We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poneloya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surfing Turtle Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed for only a week but wanted to stay for at least a month if not more. Extremely welcoming and friendly environment with a laid back atmosphere and a great variety of activities from daily beach volleyball to fishing and surfing. Right on the ocean, waking up to a gorgeous beach paradise where I met some really amazing people and made memories that left me wanting to come back for more. Slept in a surprisingly comfortable tent and enjoyed some tasty and authentic food throughout the day while ending my nights under the beautifully star-lit sky around the camp fire with new friends. Truly a unique and special experience that had me thinking of my return date as soon as I left (which I hope to be very soon!).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Surfing Turtle Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

..because the people who run the place treat you like a boss. Quiet beach, volleyball, good times. It's a place for solo travelers, retirees, families and lost souls. The travelers you meet are also top notch. Stay in a tent, dorm or private bungalow. You will wait 30 minutes for your food, but that's because 20 people order at the same time. They have vastly improved on this in the past couple of months. All in all, don't think about not coming for a few days if you're in the area. You just might get stuck there :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I did not enjoy my stay at Surfing Turtle Lodge, food is too expensive, they say that it's because they have to deliver it to the island, however the guy who goes get the supplies has to make a 50 minutes ride with his cart. It does not explain why everything is triple the price. When you order food, it takes about 1 hour at least for every meal, and I'm not exaggerating it literally take them more than an hour to make a sandwich. Also since you are away from town it is the only choice you have. If you are going to be around that area there is a beach town close by that has a couple of hostels closer to restaurants and stuff, it will cost you half the price and you will have a better experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ramiro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfing_Turtle_Lodge, Owner at Surfing Turtle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi, thank you for your review, it is because of guest feedback that we are able to improve. We would like to address some of the points you've mentioned:
-The food and other supplies are bought freshly from local markets, fishermen, and farmers. It is then transported to the beach town of Poneloya, transported by boat from the main land, and finally as you mentioned, brought to the Lodge by horse. Being on an island and still giving guests the best service has it's challenges. That being said, we strive to make the best quality food for reasonable prices. We are happy to say that since your stay we have built an extension to our kitchen and it has cut waiting time drastically. Finally, we are a secluded hostel with empty beaches and without the bustle of nearby hostels, restaurants and bars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

To describe my experience itself is already underrating it. Some memories and moments are too good to explain.
The people. The volunteers and locals and guests that stayed there where most of what it was for me. There is an energy of compassion and caring, and i doubt you will meet people you'll fall in love with.
Surfing, and volleyball, and peaceful nothing during the day.
The nights can be anything. Full on apocalypse of fun, movie night, bonfire, cards...
There also building a small building to keep the noise remote further from the sleeping quarters.
If your thinking of going, go.

d

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

An amazing recluse destination! The dormitory is one of the nicest with the constant breeze and sound of the oceans waves to rock you to sleep at night and wake you in the morning. The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful. Be weary of sting rays in the area, when we were visiting at least one person got stung a day (myself included). The only downside to this great
Spot is the food- a tad overpriced and of mediocre quality. Definitely worth checking out!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jocelyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It's a very nice place in the middle of nowhere, right on the beach. The atmosphere is very good and the cabañas are nice. You could surf, walk on the beach, do horse rides and hips of other stuff. The barn fire was awesome and one the night swim in the sea with the fluorescence plankton. Sort of The Beach, if you've seen that one.
But I thought the food is poor and too pricy if you compare to some local restaurants in Petites.
Although it's fun to play volleyball together and the prices (Cuba Libra and Smirnoff) are fun. But there is hardly a game and I would rather call it "ball over net" than volleyball. They definitely should adapt some special rules (mini volleyball) for the ones that not even can play a tiny bit of volleyball. It would be more fun and exciting.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our stay here was the best. I would recommend to choose a private cabana, they are right at the beach with a perfect view. The food is very good and if you are lucky (we were) there will be baby turtles to release!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poneloya
12.7 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
25 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
348 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Simple Beach Lodge
Simple Beach Lodge
#2 of 12 in Las Penitas
53 reviews
12.6 mi away
Surfing Turtle Leon
Surfing Turtle Leon
#30 of 62 in Leon
31 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Lazy Turtle
The Lazy Turtle
#3 of 11 in Las Penitas
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfing Turtle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfing Turtle Beach Lodge

Address: Isla Los Brasiles, Poneloya, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Poneloya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Poneloya
Price Range: £4 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfing Turtle Lodge is the only Island solar powered eco-friendly hostel in Nicaragua’s Pacific Coast. Located only 20 minutes from the historic city of Leon, Nicaragua, and a 5 minute boat ride from the beach town of Poneloya on a beautiful deserted beach in Isla Los Brasiles. The lodge strikes the perfect balance for everyone: Enjoy the island’s natural beauty while having comfortable, exceptional accommodations and services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfing Turtle Hotel Poneloya
Surfing Turtle Beach Lodge Nicaragua/Poneloya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing