We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hot showers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lerdkeo Sunset Guesthouse
Shoeburyness
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hot showers!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Lerdkeo sunset looked to be the only brick built accommodation in Muang Ngoi, and fairly new. It's also behind a big fence so seemed pretty secure. If you turn right off the ferry into the main street, the Lerdkeo is about 100 yards on the right - in a quiet spot, The showers are heated by lpg and really hot - a rarity in N Laos. There is electricity but bring a torch for when you return in the evening. All of the the village accommodation is basic and very cheap,and this is probably one of the more expensive places in (we paid 80k kip), but looking around there weren't many places we would want to stay so for us (not so young backpackers) it's worth it. Our rating reflects the relative isolation of this village which only got electricity this year.

We were unlucky with the weather here, and the main street became a mudbath. Even so we had a dry day for a boat trip visiting villages and trekking - organised by Lao youth travel. This was really good and we were well looked after by 'John' (Lao name, but that's what it sounds like!)

Room Tip: only 5 or so rooms and all overlook the river
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnShoeburyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I cant recommend this place more highly. Toun was a marvelous hostess who made our visit so enjoyable with her friendly warmth and interesting stories. Nothing was too much trouble, she was very kind. We felt immersed in the local life watching her family going about their day, especially the lady doing the weaving. The views were sensational. Thanks Toun for making our visit, Julie and Jo NZ.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

You can see the main difference between this guesthouse from all the others in this village as soon as you enter muang ngoi by boat on the nam ou river:
The new built bungalows are concrete and not made out of bamboo, so they stay cool during the daytime!
Furthermore the manager is a very friendly and funny young lady, she is very helpful. You can order breakfast and enjoy it at your Riverviewbalcony!
The beds are more than comfortable. Its a good place to relax. The price for a beautiful-furnished double room was 40.000 kip (4€) per night, what we first thought to be a joke because of the quality provided.

The only considerable improvement could be to install a hammock, which is somehow missing. Waterpressure is sometimes low ->
4/5*

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad-Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peppermint Grove Beach WA Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Thanks Toun for a great few days. It was nice to share with your step grandmother in her day to day activities, basket weaving etc and your help with where to go and what to do was excellent. We recommend staying at this very clean, river front property whose bathroom at the time did not smell at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The room was nice and clean and with good bug nets. The room did get rather warm, as there are no trees to provide shade
The only thing that was rather off putting was the strong sewage smell in the bathroom. Real shame for a brand new place

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoeff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Lerdkeo has only been open since late 2012 and offers the best accommodation in Muang Ngoy, with 5 concrete bungalows with individual river-view balconies. Comfortable beds with mosquito nets provided. Bathroom is everything you need. There is no restaurant, but for breakfast just let the owners know what you want and it will be served to you on your balcony. Awesome! If you like to sleep late and want your room cleaned, just ask - as cleaning generally gets done at around 8:30am as people leave heading for the 9:30 boat out of town! The owners are very friendly! While Muany Ngoy has no internet, you can actually book online for Lerdkeo using Agoda - just search under Nong Kiew!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muang Ngoi Neua
0.0 mi away
Nong Kiau River Side Rooms
Nong Kiau River Side Rooms
#2 of 16 in Nong Khiaw
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meexai Guesthouse
Meexai Guesthouse
#1 of 10 in Nong Khiaw
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nam Ou River Lodge
Nam Ou River Lodge
#3 of 16 in Nong Khiaw
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lattanavongsa Guesthouse
Lattanavongsa Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Muang Ngoi Neua
48 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lerdkeo Sunset Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lerdkeo Sunset Guesthouse

Property: Lerdkeo Sunset Guesthouse
Address: Main Street, Muang Ngoi Neua, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Muang Ngoi Neua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Muang Ngoi Neua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lerdkeo Sunset Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing