We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room in a Fabulous Location”
Review of Santa Rita Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madera Canyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santa Rita Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madera Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Old and worn Lodge but in a perfect location for birding the canyon area. Basic room was clean enough, equipped with dishes and pots for simple cooking. Fridge, hotplate, microwave, coffee maker was sufficient for our simple needs over our 2 night stay in February. Mice seem to be an ongoing issue. We found a dead one in a trap by the bed upon our arrival, which was exchanged by the care taker for a new empty trap. Nights are cold in the mountains that time of year. Bring warm clothes. My husband hiked a nearby trail and encountered ice and snow. I was glad to have a turtleneck sweater, mitts and a hat for the early morning. Office closed down early ( about 5 pm) but offered a selection of movies to view in the room, some food items, postcards, tee shirts and gifts. A highlight (and why we chose this lodge) is the wildlife viewing area where several bird feeders attract many bird species and animals including a coati. Chairs and benches are available here offering easy and comfortable views as the wildlife arrive and depart. Great for taking photos. Super hiking trails are steps from the lodge. I would book here again if ever I get back to Arizona.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chickadeedee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Santa Rita Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Overall, I was a bit disappointed in this lodge. I had stayed there many years ago on two occasions, and remembered enjoying a hummingbird feeder right outside the window. Only a few of the casitas had such a feeder now, and not mine. (Why not mine, I wondered! I did go once to ask about same, but the proprietor was not in the gift shop and could not be found, and then I was gone for most of the day). The room was OK, but for over $100 I would have not expected a window that was stuck shut (preventing cross-ventilation) and a spider web in a corner. There was a nice large refrigerator anda small TV and the beds were comfortable. The array of hummingbird and songbird feeders was very good and had nice benches to observe the activity. Madera Canyon is a great place to visit for birders, and clearly this lodge fetched a hefty price for its location.

Room Tip: If you are a birder, ask for a casita or cabin with a hummingbird feeder.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelerwithbudget49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I started visiting the Santa Rita Lodge in the 1970's for birding and later for insects. I went through three sets of owners. The current owners have renovated the rooms but they have all but killed the bird watching from the rooms. There used to be hummingbird feeders outside of every cabin and out side of every casita (motel style room). Also seed and suet for other birds.You could enjoy your morning coffee by the window and see numerous hummers of 8 or more species a few feet from your window. Now there are no feeders of any kind outside the casitas! You can't even put up your own feeder because they have fenced off the area behind the casitas. There were also numerous feeders of every kind all over the property. Now they are few and far between. It's really sad. Sic transit gloria Santa Rita Lodge bird watching!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quentin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed in cabin 7. The location is excellent for birding and hiking. The cabins are nothing special, just a basic cabin that is clean, and kept up. 2 burner cooking unit, micro, small refrig and coffee pot. All worked fine. So if you are looking for a basic cabin to stay at, but spend the majority of your time outdoors birding/hiking, then this should work fine for you. This is not the place to hang out, watch TV or surf the Internet. Internet is limited and very slow. Grounds are clean and nice, and they have a real nice Hummingbird and bird feeder viewing area. Does get busy with people stopping and watching the birds.

Room Tip: Cabins 7 and 9 are the farthest away from the hummingbird viewing area and quieter. Cabin 5 looks l...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I have stayed here off and on over the years, and they do try and keep it up. It is not a real lodge (no restaurant) and not a resort, but very acceptable if you like it rustic. It is not super clean, but I love the location and I am too damn old for a tent. It is all about Location, Location, Location. I am not picky when it comes to being in a wonderfully wild place. They have free CD movies to borrow if you have a rainy afternoon. Pick up food in Green Valley for breakfast etc, my casita had a kitchenette. @ $ 114. per night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABHIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was our second stay at the Santa Rita Lodge in 4 years and we enjoyed our stay. This time we stayed in the casitas and it was small but comfortable. The beauty of this place is on the outside of your cabin, room or casita. The view from our large rear window in our casita was lovely. One comes here to see the hummingbirds in Spring or wild Turkeys in the Fall and if you are lucky like we were this time in April we saw the elegant Trogon. There is something for all ages to enjoy here. There is a public area near the gift shop to sit and view the birds, take photos or just enjoy the company of other visitors. The hiking trails behind the lodge are great for beginners or older visitors while further up the mountain there are trails for the more physically fit or well seasoned hikers. The gift shop area was much improved this time with snacks and simple meals. The staff are friendly and accomodating, our rooms; on both occasions were clean, appliances operable, no complaints here. This lodge is truly for lovers of nature.

Room Tip: I would suggest best times to visit are spring, summer and fall.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We've been coming to the Santa Rita Lodge for about 12 years. We hadn't been back in a while and over the past month have been back twice!

The new owners have done a great job of updating the cabins and casitas, adding a really nice gift shop and taking excellent care of the property.

There is a lot of wildlife (we saw two bear last night) and of course, Madera is known as a birders paradise. This is a little slice of heavenly nature close to Tucson.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 122,793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madera Canyon
12.4 mi away
Best Western Green Valley Inn
Best Western Green Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Green Valley
427 reviews
10.4 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
42 reviews
14.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive - Green Valley Sahuarita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
10.2 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
12.4 mi away
Tubac Country Inn
Tubac Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Tubac
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Rita Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rita Lodge

Address: 1218 S Madera Canyon Rd, Madera Canyon, AZ 85614-0516
Region: United States > Arizona > Madera Canyon
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madera Canyon
Price Range: £54 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Santa Rita Hotel Sahuarita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing