We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnaval, Fiesta in front of Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Albemarle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Albemarle
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Carnaval, Fiesta in front of Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

I optioned to tour the Galapagos land base and I did spend lots of money, Santa Cruz Royal Palm and Isabela Albermarle both Hotels very expensive,
Carnaval y mardi Grass in Spanish, We had DJ in front of our room with the highest volume you could imagine from 10 am to 1 Am next day, we could not rest at all, and next morning we had to hike to Sierra Negra best hike ever, with the hang over of not sleeping with that noise

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jlecao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    51
    15
    13
    12
See reviews for
39
94
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

Isabela is a paradise and Albemarle is a gem that was totally unexpected in such a sleepy remote island. The hotel is small, run by a delightful young couple Max and Diana. Couldn't do enough for us and the quality of the suite we stayed in was superb. Clean, friendly, good food and comfy beds what more could you ask for..... well actually right on a perfect white sand beach, where we saw penguins, iguana's, boobies and frigate birds whilst swimming, near the centre of town, safe, happy chilled people and a great roof terrace with an amazing view!
Isabela has no ATM and so come with cash although this hotel does take CC as do a couple of others but generally cash is the only option. Tours on Isabela are excellent and run to good standards, the volcano, snorkelling at The tunnels and the wall of tears walk all worth while. However the walk is at least 18kms there back and quite a trek, biking would be a great option! The Sea lion bar opposite the hotel does beer for 2.5 dollars and food at The Red Mangove was also excellent. We spent 4 days on a boat and came here for 8 days chill out before our next leg over the Andes. It was perfect.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CazIsleofWightUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2009

Albemarle was our first choice, but they were booked. A lot of tours pass through there. And so we stayed at San Vicente....for one hour... before leaving and wandering around town in search of different accommodations. Luckily for us, Albemarle had a cancellation and we jumped right on it! Throughout our stay, we ran into several groups in our similar situation - unhappy with their cheaper accommodations and looking longingly at the Albemarle.

In addition to being gorgeous, clean, and spacious, the attention to detail was what impressed me most. Complimentary soaps and shampoos of course were the beginning but it was nice that bathrobes and slippers were provided to use in the room (being RIGHT on the beach, we were appreciative of that). We were provided with bath towels, beach towels, purified drinking water (the water purification plant is on site), and cable tv (unnecessary but nice). The shower was big and had no shower curtain so no mildew smell, and there is a retractable line for drying light clothes in the bathroom too...its doesn't hold much weight though. There were no bugs but a few little lizards ran around the premises. Mosquitos aren't a problem for most people but they ALWAYS find me, so if you have sweet blood like in any tropical land bring your repellent.

Additionally, Max, the owner- NOT the manager - was extremely helpful in helping arrange our tour to the Sierra Negra (bring long pants if this excursion interests you). His wife Diana sat at the desk for a few hours during the day she and their kids are a joy to be around.

The restaurant was wonderful for breakfast, which is included in your nightly stay, and is available from 7 -9. Dinner doesn't draw much of a crowd, though I can't see why since the food is amazing. Its more expensive than other dining options, but its also the only place I was able to get veggies with my dish. Its also right around the corner from the town square. Because of our proximity to the other restaurants, the bakery, little shops, the post office, and other things going on in town, we quickly picked up the lay of the land and felt comfortable. Other hotels, were further away from the town square; Casa de Marita for one is a 5 minute walk.

If you stay here, buy your beer in town...across form the post office (around the corner and a block away) is a small store that sells you beer - a big pilsener - for $3..but if you return the bottle to the same place, you'll get $1 back.

At the corner is the police station...not that you'll ever need them - we felt very safe walking around after dark.

A few drawbacks -
Isabela is definitely a daytime kind of place. Everything starts early and there is essentially no nightlife. Albemarle is adding three more rooms (which will bring them to a total of 11) and so one morning we did have to complain about the hour at which construction started. But once we did, they apologized and we were able to catch some Zs before tackling the day.

As another reviewer said, its all or nothing with the ventilation. There are no windows, only doors that let right out onto the "street" which didn't bother us much, but I can see how it may be an inconvenience.

While you CAN, you shouldn't flush anything other than your waste. Even toilet paper should be thrown in a bin.

The front desk isn't ALWAYS occupied. Fine with us, since were a bit less high maintenance, but for those less adventurous, this may be a problem..not just here but on the whole island.



Overall, I think that those who approach a trip to Isabela properly will be extremely pleased with Hotel Albemarle. Be advised that a trip to Isabela is for the active, adventurous, and those who can deal with a little dishevelment. If you can roll with the punches, there's no better place to stay than Isabela in the Galapagos, and Hotel Albemarle is absolutely the best option there.

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank adorenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2008

We were travelling with a 3-yr-old, so having the personal touch of manager Max and his family was wonderful. Our little girls played together, or at least alongside each other.

The food was the big surprise. Awesome! After 10 days on San Cristobal, my wife was particularly tired of the food. Chef Marco created very interesting meals, especially upon learning she is vegetarian.

The view from the rooms is spectacular. The beach begins 20' from your room door. The iguana population is right on the beach. Max arranged a taxi to Floreana that was memorable.

Pricey, especially after having been in Quito for two weeks earlier, but it's a once in a lifetime trip, and we felt it worth the cost for A/C and the comfortable room.

  • Liked — Great food- extremely rare for the island setting
  • Disliked — a tad pricey
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GP38-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
134 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2008

Hotel AbleMarle is Parisio!Our experience was both excellent and memorable. Max and Diana have built a lovely boutique hotel with 8 rooms, soon to be 11 in 2009. The design and interiors of the rooms, restaurant and bar are warm and appealing, The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with a Master Suite offering magnificent ocean views and a long sandy pristine beach. The rooms are very clean, quiet, again, with ample ocean views, including sufficient water due to the internal water system set up by Max.. Listening to the ocean waves as you fell asleep every night was delightful, with fresh cool ocean breezes. Along the beach where you can walk for miles are iquanas, sea lions and various bird species. The back garden is now mature and the main entrance to the hotel welcomes you from the sandy road. One of the major attractions of Isla Isabela is all the roads are sand, allowing you to walk barefoot in the small town. There are strategically placed hammocks on the second floor and a huge sundeck obove the third floor with commanding views, especially for sunset. The restaurant and bar are cozy, offering your morning cappuccino and a selection for breakfast, lunch or dinner. All of the staff at Hotel Ablemarle are very pleasant and it is obvious that they enjoy working there. We found Hotel Albemarle memorable and enchanting. Our best retreat vacation ever. It is a beautiful, relaxing retreat in paradise. Can’t wait to go back!

  • Liked — Magnificient
  • Disliked — Nothing, it is fabulous!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
367 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2008

Beautiful hotel right on the beach in a fantastic location. The room was fantastic with an amazing bathroom. The view was stunning. The food was memorable and all the staff very helpful. A lovely place to stay and Isabella itself is an incredible place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

The Albemarle Hotel is clearly the best choice for accommodations on Isabela Island in the Galapagos. The hotel has the best view in Isabela ... and if that's not enough, it is very clean, comfortable (hot water and air conditioning) and well run. From what I saw while walking around the town, the was far and away the nicest hotel in Puerto Villamil.

The rooms are very modern with tile floors, comfortable beds, adjustable air conditioning, cable-TV and full-sized glass doors that open up onto a small patio overlooking a white sandy beach. Max took care of booking our daily tours and provided us with a lot of information about the island. The daily breakfast was served by Louis who was a very personable young man who was patient with those of us who don't speak much Spanish!

The only downsides (and these are pretty minor) is that it's impossible to not track sand into the hotel and into the rooms. All of the streets in town are made of sand ... and there's no way to clean off before going into the hotel. We always piled up our shoes at the door to reduce the amount of sand in the rooms ... but that proved to be very difficult. However, the rooms were cleaned immaculately each day by the staff. Also, the "courtyard" on the backside of the hotel overlooks an older dwelling that is used by the staff. This dwelling is consistent with some of the other buildings in town but is mismatched next to the charm of the Albemarle. The courtyard is also still a work in progress as it seems quite overgrown and in disrepair - but there was some work being done to clean it up a bit during our stay. Finally, one of our rooms was the suite, which was very nice, but the whirlpool tub (which we had hoped to use regularly) was broken and apparently not repairable without a total replacement.

  • Liked — Wonderful location and clean, modern accommodations
  • Disliked — courtyard/staff dwelling behind the hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rca19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.2 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#7 of 10 in Isabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 23 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casita de la Playa
Casita de la Playa
#2 of 23 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albemarle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albemarle

Property: Hotel Albemarle
Address: Las Fragatas Street and Los Jieles Avenue, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albemarle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albemarle Hotel, spectacularly set right on Cuna del Sol Beach, is a Mediterranean-inspired house featuring a beautiful garden with swimming pool. Each of the large rooms has tiled floors, wood-beamed ceilings, a luxurious, marble-accented private bathroom and either sea or pool view. Other amenities include air conditioning, TV and free WiFi. The in-house tour desk can make your travel arrangements around Isabela and other Galapagos islands. The Albemarle Hotel has an excellent location in the heart of Puerto Villamil, a two-hour boat trip from Santa Cruz Island and three kilometers from General Villamil Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Albemarle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albemarle Hotel Isabela
Hotel Albemarle Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing