We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home”
Review of La Casa de Marita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Casa de Marita
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Lucca, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Feeling at home”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Pleasant hotel in front of a beautiful beach. The rooms are nice with a colorful furniture, in particular the suites in front of the beach are wonderful. The hall of the hotel is very welcoming and seems like a sort of living room, where you can read a book from the library, relax on hammocks or going just outside and take a walk on the beach. The staff is very kind and helpful, in particular the owners are very friendly.
This place gives a sensation to be at home though in an island at the end of the world.
I recommend this hotel in particular for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magistef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Manager at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Guest.-

Thank you very much for your comment .it is always rewarding to know that our guests have had a wonderful experience.
Your coments help us to improve our service.

Kind regards
Marita Zecchettin.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    117
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
130
205
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Warmly welcomed! We had an amazing view from our balcony overlooking a postcard like beach....the water and sand total perfection, lots of birds around. Our room was very large....nothing fancy but served its purpose: we were rarely there. Only negatives were our bathroom was dirty (actual mound of dirt in shower) and many things in the bathroom were broken, including tiles, etc. We ate at the hotel occasionally and it was poor. A very short walk into the town offered lots of good restaurant choices and even a couple little places to buy drinks to take back to the room (room had fridge). The host at the hotel is absolutely lovely and its a great spot! We will stay here again, but book it ourselves next time as we had some issues with pick up and meeting with the tour company we hired, Galapagos Alternative.

You will enjoy Isabela!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountryGirlCanada7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My husband, 15 year old son and I just returned from having spend 8 days on Isabela just between Christmas and New Years. Although we did not stay at Casa de Marita over New Years, (they were regrettably full), we did enjoy their sumptuous New Years Eve Banquet. Maria and her Italian husband were excellent hosts. The food was fabulous and the service outstanding. They are ocean front with a location to die for. Although we did not get to see the rooms, I would stay there in a heartbeat. They have the best location, terrific food, wonderful caring host and hostess and very reasonable prices. The garden is beautiful, the decorations very tasteful-I cannot imagine anyone being disappointed. Our family was very sad that we could not have spent our entire Isabela holiday at Casa de Marita.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carefree-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Manager at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for your comment, it s important to us to improve our service. We also
are so grateful to know that you enjoyed with us. We will hope in a next time you can stay with us
Best regards

Marita Zecchettin.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This was a very amazing hotel. I had a great time. The people who work there are lovely and nice and do everything very well. I'm looking forward to come again. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgaogester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
We are so happy to know that you got a great time with us.
Thank you for choosing us, your comments help us to get better in the future.
Marita Zecchettin.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Wa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed in the Mediterranean Suite (one of their best rooms) and absolutely loved it. It is on the third floor with a huge private deck overlooking the beach. The room has a kitchenette with refrigerator. The provided robes were a nice touch. Marita and her staff were very welcoming and helpful. When Marita found out I was having some GI issues, she had her staff bring me a pot of "special tea" which did help to ease my upset stomach. Wifi worked pretty well. We had our own private entrance to the restaurant which was quite convenient. We enjoyed the breakfasts which included eggs, fruit, granola, bread, and fresh juice and coffee. The location was very convenient to the town and the dock. Isabella is definitely much quieter and less touristy than Puerto Ayora. Do not miss snorkeling at Concha de Perla where we got to swim with sea lions, sea turtles, and iguanas which was a totally magical experience

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My sister and I stayed here through a tour with Via Natura. The location was great, right on the beach, the water was a little rough, so we didn't go in, but having our door open at night to the ocean was really nice. The restaurants were very close as well. I have to say that our service in the restaurant was extremely slow, I think we waited an hour for one of meals for supper. Also, we were there at the same time as a large group from Germany who, I feel, did not think any one else was in the hotel, so the staff may have fallen into there trap. The front service, however, was very good, and the breakfasts had many options. There is a bar service at night as well, which was nice. As this island is newer to the tourist thing, there were not many stores. Our room was located next to the kitchen, so it did get rather loud at times, so if you want something quieter, I would ask to be as far away from the kitchen as possible. I should also mention that there is a bit of an ant problem, we did find them everywhere, but for us, it wasn't really a big problem. Overall, I loved our room, and the hotel staff, and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jho13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Some people do moan on these reviews so here is my honest review; Location - beautiful; on the beach - we had a little sealion play in the sea with us yards from our room (it played with us not the other way round - you should never touch/approach the wildlife!), marine iguanas on the rocks, it's 5 minutes from town and a 5 minute walk from the port. Service is good, food was good. Room was spacious. I did get the feeling that they were trying to fill the role of a fancy hotel when it would really work better as a boutique B&B but it still worked. Room was clean and fresh - we were in Blanca. Not a great wifi signal in the room; maybe because there it was not in the main building. Also remember to take plenty of cash to the island as we found no way of getting more the weekend we were there and although we could pay the room on a creditcard we had to ration ourselves with meals etc elsewhere! Not the hotel's fault though. Overall very nice a worth visiting the island to compare with the more bustling Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Only saw Blanca and was nice although I suspect the rooms slightly higher with the private balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlie_hobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.6 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#7 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#4 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Marita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Marita

Property: La Casa de Marita
Address: Conocarpus S/N, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Marita 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marita’s house is a first class hotel in which you can enjoy the natural charms of Isabela Island, because it is located on the white sands of Puerto Villamil, offering an incomparable view of the colorful beaches of Galapagos Islands. Marita’s house combines harmonically the standards of the best quality hotels with a cozy familiar, hospitality to offer a pleasant and comfortable stay. Quality and warmth characterizes the services of lodging, restaurant and recreation that Marita’s house offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Casa de Marita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Marita Hotel Puerto Villamil
La Casa De Marita Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing