We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a couple of hours”

Roque Saint-Christophe Fort et Cite Troglodytiques
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Halfway between les eyzies and montignac lascaux the roque saint christophe cliff has been occupied for 55000 years then the place was a fort and a city in the middle age here you will travel through times understanding the life of the people of the cliffs.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good for a couple of hours”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Interesting and informative attraction for the whole family. Really gives you an idea of what living on a rock face would have been like and show cases the ingenuity of the human race.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Motisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    329
    50
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location: interesting and informative”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for something different to do when visiting the Périgord region. We had seen more than enough châteaux and needed a break! I was initially worried that La Roque St Christophe may have been too much of a tourist trap and overrun with people but I was wrong on all counts.
The site is well laid out and has information boards at each location that offer explanations in French and English. Although it would have been good to have the guide book obviously being enjoyed by French speakers, I think we managed to learn enough from the notice boards. It was a great history lesson and the models and pictures made it easy to visualize how the settled was used and changed over time.
One word of warning though, there are no toilet facilities at the site. You need to use the limited facilities at the kiosk in the car park before venturing to the site.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Baligirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great site to visit and very interesting”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is probably one of the best Troglodytique sites we have visited over the past 2 years and we have done a few! If your french is good the guided tour is deffinatley worth it but it is very well explained in English if you need it on all the information boards, we think it explains the best about how over the century's the Rocks have been used from cave man to nearer day by man as forts and villages. We all really enjoyed and came away a little more informed about the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EmJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, Surrey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

What an absolutely amazing place. Well worth a visit. It's hard to imagine how people could live on rock ledges...until you visit this place. Brilliant and beautifully done.

One note of caution. The staff in the shop are quite rude. They have the awful ability to serve people without looking at them or acknowledging their presence in any way at all. A pity because the rest of the place was very civilised.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank orak100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
243 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Worth a short visit”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Worth seeing to get a sense of how people lived, but much of the display was a bit so so. Nice to get away from the sun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank joaniebinedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roque Saint-Christophe Fort et Cite Troglodytiques also viewed

 

Been to Roque Saint-Christophe Fort et Cite Troglodytiques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing