We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Casa de Marita
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Albemarle(Puerto Villamil)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casita de la Playa(Puerto Villamil)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Wooden House Lodge(Puerto Villamil)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Gran Tortuga(Puerto Villamil)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Galapagos(Puerto Villamil)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Drake Inn(Puerto Villamil)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sula Sula(Puerto Villamil)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada del Caminante(Puerto Villamil)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Casa Los Delfines(Puerto Villamil)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Iguana Crossing(Puerto Villamil)
US$372
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
312
124
30
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
124
30
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarine iguanasthe main hotelon the rocksisabela islandbeach oceanconcha ya wonderful place to staypublic areascharming hotelbeachfront locationgarden areawould highly recommend this hotelin townsanta cruztide poolshuge bedthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We used this hotel as our base in Isla Isabela. We spent three nights there. The rooms are big with an amazing balcony overlooking the beach. The staff is extremely friendly and the service is great. We loved the peace and quiet of the area. The living room/lounge area is very comfortable and we particularly enjoyed the lounging chairs and hamacs outside. THe hotel is literally on the beach. When the tide is low, the rocks create little pools which were perfect for our toddler to enjoy the water. Breakfast was good. We enjoyed talking the short walks to the village for dinner. We would go back without a doubt.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rborie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Guests:
We appreciate so positive comment about our hotel and the service. Thanks for so well detailed description about us, we always give our best in order to create a cozy and calm rest near the sea. The hotel will always be a familiar place; you will feel just like home.
Please, contact us as soon as you are ready to visit Isabela again.
Best Regards,
Marita Zecchettin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Its not easy to find 5 star accomodation in the Galapagos. 4 stars at best which means that this hotel is not far off from as good as it gets. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. What it lacks in sophistication however it makes up for in restaurant quality, service and location.
If going to the Galapagos then Puerto Vilamil (on a different island to the main airport island) is probably the best option although I would reccomend the small charter flight rather than the 2 hour boat trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffin257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for staying with us taking your time to perform this fine opinion. We really appreciate your honest feedback. This is very helpful for us, as well as all the travelers that visit this web page. We will keep working to maintain the 5 stars service and try harder to reach another 5 stars on Accommodation and Restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,

Marita Zecchettin,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is a beautiful hotel! My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Verde room which was a 2-story suite that had a balcony overlooking the beach...I would definitely request this room. It was exceptional. The room was clean and the views were breathtaking. The customer service was also very good. The food was okay...nothing special but reasonable priced. We also ate at the Iguana Crossing where the food was very good but also quite pricey. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaauub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Guest

We really appreciate your comment, and we are so glad that you have felt comfortable and happy during your stay; we try to take care of each detail to make the best for our guests
Thank you for your time and we will be waiting for your prompt return to our house.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed here for four nights and were very pleased with the overall experience.

PROS: - A great location, right on a beautiful beach and within easy walking distance to the
restaurants in town and local sights
- There is a restaurant on the top floor that provides you with a good breakfast buffet each
morning. Because it rained when we were there, we ate at this restaurant for dinner,
rather than walk into town in the rain. The meals were nice and they have a full bar and
nice bottles of wine
- The rooms are nice...first night we were in a garden suite, which is a room located on the
roadside facing into their beautiful garden. Then we moved to the Mango suite, a huge
three room suite, with a great ocean view balcony. I highly recommend getting an
ocean side room, as we thoroughly enjoyed sitting there in the afternoons watching
the pelicans dive for fish and the sea lions going by. Check out their website which
shows photos of each room.
- If you don't get an ocean side room, they have a lovely deck and beach patio with
hammocks, lawn chairs and tables so you can still sit out and enjoy the beach view
- The hotel provides laundry service which is great when traveling
- The staff is very friendly and some speak English
- All rooms have air conditioning
- The front desk has a safe where you can store valuables... The Mango suite is the
only room with its own safe.

CONS: -If you eat at the restaurant for dinner, you have to pre-order two hours in advance and
specify the time so spontaneity is limited
- smoking is allowed on the decks and outside patio. When we were there, cigar smoke
drifted up to our room's deck every afternoon and spoiled our enjoyment of the beach
view
- The rug in our room and the couches were quite stained, probably with sunscreen, but
did not look that clean

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Alcock:

We appreciate your comment and feedback. As we read it, you let us know the things we must improve in our service, and the great assistance we offered you, as well. We apologize for the cigar smoke; we assure you that as a smoke-free hotel this won´t happen again. We hope you have enjoyed this unforgettable experience in Isabela.

Best Regards,
Marita Zecchettin
La Casa de Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We just spent five days and four nights at La Casa de Marita. We were in the Mangrove Suite. We certainly didn't need the space, but it was available and our tour guides, Galapagos Alternatives (check them out-great!), highly recommended the hotel. We would stay there again in a heart beat. Our deck didn't face the beach straight on, but provided a nice view. We begged and got coffee at 6AM. Breakfasts were huge. Fresh fruit and juices, eggs, cereals, coffee - enough to get us going and until dinner with a light snack in between. Staff was very accommodating. We had problems with a dead underwater camera. They helped off-load pictures and burn a DVD to be sure everything was safe. Our on-island connection, Marita, arranged through Galapagos Adventures, made sure everything was just right. Minino was our guide. We couldn't have ask for more.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front. Mango Suite is great for three.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Guests:

We are so happy to receive this wonderful comment, thanks for staying with us. All the staff and I will keep committed to bring an enjoyable stay. Your opinion encourage us to this goal!.
The doors of our house will be pleased to welcoming you again.

Yours truly,

Marita Zecchettin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews