We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our recent stay”
Review of The Helyar Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Helyar Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Coker
Reviewed 4 April 2013

With our friends we had a one night stay at this delightful Pub/Hotel
The food and customer service were great.
The wine although good was a little exspensive.
However overall we enjoyed our stay.

Andy

Room Tip: Our Corner room was a trifle chilly but plenty of extra heating was available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew5400186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night. The evening meal was of a very high standard - plenty of choice and very well prepared and presented. Our bedroom was warm and cosy, although it was a very windy night and something loose was blowing about outside our window, the noise from which disturbed our sleep to some extent.
Breakfast could have been better , had there been more choice, and we would have liked some fruit and a greater selection of cereals, other than the sugary ones which were on offer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We were booked in for one night. Arrived just before six and waited in the car park. When the church bell rang at 6pm the doors were opened. Superb welcome by young lady who showed us to our room. It was reasonable size warm but the radiator was on very low, being so cold I turned it up and it was soon really comfortable. Electric towel rail in en-suite which was on all night.
Suoerb meal in the Dining room, felt the wine was rther overpriced. Ended up with our coffee on settees in front of log fire. Good breakfast in morning though the dining room was rather cold. A very pleasant stay may well go again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Wonderful food! Great service from two young staff Stacey and Lewis. Somebody has to do the job and these two people made my partner and I very happy with their bubbly personalities and attention to detail. Could not fault the food and Matt and Carl are great innovative chefs. Our room was comfortable and warm. One word of advice to Matt and his team, sort out your website and bring it up to date. Christmas 2012 is long past!! Use your mailing list and create a monthly newsletter. Put in the spade work and you will reap the rewards.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakkies53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed here for one night on a Groupon deal, so wasnt expecting the moon. But my were we surprised, after reading some of the reviews on here. The first bonus was we were told we couldnt book into 6pm, as we had a small dog with us, thought this was going to be a downside for us, as when the weather is not very good, there are not many places you can escape too to keep warm and dry, Arrived just before 12 and thought we would pop in for a drink and book a table for the eve. The welcome was second to none, Pam who was very helpful, so was the lovely Housekeeper and her youg apprentice, who after taking said she would make up our room and we could check in. So we sat by the roaring open fire and waiting whilst partaking in a few halfs of cider! The room was cold we were told but we had two extra heaters in our lovely and clean room with the most loveliest of views. Went for a beautiful 2 hours walk which again was recommened by the staff, then came back and chilled out in our room. The meal was superb and the potted chilled trio of fish was to die for. I can understand why the chef and his team have acheived so many awards, it was faultless, compliments to you. Very busy as it was a Thursday night, which was "Pudding Night" that is something in itself I would like to come back to sample, but was too full up to sample it this time. A beautiful village and a lovely freindly pub with excellent food. Thank you, we will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmychoobristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Booked 3 weeks ago for a double room in the pub. On arrival we were informed that due to a booking error we had been upgraded to a self contained flat above the skittle alley. The heating consisted of 4 oil filled electric heaters, there was no hot running water from the bathroom and kitchen taps. Due to the bathroom and kitchen being on a different level there was no heating source available. To try & heat the lower level of the flat we turned the oven & hot plates on, this caused the smoke alarm to be activated due to e poor cleanliness of the cooker. The curtains in the living room consisted of a duvet cover thrown over the curtain pole & the curtains in the bedroom could not be closed due to surplus hooks. As the premises could not offer alternative accommodation we checked out and stayed elsewhere. Would never go back, it's wa the pits!

Advice if visiting in winter weather wrap up warm, even in the pub as they ration the wood for the log fire.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Flowersss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Ate a very good value Sunday lunch, however the slow roasted pork could have been a little more tender but it was tasty and there was an ample amount of it. The array of vegetables were cooked to perfection. We had decided to share a desert, which was delicious and beautifully presented, that we wished we had ordered one each. I thought that the special price for 2 courses was extremely good value & couldn't understand where all the customers were, for a Sunday, the place was nearly deserted. One disconcerting feature was being put on a tiny table in a room full of empty tables! Would definitely go again though.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Damfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Helyar Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helyar Arms

Address: Moor Lane, East Coker BA22 9JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > East Coker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Coker
Price Range: £52 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Helyar Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic 15th century inn at the heart of an idyllic conservation village only three miles from Yeovil. Award-winning food, real ales and over 40 wines by the glass. Large garden, car park and traditional skittle alley. We also provide dining onsite for up to 85 guests in the pub and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The Helyar Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helyar Arms Hotel East Coker
Helyar Arms Yeovil
Helyar Arms Hotel Yeovil
The Helyar Arms East Coker, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing