We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Most Comfortable Bed Ever...& A Great Shower!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Haybarn - light and spacious interior, private patio, perfect space for two people
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Haybarn - light and spacious interior, private patio, perfect space for two people
View from the Bedroom window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Haybarn - light and spacious interior, private patio, perfect space for two people
View from the Bedroom window
A spacious living/dining room in the Haybarn
Living room and kitchen
Dining a deux
Glass of red anyone?!
The Haybarn - Light and spacious with the original wooden beams
Cosy wood burner for cooler nights in by the fire
The king sized bed that's been described as 'like being hugged to sleep by a giant marshmallow'!
The Haybarn bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Bedroom to living room
View from the haybarn Terrace
Saturday market in Sarlat
St Leon sur Vezere
Canoeing from Saint Leon sur Vezere
Canoeing on the River Vezere
Cycling on the Voie Verte from Sarlat
View of Le roque St Christophe from Les Granges
Nearby Chateau de Losse
Roque Gageac and the river Dordogne
Wine festival St Emilion
Jardin d'Eyringnac
Pony trekking in 'la vallée des hommes'
La Roque Saint Christophe - pre-history at it's very best is just across the river
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Peyzac-le-Moustier, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tom W
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Most Comfortable Bed Ever...& A Great Shower!”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in late April 2017 - the Haybarn is large, self-contained (breakfast excluded) with washing facilities, English TV channels.........and the MOST comfortable bed and great pressure shower. Directly opposite is La roque St Christophe which is a must see. Approx 25 mins drive to Sarlat and a good base to everywhere else in the area. Paul & Phillipa are extremely helpful and do everything to ensure that you have a pleasant stay.
They recommended a great local restaurant which is in walking distance (5 minutes) - La Table du Moustier, and we went there on the 2 consecutive nights that they were open. Great food, great hosts and huge portions - we needed to walk home after the 3 course meal.
There is a Boulangerie nearby for daily baguettes and requirements. Definitely need a vehicle for this location, and it is family friendly also.
So glad we chose this gite - really appreciate the TA reviews which made me decide to book here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
You are very kind, thank you for such a lovely review. We are very happy that you had such a great stay and appreciated the comfortable bed! We hope to see you again at some point in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurea_12
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible!!!!!!!!!!!!! Peaceful place plenty of excited things to do”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The gite is incredible. You can see the pictures and when you stay there is the same. 100% true to reality.
We stayed at Haybarn, the gite with private garden. We traveled with our dogs so, this is the perfect place for them.
The house is plenty of details, furniture is very beautiful and very comfortable. You can find all you need there, without sound, and listening the birds in the morning.
Paul and Philippa gave us all the suggestions to visit the zone and enjoy the places. They were very kind with our dogs, playing with them!!!

You dont have to miss this place, this is perfect if you are planning to visit Dordogne, Quiet place, close to a nice boulangerie and a great restaurant called Table du Moustier!!!.

Thanks Paul and Philippa for giving us the opportunity to meet you and visit the zone. We will return, sure, hope very soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplinkNun...
Nuneaton
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent dog friendly gite in great location”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is a super location for a relaxing break or visiting all the tourist highlights of the Vezere historic sites and sarlat / domme section of the dordogne valley . Also in striking distance of the Lot bastides and Bergerac . Lots to do in the area including cycle trails, canoeing and walking for the energetic or sightseeing in the local towns and villages .
This gite has been tastefully and comfortably equipped and has the benefit of a private fenced patio - so is dog friendly and was much appreciated by our boxer puppy . There is a very nice (shared) pool and having been nosy and looked in the other three gites and the main manoir ( which has it's own pool) all are of equally high standard - so the venue has lots of options for different sized groups from couples to large families yet each individual gite also has privacy if required. There is a village shop a few minutes walk away for the morning baguette and other shops and a big supermarket a few minutes drive away in montinac. There are lots of choices and variety of places to eat in the local area to suit all budgets ! The hosts - Paul and Philipa - are very welcoming, friendly and helpful in every respect . All in all an excellent place to stay whether you just want to chill out or have a more energetic holiday. We look forward to our next visit .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything it's a really nice place
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isis Mari...
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Charming”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I had nine very lovely days at this wonderful place. The house is old and charming, you have plenty of space, it´s clean and the bed is super comfortable. Paul and Phillipa was very nice and very helpful. I will definitely return!

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacifico
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Charming, comfortable, well-located -- a perfect stay!”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in April 2015

I must first apologize for my extreme delay in writing this review of travels from spring of 2015, but 2016 has turned my thoughts back to our brief stay in the Haybarn and leaves me longing for a return.

The gite is spacious and clean and rustic (in a good way), and provides all the amenities necessary for enjoying the sights of the area. It is situated well off the road, so is very quiet and seemingly private, though few of the other gites in this complex were occupied at the time of our stay. The kitchen was nicely equipped, but I did not cook as I had expected: full days of sightseeing made restaurant meals seem like a good idea. A welcoming bottle of wine was found upon arrival. Being early in the season, the pools were not in use, but looked tantalizing for hot weather relief.

We felt we were given much attention by Philippa and Paul, who offered nearby dining suggestions and reservations, much-appreciated birding conversation with my husband, and general neighborly friendliness. We sincerely enjoyed our time at the Haybarn and heartily recommend it to all others with hopes that we will return someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Interaction with hosts, location, comfort
Liked least: Tiny local market is very limited.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAMDG
Etampes, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic gite”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We once again had an amazing time in the Haybarn. Paul and Philippa went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, and the Haybarn was a great size for us and our 18-month-old. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy G
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent relaxation”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our second visit and it more than fulfilled our expectations. A beautiful spot, peaceful yet easy access to a variety of ameneties. Paul and Philippa are very friendly and helpful. Lovely area for walking. Best recommendztion, we have booked for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly atmosphere and lovely views
Liked least: Nothing I disliked
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing