We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We found everything about the lodge and restaurant was very good.
All the staff were friendly and very helpful.
Everything was well looked after and very clean.
Service in the restaurant was good and the food was excellent.
The only minor gripe was that the range of the free wifi was limited.
We would recommend the lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Elk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    24
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
58
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were in Roxburgh for a family reunion for two nights. Although heavily booked, the hosts obligingly found a space for an 'extra' at the last minute. Wonderful atmosphere at breakfast time delivered by cheerful and helpful staff.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was looking forward to the "fine food and wine" at the Lake Roxburgh Lodge after a fantastic bike ride on the Roxburgh trail- the organisation of the bike ride was excellent, with helpful efficient support from both the Roxburgh I-Site and BikeItNow! However, the Lake Roxburgh Lodge was the polar opposite of most Central Otago experiences, unhelpful and rude. The Lodge is the official drop off for bikes on the Roxburgh trail. So my wife, who was not biking, arrived about 3 hours before me. Although the restaurant is supposedly open from 10 a.m. and she arrived at about 1030, Phil, the owner told her they were having their breakfast and they could serve her after half an hour. After waiting in the carpark for about 50 minutes (she was not asked to wait inside) she was served coffee and scones. My wife told Phil that I was biking the trail, expected to arrive after 1:30 and we wanted to have lunch.
When I arrived, I returned the bike to their bike rack and went in to have a comfort stop and change out of the biking clothes, Phil cut me off saying there were no changing facilities and he had lots of rooms to clean.I said any toilet was fine and I just wanted to change before having a lunch at their restaurant. Phil said I couldn't change in their toilet and they wouldn't be serving lunch. There was no sign saying they were closed and up until then Phil hadn't given any indication of them not serving food. We left. The website says the restaurant hours for lunch are from 10:00 a.m to 4:00 p.m. and at 2:00 p.m. we were turned away. So it might be prudent not to plan on having your food or drink based on the web site's assertions.
We found the Lodge owner's inhospitable attitude extremely disappointing especially as they are supposedly the official drop off for this fantastic new cycle trail- an unfortunate blip compared to the dozens of fantastic, friendly, efficient experiences we have consistently had in Central Otago. I have had some bad hospitality experiences outside NZ and have never posted about these- but Central Otago deserves better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillyWelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisCentralOtago, Owner at Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Unfortunately there seemed to be a breakdown in communication in this unfortunate instance between key operators and us, we were not informed of any bike drop offs on the day in question and we are a business independently operating in Lake Roxburgh Village and not in any "official drop off" capacity. Due to the extremely busy Easter weekend the restaurant was closed at lunchtime, (we do put 'open' signs at the entrance to the premises which were not there on this particular day) all the staff employed at the Lodge were busy turning eleven rooms around for the next guests. Our commitment is to our in-house guests which are and always have been, our number one priority, because of this, when your wife arrived shortly after 10am, she was informed that we would not be open for lunch dining but we would be more than happy to offer her coffee and scones if she wished. The restaurant had just been cleared from guests breakfasts and the staff were about to have their breakfast so your wife said she would not interfere with the staff breakfast and went and sat in her car, for no more than half an hour. Your wife was told she could sit in the restaurant for as long as need be until you arrived at approx. 2.10pm, when you were informed there was no changing facilities available to you. At this point your wife insists that had she known we were not going to be open for lunch she would not have sat here and waited for you for almost four hours!
You are quite correct, the new trail is fantastic, and we would say that allowing your wife to sit in a warm restaurant for four hours is hardly inhospitable or unhelpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Phil and Kim are superb hosts and being able to dine in the restaurant was an absolute bonus at the end of a long day being a tourist. Food was superbly cooked and served and a good range of wine by bottle or glass. We stayed 3 nights in a one bedroom suite - separate bedroom with good hanging space and drawers, excellent bedside lamps for reading and a great bed. Sitting area has tiny table and chairs plus an excellent couch and good TV. A small frig with a good mini bar to choose from. Bathroom beautiful and totally modern - wonderful toiletries, bathrobes provided and great towels. Outlook to a tiny deck with chairs and to the beautiful garden. Lots to do in the beautiful Teviot Valley and this is a superb spot to stay and relax and just enjoy your holiday.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite is spacious and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed one night when biking the Roxburgh Gorge and Clutha Gold trail in February 2014. They were great hosts - every thing was made easy, the rooms were very comfortable and meal was outstanding - we wished we could have come back the following night to enjoy another meal!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Although we only stayed there for one night, it was well worth stopping off for. The rooms had all of the comforts of a big hotel, with a spa bath to relax and enjoy. The dinner in the restaurant was excellent and a real surprise, Kim is a first class chef, and both myself and my husband could not praise her enough, would recommend that if you are nearby stop of and enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I was made to feel very welcome throughout my stay. My room was very clean with an extremely comfy bed and even real milk for my filter coffee!! The food was fantastic, especially the chocolate fondant! I will definitely be returning there next time I'm in Roxburgh!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNisbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant

Property: Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant
Address: 20a Tamblyn Drive | Central Otago, Lake Roxburgh 9571, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Lake Roxburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Lake Roxburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Roxburgh Lodge offers uncompromising quality and attention to detail in all their en suited studio rooms and suites so you can truly enjoy your stay. Award winning Lake Roxburgh Lodge has a host of activities on offer or close by to keep everyone entertained, along with delicious dining options from seasonal menus, using locally sourced produce from the fully licensed restaurant with al fresco seating, boutique brewery beers and Central Otago Pinot wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Roxburgh Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing