We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of La Casa de Marita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Casa de Marita
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Nice hotel with seafront location,with view to an ugly pier with an even more ugly kind of disco.
We stayed 3 nights in a beachfront suite, in order to see the beach you had to proceed thru a sort of channel in the far end of the room where a third bed was trying to block the way to reach to a balcony and from the balcony you finally could see the sea. The suite was nicely decorated and clean, the bathroom ok. On top of our suite was the hotel restaurant, and due to little isolation, you could hear from 6 in the morning the foot trampling over our head, so better get up early yourself for breakfast, basic but ok. The service in general was friendly, but you better speak some spanish because the english skills of the staff are very limited.
The restaurant for dinner holds a little menu , the food is ok, but don't expect grande cuisine, nor that your starter and main course will be served independly, no everything comes together and you can decide which one you want to eat cold. Service can be from very quick to extremly slow, best works if you order your meal beforehand in the lobby while drinking a cocktail, which were good.

Room Tip: Seafront room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guzui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

We feel grateful about your comment. The feedback helps us to improve our service every day for the welfare of the guest. As a remark, the third bed in your room was placed in an extra area of the main room, which doesn’t have a balcony front. Trying our best to create a welcoming environment, we hope you visit the island again,

Marita de Zechettin
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for La Casa de Marita
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

What a great stay at Isabela, I was contemplating two hotels, this none and Iguana Crossing. I am happy to say that I made the right decision.

At "La Casa de Marita" we felt right at home, its friendly staff and gorgeous accommodations (right at the beach) make the hotel a superb place to stay.

Te highlights:
~ A unique place full of personality and beautiful decore.
~ They are located close to the Marina and to town, so you can easily walk to your day tours, rent a bike or do some excursions on your own. The hotel couldn't be better located.
~ The friendliness of its staff was impressive and commendable. Days before my stay I was sorting some issues with my bank, so I needed to scan some documents and send them right away. The receptionist helped me print what I needed to print and sent it right away. A five star service if you ask me.
~you can be seating on your hammock, right at the beach, and have the best "Caipiriñas" of your life. Their food and drinks are flavorful and prepared fresh for you. Something that was different an welcoming, you can place your order at the front desk, go do your things and be back to seat down to your meal without waiting at the table to be served.
~Breakfast is very accommodating and healthy. If you are taking the boat in and out from the island, the staff hands you a packed breakfast the night before, so you are ready for the early departure.
~ One afternoon, my kid and I were walking to the Marina for some snorkeling, all of the sudden who do we see pulling over "only to give us a ride"? It is Marita and her husband!! The couple are some of the best hosts I have encountered in my travels.
~Clean rooms, clean beach towels, lovely and relaxing atmosphere, being right at the beach, all the drinking water at no extra cost, and the amazing service made me make another reservation to come back during the Christmas brake.

Things to keep in mind for your stay at Isabela:

* No ATM machines on the island so bring cash. The hotel does receive credit cards, but most other places don't.
* Please help maintain Galapagos the wonder that it is, recycle whatever plastic you use during your stay and bring it back with you to be recycled in the mainland or at the airport.
*Bring your own water bottles to be refilled with the drinking water provided at the hotel. If you wish to drink bottle water, purchase the big water containers at a nearby store and refill your own. Than bring back the empty container with you.
*Biking is a great way to see the island.

For what I saw during my 5 day stay, "La Casa de Marita" is the best hotel in Isabella, I would recommended hands downs.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaSoledad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Mrs. Ana:
First of all, what a stunning and flattering comment! We enjoy reading your comment and so detailed explanation of the service. We’ll keep offering the same service as you described it above.
Hope to see you on December,

Best Wishes,

Marita Zechettin
General Manager

La Casa de Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a lovely small hotel on Isabella Island. The rooms are quite comfortable, the staff is wonderful, and the location fabulous (right on the beach!) It is easy to walk into town, and the port is just a 15-20 minute walk as well.

The hotel is made of several buildings, with a few rooms in each. The rooms are spacious, if a little difficult to get to. We had two rooms (Sol and Luna). Sol was up a flight of outdoor stairs (the railing was missing some ballusters, which made me kind of wary) but the room itself delightful. There was a small refrigerator and a pitcher of fresh water. The bathroom was a bit small, but adequate.

Luna was up an additional flight of (interior) stairs that were positively dangerous if you weren't a nimble teenager! Slightly spiral, very narrow. I was glad it was my kids with that room, and not me, and you'd better hope you are never in a hurry to go up or down!

The staff were delightful and happy to help in any way. The restaurant was nice, too -- nothing fancy, but good food and service. It was a little difficult to find, though, as the doors aren't marked when you head upstairs.

Wi-Fi is available, but you'll have to stand outside in the courtyard and wander around for a signal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Guests:
Accept our sincere appreciation and thanks for so specific feedbacks; we’ll improve the markers of the restaurant in order to avoid any kind of misunderstanding. The issue with the balusters has been already repaired. You’ll be greeted as members of the hotel whenever you decide to visit us again.

Marita Zechettin
Gerente General
La Casa de Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at La Casa de Marita as part of the ROW Adventures trip in July and were pleased with the accommodations but not delighted. The rooms were clean but our room was right next to the office which was quite noisy. The double bed was a little too cozy for a couple used to a queen sized bed and the hot water was very unpredictable. The rooms under the dining area and next to the street tend to be quite noisy so request a room that is not next to the street or next to the office or under the dining room. The food in the restaurant was acceptable but we enjoyed our meals in town much more that those at the hotel. There are several nice bars that front the beach down from the hotel that are great for an afternoon cocktail. Pilsner seems to be the most popular beer but I enjoyed the Club Red much more. So if you decide to stay at La Casa de Marita make sure and request a quiet room with a big bed and enjoy a Club on the beach before you retire....

Room Tip: Request a quiet room away from the office & dining room but not across the street. Request a q...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluffDwellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

We appreciate your comments and suggestions as they are very useful and help us to improve day by day, we regret the inconveniences that had, we would of like to hear your suggestions in the moment and help you immediately.

Best Wishes
Marita Zechettin,
Gerente General,
La Casa de Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the Lilla Room (2nd floor oceanfront). What a great view of the Pacific!!! The room was spacious, plenty of room in the bathroom and the porchdeck in front was great. We experienced a little noise from the restaurant upstairs in the morning (otherwise very quiet), but we were up anyway getting ready for our day's adventure (our activities were arranged thru Galapagos Alternatives). Breakfast was really good. The grounds are beautiful and everything is very clean. The staff are all excellent and ready to help out with anything you may need. Marita does an excellent job. We loved every minute of our stay and highly recommend it to you. This offers the most beautiful view and is a great place to see Isabella!!

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor oceanfront, it's a view you'll never forget !!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear Mrs. Michael:
We are very happy to receive your comment, we are glad to know that your stay on the island was wonderful, always try to provide the best stay for our guests sorry for the inconvenience caused also thanks to your suggestions we achieve improvement. Hope to see you again.

Best Wishes
Marita Zechettin,
Gerente General,
La Casa de Marita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at this beach-front hotel for three nights. The view and easy access to the beach is wonderful and worth the two-hour bumpy peed boat ride from Santa Cruz. The room itself is very basic but clean. Breakfast in the morning was good and clean. The staffs were friendly and helpful even though not all of them can speak English. We were not able to get our iPads connected to the hotel wifi. Wish they would do something to improve their wifi connectivity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dchen1668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Family Chen:
Thank you very much for your comment. It is always rewarding to know that our guests have had a wonderful experience. I am very sorry that you could not get good service with the wi-fi. But most important, is the feedback we can receive, and that we can use to improve our service.

Best regards,

Marita Zecchettin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Lovely tiled entry way greeted us. Staff was friendly and spoke English well. Ceramic water dispenser was available in lobby for drinking water at all times. Room with computer was available in lobby area for free internet use. Enjoyed the triple room with 3 twin beds (1 downstairs & 2 upstairs) which accommodated myself & my friends. Traveling as a group of 3 was not a problem & wheeling in a rollaway bed was not necessary as is often the case. Bathroom was large, tiled & clean. Rooms faced the oceanfront & upper room had a nice wooden porch which we enjoyed & used for hanging up wet bathing suits. Had a delightful restaurant on the upper level which served excellent food. First day there ran out to the lava rock & photographed amazing iguanas. Did yoga on the beach & watched a feeding frenzy of boobies the second day. Convenient walk to town for additional restaurants & to rent bikes. Charming, relaxing, loved it!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank KWetherall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buraschi, Gerente at La Casa de Marita, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Mrs. Wheterall:
We deeply appreciate so detailed description of us; we stand out your skill for noticing the details in our decoration. Such comments like yours increase the motivation of all the staff performing. Hope you could visit us again.
Best Wishes,
Marita Zechettin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.6 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#7 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#4 of 28 in Puerto Villamil
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casita de la Playa
Casita de la Playa
#3 of 28 in Puerto Villamil
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Marita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Marita

Address: Conocarpus S/N, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: £87 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Marita 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marita’s house is a first class hotel in which you can enjoy the natural charms of Isabela Island, because it is located on the white sands of Puerto Villamil, offering an incomparable view of the colorful beaches of Galapagos Islands. Marita’s house combines harmonically the standards of the best quality hotels with a cozy familiar, hospitality to offer a pleasant and comfortable stay. Quality and warmth characterizes the services of lodging, restaurant and recreation that Marita’s house offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Casa de Marita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Marita Hotel Puerto Villamil
La Casa De Marita Galapagos Islands/Isabela - Puerto Villamil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing