We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warning - do not stay here”
Review of Mildmay Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mildmay Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Queen Camel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warning - do not stay here”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was the single worst B&B or hotel that we have ever had the misfortune of staying at. What should have been a lovely overnight stay was an unmitigated nightmare.

Below is a summary of some of the reasons why:

1. Overflowing sewage - the very first thing my feet hit when leaving our car in the B&B car park.
2. Filthy throughout the B&B - communal areas covered in a thick layer of dog hair; pervading musky smell throughout.
3. Filthy, non-functional room - shower hanging off the wall; tv not working; sheets so dirty I slept fully clothed in the hottest week of the year.
4. Bodily fluid on towel - the towels actually looked clean (a minor miracle given the context)...but on closer inspection, the towels were graced with crusty patches of god knows what.
5. Rude, unwelcoming, terrible service - rude throughout our stay, and when complained about the above we were met with a single 'sorry' and nothing more. Nowhere near good enough.

We can't comment on the food - having seen the state of the B&B we had no intention of eating in the pub.

However, quite simply, do not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank IonaC971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    30
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
29
47
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is a warm, friendly pub that also provides bed and breakfast and is dog friendly.

They provide a selection of tapas which is frankly divine. The first time we visited only three of us had the tapas expecting small portions, well we were well and truly surprised at both the portions and quality of food.

We visited again two days later and all 9 of us shared tapas and the bill was extremely reasonable.

The local ale 'Butcombe' is very nice despite its rather inelegant name.

We will definitely be making another trip there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

4 of us were attending a wedding in castle cary , i had booked with hotels.com and had paid and booked 2 en-suite rooms,i telephoned that morning to say it would be after ,6pm before we got there, but was told there was only i en-suite room booked by hotel.com i was't happy about this but the landlord sorted us out and we got our 2 ensuite rooms and on top of that we have to say the food was delicious both at night and beakfast next day,staff excellent enjoyed it very much

Room Tip: pick en-suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill55-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed overnight as we have friends who live in Queen Camel. This pub is a traditional village pub, with every thing that implies! (ie not modern and/or part of a big chain). The Mildmay Arms has just had a change of landlord and they are doing their best to bring this lovely pub up to date, so am looking forward to staying again when all the teething problems are finished! Staff are very friendly and helpful, had a lovely cooked English breakfast before we left.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtlaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ditcheat, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I arrived at Mildmay to be told the room I had booked was being renovated and so would have to have a room without ensuite. The room itself was very basic and unfortunately the carpet was dirty and there was peeling paint on the ceiling.
The shared bathroom was rather grim and in dire need of modernising.
The bedroom door did not seem to lock. I tried this for about 10 minutes but had no joy. When turning the key there did not seem to be a locking mechanism, just a turning one.
On arrival I enquired how I got in late as I was off to a wedding. The front door was explained and the guy left....not a mention of breakfast in sight!
Walking through the B&M, there was a dirty blck sock on the winow sil on the stairs and a open letter laying on the side by the front door.
I changed for the wedding, packed my things and left sharpish...the car seemed a better option!
I expected it to be budget at £50, but there is budget and then there is this!

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Loopz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mildmaychef, Manager at Mildmay Arms, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank ,you for your input duly noted, but a shame you didn't come down to us to sort out these issues. We are here to help and happy to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merriott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We went here for a light Sunday lunch after our original choice was fully booked and had a wonderful time. Both the waitress and chef were incredibly friendly and helpful, the food was tasty and the portions generous for the good value prices. The pub itself is in the beautiful village of Queen Camel and traditionally decorated, the restaurant section is separate from the bar which is nice when going out for a meal. The only thing I would mention is that were no vegetarian mains listed, although the chef offered to make us numerous things which was brilliant. I think it would be very beneficial to mention on the menu that vegetarians options are available as people may be put off otherwise.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopyLou1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Pre booked here for 12 people for lunch, an outing made monthly to different pubs in our area. 1st - No table laid up for 12, so pushed own tables together. 2nd - Wine returned as glass was filthy, ok sometimes that happens. 3rd - We had 2 vegetarians in the group but the menu showed no vegetarian meals, so we asked & was told they would go & see what they could offer, came back with either frittata or ploughmans, was told a frittata is a 'Spanish' omelette (it's Italian), all sorted we all sat down, the table which was already laid up with cutlery etc. before we moved them, was dirty and sticky, a couple of forks had something in them but all of them were stuck to the table . It was at this point we left our drinks and left the pub and went to The Lamb & Lark at Limington - Brilliant & well worth it

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaybee820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mildmaychef, Manager at Mildmay Arms, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
To keep it brief, we did not ever take a booking for 12 for this Saturday in question and we tried to accommodate you at short notice. You were offered stuffed Portabello mushrooms as well for a vegetarian option! However we stayed very courteous with you al,l unfortunately the same courtesy was not reciprocated!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queen Camel
6.3 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
6.1 mi away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel & Restaurant
6.0 mi away
The Keep
The Keep
#4 of 27 in Yeovil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sparkford Inn
Sparkford Inn
#1 of 2 in Sparkford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mildmay Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mildmay Arms

Property: Mildmay Arms
Address: High Street | Somerset, Queen Camel BA22 7NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Queen Camel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Queen Camel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mildmay Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mildmay Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mildmay Arms Hotel Queen Camel
Mildmay Arms Queen Camel, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing