We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mildmay Arms
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horse Pond Inn(Castle Cary)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
George Hotel(Castle Cary)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Inn(Sherborne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Eastbury Hotel(Sherborne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
76
33
11
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
33
11
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubwarm friendly welcomefish chipssunday lunchsticky toffee puddingrestaurant downstairsbelly porkfamily mealmain barserved quicklylounge barportion sizesbed and breakfastup to datelovely mealbe visiting againdefinitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was the single worst B&B or hotel that we have ever had the misfortune of staying at. What should have been a lovely overnight stay was an unmitigated nightmare.

Below is a summary of some of the reasons why:

1. Overflowing sewage - the very first thing my feet hit when leaving our car in the B&B car park.
2. Filthy throughout the B&B - communal areas covered in a thick layer of dog hair; pervading musky smell throughout.
3. Filthy, non-functional room - shower hanging off the wall; tv not working; sheets so dirty I slept fully clothed in the hottest week of the year.
4. Bodily fluid on towel - the towels actually looked clean (a minor miracle given the context)...but on closer inspection, the towels were graced with crusty patches of god knows what.
5. Rude, unwelcoming, terrible service - rude throughout our stay, and when complained about the above we were met with a single 'sorry' and nothing more. Nowhere near good enough.

We can't comment on the food - having seen the state of the B&B we had no intention of eating in the pub.

However, quite simply, do not stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank IonaC971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is a warm, friendly pub that also provides bed and breakfast and is dog friendly.

They provide a selection of tapas which is frankly divine. The first time we visited only three of us had the tapas expecting small portions, well we were well and truly surprised at both the portions and quality of food.

We visited again two days later and all 9 of us shared tapas and the bill was extremely reasonable.

The local ale 'Butcombe' is very nice despite its rather inelegant name.

We will definitely be making another trip there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

4 of us were attending a wedding in castle cary , i had booked with hotels.com and had paid and booked 2 en-suite rooms,i telephoned that morning to say it would be after ,6pm before we got there, but was told there was only i en-suite room booked by hotel.com i was't happy about this but the landlord sorted us out and we got our 2 ensuite rooms and on top of that we have to say the food was delicious both at night and beakfast next day,staff excellent enjoyed it very much

Room Tip: pick en-suite room
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jill55-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed overnight as we have friends who live in Queen Camel. This pub is a traditional village pub, with every thing that implies! (ie not modern and/or part of a big chain). The Mildmay Arms has just had a change of landlord and they are doing their best to bring this lovely pub up to date, so am looking forward to staying again when all the teething problems are finished! Staff are very friendly and helpful, had a lovely cooked English breakfast before we left.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtlaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I arrived at Mildmay to be told the room I had booked was being renovated and so would have to have a room without ensuite. The room itself was very basic and unfortunately the carpet was dirty and there was peeling paint on the ceiling.
The shared bathroom was rather grim and in dire need of modernising.
The bedroom door did not seem to lock. I tried this for about 10 minutes but had no joy. When turning the key there did not seem to be a locking mechanism, just a turning one.
On arrival I enquired how I got in late as I was off to a wedding. The front door was explained and the guy left....not a mention of breakfast in sight!
Walking through the B&M, there was a dirty blck sock on the winow sil on the stairs and a open letter laying on the side by the front door.
I changed for the wedding, packed my things and left sharpish...the car seemed a better option!
I expected it to be budget at £50, but there is budget and then there is this!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Loopz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mildmaychef, Manager at Mildmay Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Thank ,you for your input duly noted, but a shame you didn't come down to us to sort out these issues. We are here to help and happy to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews