We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful French country charm in beautiful...”
other traveller has booked this property
6 bedroom house for 12 people in the Dordogne. Le Manoir des Granges
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
6 bedroom house for 12 people in the Dordogne. Le Manoir des Granges
Outside eating at Le Manoir des Granges. Large patio with seating for up to 18 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
6 bedroom house for 12 people in the Dordogne. Le Manoir des Granges
Outside eating at Le Manoir des Granges.
Large patio with seating for up to 18 people
Swimming pool and garden Main House
Table tennis
Dining area with seating for 12
Kitchen in the Main House
Living room in Main House
Living room in Main House
Living room, Main House
Library - pick a book and relax
Beautiful original stone staircase
Ornate French double bed
King size bed on first floor
View of Roque Saint Christophe
Friends can share the yellow room
Ariel view of Le Manoir des Granges in the Vezere Valley
Spring at Le Manoir des Granges
Canoeing on the River Vezere
Cycling on the Voie Verte - Sarlat to Grolejac
Le Roque St Christophe opposite Le Manoir des Granges
Horse riding in the Vezere Valley (with Roque Saint Christophe in the background!)
Museum of prehistory at Les Eyzies
Nearby Chateau de Losse
A different view from Forte Reignac
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Peyzac-le-Moustier, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Hayleycha...
Chicago
1 review
“Wonderful French country charm in beautiful tucked away Dordogne”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We first booked one of the smaller gite guesthouses at Le Manoir des Granges, but shortly after Philippa contacted us and offered to upgrade us to the main house for the same price (they had a large group that wanted multiple smaller gites.) So that was a pleasant way to start our interaction!

My wife and I were traveling with our two toddler daughters and my parents. We were extremely pleased with the house from the moment we arrived. The exterior of the house is gorgeously maintained. There is a large old cast iron gate enclosing a garden/patio/yard that seems meticulously manicured with flowers and shrubs. The yard is fully enclosed which allowed the kids to play freely without us worrying about them wandering off. There is a second fully enclosed area with a lovely pool. While it was still too cool to swim while we were there, the kids still enjoyed wading in the pools steps. In warm weather the pool area would be an amazing place to relax. The patio has a large table where we ate every lunch and dinner. It looks out onto troglodyte dwelling on the opposite side of a large field and river, and was a wonderfully calm and picturesque place to eat or have a glass of wine.

The interior of the house is charming, comfortable and very well maintained. There's an enormous kitchen/dining room, we cooked there a few times and were very happy with it. The living room is comfortable and well decorated, and was decked out with a stereo, TV, dvd player and nice book collection. We made use of all of these at one time or another whether it was my mom perusing books about the area or the kids watching a movie before bed.

The upstairs bedroom and bathrooms were very comfortable and clean, nothing over the top yet totally sufficient.

We had one or two minor maintenance issues when we were there (it's an old farmhouse, so these things are expected), and Paul was basically at the house instantly and the issues were resolved within 24 hours. We were very pleased with how attentive both Philippa and Paul were. We'd ask for a recommendation on a restaurant, and within 5 minutes Philippa would have a reservation made for us (good suggestions, too!).

So, all in all, out stay here exceeded our expectations and I am sure if we visit Dordogne again this is the only place we will think to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, the garden/patio, the first floor of the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afua1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, traditional house in semi-rural location, perfect for chillaxing in the beautiful dordorgne .”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Would highly recommend . Owners fabulous very hospitable and helpful. House beautiful, very traditional full of character. Pool facilities great , perfect for family fun . If I was to say something not 100% positive, our bed was not the most comfortable but I got used to it!! Minor point and didn't spoil what was a fantastic week. Would definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2013
Thank you for the lovely review and for bringing the bed to our attention. We are sorry that you found it uncomfortable. We always encourage people to tell us of any problems whilst they are here, that way we can try to rectify the issue. We will check the bed to see if it is a problem with the mattress. We hope it will not put you off visiting us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky L
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great house in a lovely location”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our group was made up of two families, which included 7 teenagers. We found the house very comfortable and well equipped, and made good use of the pool. We also enjoyed the great view out of the front of the house of Le Roq St. Christoph. Philippa and Paul were very welcoming, and readily on hand for any advice about the house or surrounding area. We thouroughly enjoyed our week - thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
designerp...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent property in an excellent location with very helpful owners.”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was the third time we have visited Le Manoir des Granges and this time our visit was even more enjoyable. Philippa and Paul have updated and improved the house and are excellent on site hosts. The house is perfectly situated by the River Vezere where one can enjoy walking, kayaking, exploring the many historic sites in the area or just lazing by the pool. Philippa and Paul are helpful, friendly and always on hand to offer advice and suggestions to further improve the holiday experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent location and helpful owners.
Liked least: Lack of air conditioning
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xprof
Santa Barbara CA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The best Gîte ever!”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a lovely stay in the Haybarn, the most comfortable gîte we have ever rented,in the finest location, and with the nicest owners. We have stayed in many gîtes, and this is the one to which we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the charming location
Liked least: not a darn thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea W
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a wonderful place to spend time with your family”
Reviewed 15 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We spent the first two weeks of September with Paul and Philippa in there beautiful manor house celebrating my Grandfathers 90th birthday .It was like being home from home. The manor house provides everything that you may require and if it hasn't Paul or Philippa will help you find it or provide it for you.
The weather was glorious and we found ourselves spending many happy hours playing with the children around the pool or exploring the naturally beautiful surrounding area. the children managed to find a very friendly pregnant donkey in Le Moustier , she was quite partial to a carrot or two. We are still awaiting word of the new arrival.
Paul and Phillipa couldn't have been more kind or helpful,particularly to Grandad and the children.
All in all it was a great experience and we would like to thank Paul and Phillipa for making us so welcome

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendliness and helpfulness of Paul and Philippa
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed meeting all of your family and enjoyed the company of the children for their regular afternoon visit! We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmut H
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing