We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Having stayed for 3 nights in total, this lodge was a highlight of the tour of Central Otago. The hosts were fantastic and nothing was a problem including taking time out to drive us to the Roxburgh trotting races which happened to be on at the time. The food was excellent however special mention must be made of the chocolate fondant I couldn't get past it, having one every night. The wine selection is also worth a mention with some very nice local Pinot's and Chardonnay's being sampled.

Room Tip: We had a spa bath room which made for a generous sized bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed two nights here and were made to feel really welcome.
We had a studio room with a very comfortable bed and a sitting area.Like most motel/lodge accommodation there was a shower but no bath.There was a small fridge and tea/coffee making facilities and also a little outside deck area with table and chairs.
The food was really good.The service is a bit on the slow side but then Kim and Phil do everything themselves and who's in a hurry when on holiday?
I had a great spicy prawn dish one night and pork loin the other.My husband's salmon fish cakes looked tasty and he said that the Hereford fillet he had was delicious.
If you are into beer do ask Phil for his recommendations as he has an interesting selection of specialist beers.
Strangely enough,we discovered that Kim's sister lives in the same town as us in the UK.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mummygaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisCentralOtago, Owner at Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you, it was lovely to meet you both too, and the UK connection was uncanny!! Glad you enjoyed your stay and have told others, we look forward to seeing you again if you ever venture back to search for more of your past, regards, Kim & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Enjoyed a one night stay here so we could catch up with some friends that were also travelling in the area. We had a superb meal in the Restaurant and the hosts were great! we would definitely stay here again if we are travelling through. If not just for the meals. The accommodation is fairly straight forward and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GnRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisCentralOtago, Owner at Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thanks for your review, it was great to meet you and to meet your special friends, we look forward to looking after you again in the future, Kim & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My brother and I stayed for one night. The service and hospitality bestowed on us was of a high standard. Kim the owner was extremely helpful with local knowledge of sights and things to do.
The room and beds were extremely comfortable and we could not fault the decor or the amenities.
Congratulations

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisCentralOtago, Owner at Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us un December, we hope you both enjoyed the rest of your trip and your experiences in the lower South Island, lovely to meet you both, Kim & Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great accommodation, nice rooms, but the highlight of the stay was the food and Kim is certainly an amazing chef. The dinner and breakfast were both awesome meals. She knows how to cook! The Hereford beef and venison were both wonderful choices for dinner as were the pancakes and porridge for breakfast. Don't forget to tell them you're dining when checking in - don't assume they will know this.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayGee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisCentralOtago, Owner at Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you also enjoyed dinner, amazing how cycling makes you soooo hungry, especially in the rain and wind!!! Look forward to seeing you again when you are here for some more cycling and to allow me to cook for such an appreciative audience, thank you, Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Lake Roxburgh Lodge to check out the new Roxburgh Gorge Trail, and start the Clutha Gold Trail. It was perfect, very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast, the dinner food was great too, it was nice sitting out in the sun to eat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gclarke02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisCentralOtago, Owner at Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us, you certainly enjoyed some fantastic weather whilst you were here, especially for cycling the new trails, hope you enjoyed those too. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We visited the Lodge as part of a special treat for my husband's birthday and what a treat it was. I have to admit that I didn't even know it existed even though we travel through Roxburgh often. Wonderful hosts, comfortable accommodation and really superb meals, Phil and Kim went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant

Address: 20a Tamblyn Drive | Central Otago, Lake Roxburgh 9571, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Lake Roxburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Lake Roxburgh
Price Range: £84 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Roxburgh Lodge offers uncompromising quality and attention to detail in all their en suited studio rooms and suites so you can truly enjoy your stay. Award winning Lake Roxburgh Lodge has a host of activities on offer or close by to keep everyone entertained, along with delicious dining options from seasonal menus, using locally sourced produce from the fully licensed restaurant with al fresco seating, boutique brewery beers and Central Otago Pinot wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing