We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location in Galapagos paradise”
Review of Hotel Albemarle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Albemarle
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel has the benefit of being right opposite the beach across a sandy 'road', there are palm trees all around and the location is perfect. The square with restaurants is just behind the hotel. Bring lots of cash with you as there are no ATMs on the island and no banks. Only two restaurants take credit cards.

The hotel has a small pool which fortunately doesn't get too much sun as it was very hot while we were there and the shade was welcome. The rooms have high ceilings and excellent air conditioning. The beds are a little hard, but still comfy. We found the buffet breakfast to be ideal and they cook eggs to order. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The only small complaint, as others have mentioned, is the noise from both the cockerel and the football pitch next door. One kept us awake at night, the other woke us up in the morning. Saying that though, when you're in paradise the last thing you want to do is sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissBriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Thank goodness for this hotel! It salvaged our time on Isabela. Before arriving, we had already organized lodging for the week. Unfortunately, that initial hotel was subpar…we had to leave after the first night.

Walking around the dirt roads of Puerto Villamil, we wandered in to Hotel Albemarle. We had not expectations of getting an affordable room, but we were wonderfully surprised. The manager offered an incredible discount because we planned to stay several nights. While still twice the cost of our initial room, we accepted the offer.

We stayed for just $80/ in a room that is listed on their website at $195. It was on the second floor, ocean front! This also included a divine breakfast of eggs, croissants, coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice (the best I've ever had)!

The lodging was large, clean, and comfortable. The staff was unbelievably helpful, booking each of our excursions! My fiancé and I loved our stay in Hotel Albemarle!

Just a tip, if you travel in the off season, just show up! Maybe then, you'll get a discounted room!

Room Tip: Avoid the rear of the hotel. It's closer to the road, and a rooster that seems to wake up aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I will agree that it seems that new management has taken over the hotel and I found all the front desk staff cheerful and helpful (and spoke good English). I would rate their helpfulness at 5 stars. My big issue was with my room. I had paid extra to upgrade to a beachfront room but got a room on the second floor with a partial view of the beach but mostly a view of the soccer field next door. I was assured initially that they only played a few hours a day - but they played from around 5-10 or 11 pm every night (the field was lit). So you could not open the balcony door due to the noise and that fact that everyone on the soccer field could see into the room. Also this room had no TV and no where to hang clothes (there was a large dresser but no closet). The AC unit was above the large dresser and the remote had trouble sending a signal to it since it was in a corner. Also the hotel pictures showed rooms with a large bathroom and double vanities (for the beachfront rooms) but mine had a single little vanity in a small bathroom. When the housecleaners were cleaning some of the other beachfront rooms (when the guests had checked out) - I took a peek in those and they seemed much nicer than my room). It seemed like this was an area being made into a new room - but it seemed very wrong to charge a premium for it when it had so many flaws. The pool was also drained when I was there and wifi was only near reception - not in the rooms. If you stay in one of the large beachfront rooms that overlook the beach - it might be worth paying for the upgrade - but be careful as to what is considered a beachfront room.

Room Tip: make sure you check the room before agreeing to pay a premium for a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trav3lG1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were fortunate to have ocean front room. Being able to sleep with the balcony open and hear the ocean all night is an amazing experience. The room was great. Caroline who picked us up from the airport was informative and very helpful. You are in walking distance of all of the restaurants and the beach is in front of you.

The only negative was the WI-Fi wasn't the best.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dapperdanarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

So....first is you must be upstairs in this place. If you are downstairs you are literally on the road (which is sand in front of the beach) or you are walking into the very crowded area that breakfast is served from your front door.

The pool was empty when we arrived and obviously had been for some time and no intention of filling it. The answer we got was that they were having trouble keeping the pool clean with the leaves from the trees. Being a pool owner this seemed pretty lame.

The breakfast was the poorest we had on the trip - that's not to say it was bad - it was satisfying but not great. The one challenge is that if everyone in the hotel (say 15 rooms total) all have an early departure they can't deal with everyone needing to eat at once - "uh, can we have a plate?", "uh, can we have a bowl?", "uh can you set another place at the table for us to eat?", "uh, the eggs, fruit, and bread platters are all empty can you cook some more?" - woefully unprepared for the days when everyone wants to eat at 7am. One day we were the only ones eating at 8:30 and things were fine.

The room we had was spacious as was the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and we had good space for our luggage and a safe. Our biggest issue was the doors to the balcony. They were the odd set of doors in the whole place - plate glass - the other rooms have wood trimmed doors with multiple window panes and shut tight. Our room had these plate glass doors that neither would stay open for the breeze nor did they seal shut when closed. All the way around the outside of the doors I could insert my finger to the outside when they were closed - that meant that there was a huge air leak! The A/C could never cool enough to counter that leak. That wasn't a problem the 1st night when it was cool outside, the 2nd night we noticed it a bit as it was a bit warmer outside, but the 3rd night was really warm and especially humid and we didn't sleep because we were too hot and couldn't get cool.

The other posts about the TV not working were consistent with our experience as well. They did have a pitcher for water in the room and water coolers available for filling our bottles but we had to asked the coolers to be replaced twice as they were empty. We had no wifi connectivity the entire time we were here. The desk told us that it was a provider problem affecting the whole island, but we talked to others at other places and they only had the problem for a brief period not 3 days!

It is in a great location with a great view of the beach - it definitely has that working for it and staff that are English proficient which is helpful. They just need to make some tweaks to make the experience more comfortable.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank windsurfer5230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAlbemarle, Manager at Hotel Albemarle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear windsurfer5230

Many thanks for you for your review & comments, they are very helpful for impoving our services and facilities.

Regarding your comments about the empty pool, unfortunately this was due to the heavy rains which caused inconveniences with the purity of the water in the pool and did not allow us to offer this service, as the pool water turned yellow inmediately.

Due to the isolation of the Islands, the Internet service is very unstable. Unfortunately our Internet provider did not fix the problem as soon as would have wished for, and you are right that other places had Internet sooner than us since they have less simultaneous connections than the hotel.

Breakfast is served from 7:00- 9:00 A.M. as published at the front desk. We understand it might be crowded at some certain days when guests are having breakfast at the same time. Please consider the difficulty to hire qualified personnel in Galapagos due to strict National Park regulations and laws.

Regarding the other issues you mentioned in your review we are pleased to inform you that we have taken actions and they are now being solved.
We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us.

Once again, we are very thankful for your review.

Kind regards,

Administration
Hotel Albemarle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Walking distance to the beach, about 100 feet. Great staff and management always very attendant. Internet works ok, hey but you are in the Galapagos. Good food in the morning and many great restaurants feet's from you. Many local cuisines at very low prices. The Hotel accepts credit cards but not all establishments will. Cash is a must on this island or pay a charge fee from 10-20%. If you like to sleep with the sound of the waves this is the place.

Room Tip: No gym so I can't rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edsantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night, with two kids and we paid for a triple with a double bed a really good price considering the size of the room and the amenities. We stated in puerto Ayora on a not that nice hotel paying twice as much. I booked by phone a couple of days before and the staff was really warm an flexible. They organized for us the Tintoreras tour and the Sierra negra walk, that by the way were both fantastic. The room was huge but cosy and the bathroom really great, specially the shower. It is hard to find in Galapagos a good water pressure and stable temperature. We were surprised by how good the good breakfast was. Special thanks to Jessica and Linka for looking after us an taking care of every detail.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Dabenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.4 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#8 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casita de la Playa
Casita de la Playa
#3 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albemarle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albemarle

Address: Las Fragatas Street and Los Jieles Avenue, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: £135 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albemarle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albemarle Hotel, spectacularly set right on Cuna del Sol Beach, is a Mediterranean-inspired house featuring a beautiful garden with swimming pool. Each of the large rooms has tiled floors, wood-beamed ceilings, a luxurious, marble-accented private bathroom and either sea or pool view. Other amenities include air conditioning, TV and free WiFi. The in-house tour desk can make your travel arrangements around Isabela and other Galapagos islands. The Albemarle Hotel has an excellent location in the heart of Puerto Villamil, a two-hour boat trip from Santa Cruz Island and three kilometers from General Villamil Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Albemarle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albemarle Hotel Isabela
Hotel Albemarle Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing