We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming place with warm and helpful staff”
Review of La Casa de Marita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa de Marita
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2013

A friend and I just returned from a 7 day trip to The Galapagos - 3 nights on Santa Cruz and 3 on Isabela. This was our 'home away from home' on Isabela and we enjoyed our stay very much. We had a top floor room with a view of the beach - slightly obstructed by palm trees - and with a large patio. When we arrived we were greeted by Marita who gave us a short history of how the Casa came to be. Then she showed us to our room. We passed other guest lounging in the white hammocks on the deck area and people relaxing on the chaise lounges. We were soon on lounges ourselves and sharing a large beer. Our room was large, comfortable and very pleasant as well as clean. The beds were harder than I am used to, but I had three good sleeps so no complaints. We enjoyed having the use of robes, and helped ourselves from the mini-bar when we learned that they charge the same for items from there as they do at the regular bar. Towels were available for use at the beach and for outings/tours. And what a treat to be able to walk out of the hotel and onto a beautiful clean beach with sand like icing sugar! Overall our stay was great. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuckcanuck27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guests:

Make you feel at home is part of our mission and make your stay enjoyable is our job, that’s why we are really glad to know your days in here were good!! Definitely it’ll be a real pleasure to have you here again; we’ll be waiting for you.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

We spent two nights at Casa Marita during a three day tour from Santa Cruz to Isla Isabela. We went to Isabela as part of a package and upgraded to this hotel. Are very glad we did and wished we could have stayed longer and really hope to return. The beach just outside the hotel is beautiful. Our room was pleasant the bed very comfortable with good quality linens. Our only complaint was a cold water shower which was fixed on our last morning. Our fault should have brought it to the hotels attention earlier. Breakfast is provided and was very good, a buffet selection of fruit salad, cereal, toast, yogurt, eggs and great coffee. The only other meal we had at the hotel was lunch. My husband had chicken soup, rated good and I had chicken Caesar salad, not recommended, an improvised version of Caesar salad and over priced.
The hotel staff are very accommodating.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main hotel with an ocean view, well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRIPOPOTOMIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guests:

We are very glad to hear that you would like to come back to our home. It is very important for us your motivating words, to keep performing our job, the way that we do. But most important, is the feedback that we can receive, and that we can use to improve our service. We will explain to our customers our local recipe on the Cesar Salad, so this will match your expectations.

We will be happy to see you once again.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This was our third choice hotel and even with that, we had to stay across the street in the hotel's annex...Beware! I get that I'm on an island that has no water, no paved roads and no services but when I'm paying for a room, I do expect it to look clean, have a closet, warm water; (forget about hot), have fresh bedding and some attempt at decor and no bugs! I guess my list was too long for this establishment. On the plus side, the main lodge is welcoming and the courtyard has character, the staff is helpful, and the beach is ok. The cleaners changed our towels and tried to clean but they can't erase the overall lack of attention and disrepair to the facilities. We had two rooms with furniture that one couldn't give away at a garage sale, there was no place to hang anything and we enjoyed the bugs crawling up the walls which was to be remedied by a "plug-in" contraption. The floor might have been more comfortable than the beds. We had to use a small tree outside one room to hang wet clothes. The bugs must have followed us to the breakfast buffet, because they were on the table there, too. The showers only offered a few minutes of warm before the cold water hit...We tried to have dinner upon arrival at the hotel but they couldn't seem to find a table for us in the empty restaurant so we walked to "town" and ate there every night, which was totally fine with us. We tried to leave early and our agent contacted the owner who refused to offer a refund for our last night. There is a lot to see on Isabela, but not so many choices hotel choices here, so if you can't get a room at Iguana Crossing or Isabela Lodge; come back when you can or save yourself some money and pitch a tent!

Room Tip: Don't take a room in the room in the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Guest:

We sincerely appreciate your feedback that helps us to improve our service. For your interest on writing at our hotel, hereby I would like to answer you.

1) The room that you were in, was assigned in agreement with the tour agency
2) I regret the problem with the hot water, that we recently find out. That is the reason we could not solve it during your stay
3) About the towels and the cleanness inconvenient, I’m surprise. I will take it on consideration to improve on the matter.
4) Regarding the clotheslines problem, we could solve it. You could use the ones by the laundry area. We will see to arrange public clotheslines.
5) I am very sorry that you could not eat at our Restaurant, but like we said at our briefing, we recommend making the reservation in advance, so we could avoid the last moment inconvenient.
We honestly regret the drawbacks during your stay, but we value much your opinion, this will help us to get better.


Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We were on a 10 day Galapagos trip through ROW adventures. This is a quaint well maintained hotel with beach front views on a secluded cove in Isabella Island. The staff is friendly, the hotel is very clean and well kept. The dinners and breakfast buffet is excellent and fresh and local. 2 thumbs up!

Room Tip: ask for the white or green rooms for beach front views. The colonial room or the lilac rooms are mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latinforthames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear Guest:

We were glad to have you here at our house. Is very gratifying to know that our staff and installations are appreciated. We will keep working to maintain and improve our quality.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel Nov 2nd - 5th 2012 after an 8 day Galapagos Cruise.

We booked it ourselves from Vancouver through Trip Advisor and they were very responsive to our inquiries and got back to us right away about booking our room. We paid by Money Gram and it was pretty easy.

At the hotel we were greeted with cookies and a very helpful staff.

Our room had two floors, a patio outside the upstairs bedroom and a common patio area outside the lower floor.

It was very quiet despite a wedding party also staying there over the weekend.

We slept one night with the air conditioning on, the other two nights with the patio door open listening to the ocean waves outside.

We had breakfast at the hotel, it was enough food for our low activity days. Eggs, fruit, cereal, coffee.

The people were very helpful despite the fact they forgot our 5:30am wakeup call to catch the boat to Santa Cruz on Monday.

Room Tip: Our room was right on the beach with two floors. very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharonbader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Greetings Sharon and Lee:

We are glad to hear again from you. Thank you very much for your positive comments. Also we are very thankful for your understanding during your stay. We will keep working to improve our performance and find the top quality we want to offer to all our guests.
Let us give both a huge apologize for the mistake on your wake up call, we will not permit that this will happen again.

We cordially invite you once again to enjoy a pleasant stay,

Marita Zecchettin,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Casa Marita is a very special place. I have stayed in the hotel with a friend after a three weeks tour in Ecuador and upon our arrival, we immediately noticed how different the place is from the rest of the hotels we stayed at. We have been welcomed with a fresh juice and by an extremely professional staff members that explained in detail everything we needed to know --from the hotel amenities to the excursion possibilities. The hotel itself is an ensamble of tastefully decorated smaller buildings clustered around a small courtyard with palm trees and the main building is located on the beach front.
rather unconventionally, since normally we headed outside of our hotel for food, we have made use of the hotel restaurant which has stunning views to the beach and excellent food. The breakfast is fresh, tasty and there is a great choice with some variation day by day.
It is always going to be difficult to find the perfect hotel and the perfect stay, Casa Marita gets really close to the ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellepiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Guest:

We are so glad to find lovingly filled comments; we always try to make your stay enjoyable and that you feel like home.
We hope you come back to our paradise

Greetings,
Marita Zecchettin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay here. We had the Verde room. It has two levels, with a balcony facing the beach. Kept the door open on the balcony at night to hear the ocean. The room had nice linens, bathrobes, hair dryer, etc. It was very clean.

The breakfast was outstanding -- the best we had during our trip. So many choices! We also ate one lunch and one dinner there. Very good food.

The location is convenient to the beach, bars, restaurants, etc.

The staff was very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank EugeneChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Eugene Christine:

For all of us it is very gratifying to know that our service and facilities are so well appreciated. These are the opinions that motivate us to continue striving for excellence. Let us perform a new invitation to our house.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.6 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#21 of 25 in Santa Cruz
44 reviews
0 mi away
Brisas del Mar
Brisas del Mar
#10 of 10 in Isabela
32 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Marita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Marita

Address: Conocarpus S/N, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: £98 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Marita 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marita’s house is a first class hotel in which you can enjoy the natural charms of Isabela Island, because it is located on the white sands of Puerto Villamil, offering an incomparable view of the colorful beaches of Galapagos Islands. Marita’s house combines harmonically the standards of the best quality hotels with a cozy familiar, hospitality to offer a pleasant and comfortable stay. Quality and warmth characterizes the services of lodging, restaurant and recreation that Marita’s house offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your La Casa de Marita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Marita Hotel Puerto Villamil
La Casa De Marita Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing