We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a room with a view”
Review of La Casa de Marita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa de Marita
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights (would have been 3 if a room with a view had been available) and I would recommend a room with a view. We had a private balcony with a wonderful view of the beach. As someone else mentioned - very nice at sunset.

However, we had a tour of the other rooms on the property to see if we wanted to stay an extra night and we declined because for the money it didn't seem worth it to change rooms, stay in the annex across the way in a much smaller room, no view, barely any windows. It was also not as clean as we would have liked but you can't beat the location. It sits right on the beach - a walkable distance to the docks and Concha y Perla - a fabulous place to swim with sea turtles.

The decor is very eclectic from the bright paint colors to the choice in artwork. While we were very comfortable in our suite, it did seem that the furniture and artwork had not been updated in years.

One night we had dinner at our friends' hotel down the beach - Iguana Crossing - which was very nice and was a place we looked at on Trip Advisor as well. The two hotels are on opposite sides of the town and could be said to be opposite in other ways, too. While Iguana Crossing was a very nice hotel and by the looks of it much more luxurious and upscale, it didn't have the same personality and whimsy of La Casa de Marita. Further, what makes me give this place 4 stars instead of 3 was the excellent customer service. We were treated with tremendous warmth and sincerity from the staff and that made all the difference.

We ate in the restaurant a few times and while the food was tasty it wasn't as good as either our dinner at Iguana Crossing or some of the meals we had previously on Santa Cruz. The breakfast was far superior than your average breakfast buffet, though, and our friends tell us that the breakfast at Iguana Crossing was not good at all. However, I really didn't see that many other options for places to eat. It seemed that most places in town had the same menu and same prices for the most part. However, we did enjoy our last lunch at the funky shwarma place very close to the hotel.

Overall we were happy to have stayed at this hotel but know what to expect. It's more fanciful than fancy but that worked for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKLYNbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guests:

We appreciated the time you took to write this comment. You have given us a unique feedback to keep improving our services and maintain the quality of our customer service. We value much your opinion regarding the rooms across the street and there cleanness.
We cordially invite you to visit or home one more time; and rediscover the charm of Isabela.

Best regards,
Marita Zecchettin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013

This is a rambling add-on place. Our first room "sol" was a second floor no- view room. We chose to upgrade to a "suite" and got a partial view of the beach in the "bamboo" room. Ask for a room over the main floor facing the ocean.

Room Tip: Bring bug spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SadieAtlantaGa831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comment. Useful information is always need it, even more to discover the beauty of Isabela island. At our web page casamaritagalapagos.com you will be able to find pictures and descriptions of all our available rooms.
We are hoping to receive you again soon.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Casa de Marita has beautiful accommodation, with a prime location right on the beach and easy 2-minute walking distance to the centre of town. In addition, the food was terrific and there are hammocks and an outdoor fresh water shower as yo come in from the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Carrie:

Thank you very much for posting your comment. We are delighted to read positive critics about our home. We are engage to bring to our guests great installations and the best customer service.

We cordially invite you once again to visit at our home.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stay in the honeymoon room in the 3rd floor, It was beatiful even we were a group of friends and not a couple. The view is magnificent specially at sunset. They prepared a fantastic dinner for us and the lobster I order was also great.

Room Tip: Take a room im from of the beach the view is just fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federico U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear Federico:

We are very happy to read your opinion. Arranging a special moment for a wonderfull ocassion, pleased us. The perfect touch comes from the beauty of Isabela Island. We were glad to be choose for your stay; now we extend you our sincere invitation to stay at our home once again.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

A friend and I just returned from a 7 day trip to The Galapagos - 3 nights on Santa Cruz and 3 on Isabela. This was our 'home away from home' on Isabela and we enjoyed our stay very much. We had a top floor room with a view of the beach - slightly obstructed by palm trees - and with a large patio. When we arrived we were greeted by Marita who gave us a short history of how the Casa came to be. Then she showed us to our room. We passed other guest lounging in the white hammocks on the deck area and people relaxing on the chaise lounges. We were soon on lounges ourselves and sharing a large beer. Our room was large, comfortable and very pleasant as well as clean. The beds were harder than I am used to, but I had three good sleeps so no complaints. We enjoyed having the use of robes, and helped ourselves from the mini-bar when we learned that they charge the same for items from there as they do at the regular bar. Towels were available for use at the beach and for outings/tours. And what a treat to be able to walk out of the hotel and onto a beautiful clean beach with sand like icing sugar! Overall our stay was great. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuckcanuck27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guests:

Make you feel at home is part of our mission and make your stay enjoyable is our job, that’s why we are really glad to know your days in here were good!! Definitely it’ll be a real pleasure to have you here again; we’ll be waiting for you.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We spent two nights at Casa Marita during a three day tour from Santa Cruz to Isla Isabela. We went to Isabela as part of a package and upgraded to this hotel. Are very glad we did and wished we could have stayed longer and really hope to return. The beach just outside the hotel is beautiful. Our room was pleasant the bed very comfortable with good quality linens. Our only complaint was a cold water shower which was fixed on our last morning. Our fault should have brought it to the hotels attention earlier. Breakfast is provided and was very good, a buffet selection of fruit salad, cereal, toast, yogurt, eggs and great coffee. The only other meal we had at the hotel was lunch. My husband had chicken soup, rated good and I had chicken Caesar salad, not recommended, an improvised version of Caesar salad and over priced.
The hotel staff are very accommodating.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main hotel with an ocean view, well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRIPOPOTOMIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guests:

We are very glad to hear that you would like to come back to our home. It is very important for us your motivating words, to keep performing our job, the way that we do. But most important, is the feedback that we can receive, and that we can use to improve our service. We will explain to our customers our local recipe on the Cesar Salad, so this will match your expectations.

We will be happy to see you once again.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This was our third choice hotel and even with that, we had to stay across the street in the hotel's annex...Beware! I get that I'm on an island that has no water, no paved roads and no services but when I'm paying for a room, I do expect it to look clean, have a closet, warm water; (forget about hot), have fresh bedding and some attempt at decor and no bugs! I guess my list was too long for this establishment. On the plus side, the main lodge is welcoming and the courtyard has character, the staff is helpful, and the beach is ok. The cleaners changed our towels and tried to clean but they can't erase the overall lack of attention and disrepair to the facilities. We had two rooms with furniture that one couldn't give away at a garage sale, there was no place to hang anything and we enjoyed the bugs crawling up the walls which was to be remedied by a "plug-in" contraption. The floor might have been more comfortable than the beds. We had to use a small tree outside one room to hang wet clothes. The bugs must have followed us to the breakfast buffet, because they were on the table there, too. The showers only offered a few minutes of warm before the cold water hit...We tried to have dinner upon arrival at the hotel but they couldn't seem to find a table for us in the empty restaurant so we walked to "town" and ate there every night, which was totally fine with us. We tried to leave early and our agent contacted the owner who refused to offer a refund for our last night. There is a lot to see on Isabela, but not so many choices hotel choices here, so if you can't get a room at Iguana Crossing or Isabela Lodge; come back when you can or save yourself some money and pitch a tent!

Room Tip: Don't take a room in the room in the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Guest:

We sincerely appreciate your feedback that helps us to improve our service. For your interest on writing at our hotel, hereby I would like to answer you.

1) The room that you were in, was assigned in agreement with the tour agency
2) I regret the problem with the hot water, that we recently find out. That is the reason we could not solve it during your stay
3) About the towels and the cleanness inconvenient, I’m surprise. I will take it on consideration to improve on the matter.
4) Regarding the clotheslines problem, we could solve it. You could use the ones by the laundry area. We will see to arrange public clotheslines.
5) I am very sorry that you could not eat at our Restaurant, but like we said at our briefing, we recommend making the reservation in advance, so we could avoid the last moment inconvenient.
We honestly regret the drawbacks during your stay, but we value much your opinion, this will help us to get better.


Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.6 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.2 mi away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#20 of 25 in Santa Cruz
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brisas del Mar
Brisas del Mar
#10 of 10 in Isabela
32 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Marita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Marita

Address: Conocarpus S/N, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: £99 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Marita 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marita’s house is a first class hotel in which you can enjoy the natural charms of Isabela Island, because it is located on the white sands of Puerto Villamil, offering an incomparable view of the colorful beaches of Galapagos Islands. Marita’s house combines harmonically the standards of the best quality hotels with a cozy familiar, hospitality to offer a pleasant and comfortable stay. Quality and warmth characterizes the services of lodging, restaurant and recreation that Marita’s house offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your La Casa de Marita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Marita Hotel Puerto Villamil
La Casa De Marita Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing