We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh Dear! What a change(for the worse!)” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Helyar Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Helyar Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Coker
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oh Dear! What a change(for the worse!)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Had been here with friends a few years back and had been very impressed. Staying locally I decided to take my partner and her daughter there for a Sunday lunch treat. The starters were pretty good and I was looking forward to the rest of our fixed price lunch. What was served was grim. I had the mixed roast; dry, overcooked meat, hard roast potatoes and the doughiest, most unappealing Yorkshire I've ever eaten. I didn't complain as it can leave a sour taste, unfortunately that was exactly what my partner's daughter had when she tucked into her dessert; very "off" marscapone. I took it back. Apologies and promises that it would be dealt with were made but at that point I just wanted "out."

Very poor value for money and would definitely not return; interestingly the place was deserted when I went in to settle up; not how I remembered it last time; amazing how much a place can change.Sad.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jinglebells55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    39
    24
    29
    30
See reviews for
49
84
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Another stay at Helyar Arms, and again service and food excellent. A wide variety of food available to satisfy the most demanding customer. Tried the Deep Fried Rice Pudding...sounds odd but wow! Not heavy or stodgy, and certainly not what I expected. Steak served to perfection, as were other meals. Wines very reasonably priced too. Clean, comfortable and quiet room too. Full marks again. Doug B

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doug_birdno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

From our arrival on Thursday night to departing on Sunday morning, the service and food was outstanding. The wide variety of food from the menu and the specials board gave a wide choice for the most discerning of diners. The cooked breakfast was more than enough to keep us going all day. All the staff were friendly and helpful with information on the area.
The accommodation itself was clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. We found the room warm and welcoming. Also provided in the room were a Halogen heater, oil heater and extra blankets if required (they were not needed as central heating more than adequate)
We would highly recommend The Helyar Arms and are looking forward to returning soon.
Doug Birdno

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doug_birdno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

With our friends we had a one night stay at this delightful Pub/Hotel
The food and customer service were great.
The wine although good was a little exspensive.
However overall we enjoyed our stay.

Andy

Room Tip: Our Corner room was a trifle chilly but plenty of extra heating was available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew5400186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night. The evening meal was of a very high standard - plenty of choice and very well prepared and presented. Our bedroom was warm and cosy, although it was a very windy night and something loose was blowing about outside our window, the noise from which disturbed our sleep to some extent.
Breakfast could have been better , had there been more choice, and we would have liked some fruit and a greater selection of cereals, other than the sugary ones which were on offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We were booked in for one night. Arrived just before six and waited in the car park. When the church bell rang at 6pm the doors were opened. Superb welcome by young lady who showed us to our room. It was reasonable size warm but the radiator was on very low, being so cold I turned it up and it was soon really comfortable. Electric towel rail in en-suite which was on all night.
Suoerb meal in the Dining room, felt the wine was rther overpriced. Ended up with our coffee on settees in front of log fire. Good breakfast in morning though the dining room was rather cold. A very pleasant stay may well go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Wonderful food! Great service from two young staff Stacey and Lewis. Somebody has to do the job and these two people made my partner and I very happy with their bubbly personalities and attention to detail. Could not fault the food and Matt and Carl are great innovative chefs. Our room was comfortable and warm. One word of advice to Matt and his team, sort out your website and bring it up to date. Christmas 2012 is long past!! Use your mailing list and create a monthly newsletter. Put in the spade work and you will reap the rewards.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakkies53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Coker
1.6 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
6.5 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
5.3 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Airfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Helyar Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helyar Arms

Property: The Helyar Arms
Address: Moor Lane, East Coker BA22 9JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > East Coker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Coker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Helyar Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic 15th century inn at the heart of an idyllic conservation village only three miles from Yeovil. Award-winning food, real ales and over 40 wines by the glass. Large garden, car park and traditional skittle alley. We also provide dining onsite for up to 85 guests in the pub and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your The Helyar Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helyar Arms Hotel East Coker
Helyar Arms Yeovil
Helyar Arms Hotel Yeovil
The Helyar Arms East Coker, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing