We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fabulous two weeks in tobacco barn”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Peyzac-le-Moustier, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
justus369
Dungannon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous two weeks in tobacco barn”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Les Granges is in a fabulous location with excellent facilities. My family stayed in Tobacco Barn and Walnut Store. The hosts Paul and Phillipa were so knowledgeable and helpful....nothing was too much trouble.
If you are visiting this area of France I would highly recommend Les Granges .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and location.
Liked least: One wet day
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALTSELGRE...
WEST SUSSEX UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a great week at "Le Manoir des Granges". Paula and Philippa are delightful hosts and made us very welcome . Nothing was too much trouble and they were very knowledgable and helped with recommendations for markets, activities day's out etc. The Tobacco Barn is a lovely gite- very comfortable and well equipped with everything you need. The location is excellent, and we found it to be very central to all the best things to see along the Vezere valley and beyond. There are many good restaurants in the local area and Paul and Philippa will gladly recommend and book one for you. We had some of best food we've ever eaten in France here and found most of the local restaurants very reasonably priced. It was always nice coming back to Le Manoir after a day out and relaxing by the lovely pool with a glass of wine.....so much so we didnt want to leave!! Looking forward to coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location and gite
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKaehler
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“THE IDEAL LOCATION”
Reviewed 19 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We spent a week at this beautiful and centrally located vacation home and loved every moment. Paul and Philippa are terrific hosts, as they were so friendly and helpful, yet allowed us all the privacy we needed. They have several different units, ranging in size, but The Tobacco Barn unit was perfect for us. The beds and bathrooms were comfortable and clean, the kitchen was fully equipped, and the outside area was beautifully maintained.
The property is directly across the River from the Le Roque St. Christopher cliff dwellings, a beautiful sight, and centrally located for all the caves, attractions, restaurants and small towns that abound in the region. Paul and Philippa will help you with choices and reservations, if needed.
Right down the road about a mile is a wonderful campground, where you'll find a nice little pub with a very generous happy hour. Make it a point to stop in.
All in all, a great value and a comfortable home away from home in maybe the most beautiful region in all of France.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie G
Bristol, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Idyllic stay in perfect location”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I almost don't want to write this review - this property is so popular, we'll never get a chance for availability again!! We came to Le Manoir 9 years ago with a group of friends, and armed with good memories, we chose to come back in August as our family of 4. We stayed in the Tobacco Barn, which was perfect: opened out onto the pool, our own dining area with a superb view of the Roq. Paul and Philippa had the perfect touch: informative, inquisitive, but with respect for our privacy as well. It was my husband's birthday during our stay, and Philippa snuck in a cake and candles while we were around the pool! This was just one of many personal touches that made our stay very special.

The house is exceptionally well placed for exploration of a fascinating region of France, and the village has a restaurant and small shop/ bakery within walking distance. An excellent campsite is also nearby which is happy to accept non-campers for happy hour.

We look forward to a future stay in Le Moustier with Paul and Philippa, and can't recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, fantastic hosts
Liked least: Top bedroom was a bit too warm during the hot August nights, but didn't seem to bother our son.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie95
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent for family of 4, kids 8 and 10.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely gite. Paul and Philippa were excellent hosts, who had great advice for outings for the kids. The gite was beautifully kept and had everything. The kids really enjoyed having the pool at the door! The area is rural but there is a restaurant and boulangarie within walking distance. It is also within easy distance of St Leon, Sarlat and Casteldelnau. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gusto2009
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A perfect slice of Dordogne with walnut sprinkles”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

On arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Philippa and Paul. They were incredibly friendly and hospitable. The propery was in a prefect location with a fantastic view of the Rock (st Christophe), and in the typical French rural style. We stayed at the tobacco barn which has 3 ensuite bedrooms with a well-equipped rustic Gallic kitchen. It has comfortable and cosy seating room, and with double doors leading to a bright sunny and good size swimming pool. The guests staying at the barn also have the exclusive benefit of the elfresco dining area next to pool and overlooking the rock. We use it daily for our breakfast and lunch. They also have a BBQ set as part of the area. The wireless Internet access and tv come as standard.
We were there during the later end of June, and were so lucky as the air was filled with intoxicating scent of honeysuckle (woodbine). The areas was lusciously green with Pre-historic feel to it. As mentioned by other reviewers, the location was spot on with easy access to local amenities and restaurants. 10 mins drive to a supermarket in montagnac. It is also not too far from a local goose farm, which also sells foie gras and other delicacies.

Philippa and Paul were such a fantastic host as mentioned below by others. Our arrival was greeted with a bottle of local red wine, and a bag deliciously creamy walnuts from the region. Philippa also brought us her world-famous walnut cake - which we devoured within seconds. they suggested few places to go and even organised the bookings for restaurants.

Despite the weather, we had a fastastic time and really enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended for a perfect taste of Dordogne! The unfortunate thing is that we had to go back to work... alas, we must go back there soon, probably with a better weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy P
Rye, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Special gite in the Dordogne”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Philippa and Paul are incredibly friendly and helpful hosts. Immediately they make you feel welcome and share many useful suggestions about restaurants and local sites. The gites are meticulously maintained and beautifully outfitted. Internet is fast and easy to connect. After a day of sightseeing we were pleased to come back and relax by the pool and eat our dinner al fresco looking at the awesome La Roque Christophe. The location of the gites is ideal as the area is close to everything but is quiet, not touristy, in a charming town with an excellent boulangerie and close to many outstanding, delicious and reasonably priced restaurants - which we could not stay away from! The two weeks we spent were such a treat we can't wait to return. Thank you, Philippa and Paul, for sharing your part of heaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Philippa and Paul and all their outstanding recommendations.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;