper holder, no mirror aside from the one over the sink in the bathroom, a 1 foot step up into the bathroom. Absolutely no bugs as other reviewers mentioned. The noise at night and early morning was a bit much. Some naval building is next door with a late night d.j. which drowned out the nice sounds of the ocean crashing against the shore outside the window. A house behind the hotel has a rooster that didn't wait until dawn to start singing. Breakfast was minimal but enough to get you going for the day. The 2 members of the staff that we did meet when the desk was manned were always very apologetic and actually so sweet that it was hard getting annoyed. Joseph had a way of making you smile no matter what the situation.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms have an amazing view. Not sure if there are any rooms that are quieter than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I don't understand the poor reviews of this hotel - we had a great stay. It's a wonderful location, right beside the beach. We had a ground floor room, the view is probably better from the upper floor, but the ground floor has doors opening practically onto the beach. There were no ants, no noise (maybe the bar has moved, or isn't open in July?) and the breakfast was very nice. The staff were very helpful, arranging breakfast when we arrived on an early flight, and co-ordinating with tour guides, making recommendations etc. The Wifi was good, though the signal was clearer in the public areas than our room, and it went down one day (no problem, the Galapagos is isolated!). The bathrooms look great, very modern, but I'm not a huge fan of the "wet room" layout because you tend to get just that after a shower - a very wet room. The water is hot and the shower pressure good. The pool is small, mostly for kids, but who needs it with a beach outside? My only criticism was that we couldn't tell how to contact someone in case of emergency when the reception was unmanned late at night (though we may have missed directions on check-in). Overall very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Beachside, beautiful view and sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripAway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. The rooms with sea view are spectacular. For this reason deserves 5 stars. Left us perplexed and neglect service of staff, breakfast was basic and careless.
Altogether a good solution if you don't have too many expectations.
Marco

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank w4lls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our family stayed at Hotel Albemarle from 2 May - 6 May. We had two ocean-view rooms, with an adjoining balcony (fantastic view). The rooms were spacious and was kept clean on a daily basis. There's purified drinking water in each room and when you run out, they refill. The king bed wasn't too bad, but the pillows were super thin. I also feel they can add a blanket to each room in case it gets cold at night, which happened in my case.
The pool area is somewhat small, but cozy and some areas under shade, which my daughter really enjoyed after a hot day at the beach.
The breakfast was..... not good!
The location of the hotel was really great and this is probably the highlight of staying at this hotel. A few steps away from a lovely beach, where you can also find shelter under palm trees. It's within walking distance (2 - 5 minutes) to the dive center, restaurants, bike rentals, tour operators and a small shop (where you can buy some ice-cream's etc..).

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jolanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my 4 day stay at Albemarle. A beautiful hotel in a location that is as close to perfect as you could wish for! The view from the room was to die for, and falling out of bed on to the beach every morning was just amazing! It's impossible not to feel relaxed in this place, the hotel is owned by a lovely family, and consequently has a very family feel to it, which I much prefer to some of the cold, corporate places you can find at this end of the market. Certainly wasn't expecting the owner of a Galapagos hotel to be English(!), so that was a nice surprise, and Max was really helpful in sorting things out for us like trips, transport etc, which was a huge relief given that my Spanish isn't exactly up to scratch! Food was great - tasty breakfasts in the mornings, and room was perfectly comfortable - comfy bed, decent bathroom, shower etc and extremely effective air conditioning which was very welcome after a hot day out!! Can't really understand some of the negative reviews I've seen on here - can only assume these people were somewhat high maintenance!! For me it was a lovely holiday, super relaxed, away from the real world, no stress, no fuss. Perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have the best view - simply amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonnyW84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.4 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#8 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casita de la Playa
Casita de la Playa
#3 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albemarle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albemarle

Address: Las Fragatas Street and Los Jieles Avenue, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: £134 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albemarle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albemarle Hotel, spectacularly set right on Cuna del Sol Beach, is a Mediterranean-inspired house featuring a beautiful garden with swimming pool. Each of the large rooms has tiled floors, wood-beamed ceilings, a luxurious, marble-accented private bathroom and either sea or pool view. Other amenities include air conditioning, TV and free WiFi. The in-house tour desk can make your travel arrangements around Isabela and other Galapagos islands. The Albemarle Hotel has an excellent location in the heart of Puerto Villamil, a two-hour boat trip from Santa Cruz Island and three kilometers from General Villamil Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Albemarle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albemarle Hotel Isabela
Hotel Albemarle Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing