We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Great Service”
Review of Mildmay Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mildmay Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Queen Camel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Service”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We visited this recently reopened pub for dinner, have to say we were not disappointed.

We had the starter selection, which allowed us to try 3 different dishes. The home cured salmon was a triumph, the homemade pate was rich, creamy and perfectly seasoned, the beetroot and feta was also sensational.

I had a rib eye steak which was cooked rare as requested and was very tender. My fiancé had the sea bream which was also very good.

The service was excellent with everyone eager to please, and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluefoxx672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, General Manager at Mildmay Arms, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for your review, im glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    31
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
30
47
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a fantastic village pub Ian and Debbie welcomed us like they had known us for years . According to form they have transformed this pub . The attention to detail is second to none. They have rresearch the history of the pub and incorporated it in the decore. The food and service was the standard of a high class restaurant. We can't recommend this fantastic pub enough . Well done to Ian Debbie and team keep up the good work . We only wish we lived in the area as it would be our local without a doubt .

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank teenneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, General Manager at Mildmay Arms, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for your review, im glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Business lunch stop off in the newly reopened mild May arms. Ian welcomed us in and showed us round the bar, restaurant. They certainly know what they are doing.....the wow factor and the country pub charm altogether. Perfectly laid out, and a stunning finish. We were welcomed in and the atmosphere was buoyant and friendly. We decided on lunch, all prepared on the premises, and had a chat with some locals. The food came in good time and tasted as good as it looked. You could feel the freshness in the seafood linguini and my colleague had a freshly made burger. Stunning food, great atmosphere and a friendly welcome. These guys know what they are doing! Will be back with the family at some point.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank M15JRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, General Manager at Mildmay Arms, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for your review, were glad that you took the time to post a review and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I couldn't find an entry for this establishment in the restaurant so have posted a review here.

The family and I decided to go out for a meal last friday. Having heard that the Mild May Arms was re-opening we decided we would try it out. The four of us ate in the restaurant and had an excellent three course meal. With a varied menu at a range of prices there was something for all tastes. We shared a selection of cold starters and, apart from one who had the wild mushroom risotto, we decided to have a steak for our main course. The steaks were tasty and cooked to perfection with a generous portion of vegetables as accompaniment. The risotto, also a good sized portion, was delicious, creamy and well seasoned. Although by this point we were rather full, we decided it would be a wasted opportunity not to have dessert. With a slate selection of small desserts, beautifully presented, we shared a taste of each and followed this with a cheeseboard. The ideal end to the meal.

We hadn't realised that this was re-opening night, as such the pub was full but the staff coped well, being attentive and courteous even if at times they were both serving and acting as tour guides for the new restaurant layout, which incidently has a nice traditional feel with a clean and fresh decor.

A good evening which we will repeat again soon, but maybe this time we will try the bar menu as we had spotted the large portions of cheesey chips heading towards the bar at various points during the evening. If this standard of cuisine is an indication of things to come then I imagine the only issue will be finding a table.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, General Manager at Mildmay Arms, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for your review, were glad that you took the time to post a review and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Midmay has now re-opened and has undergone a massive transformation!
Well worth a visit as the menu is fabulous and staff friendly and attentive.
So happy our village pub is now back in business, my family will definitely be visiting often!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisrich1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, General Manager at Mildmay Arms, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Were glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, Somerset, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This village Inn has just been reopened by Ian and Debbie after soft opening night ; cannot fail. This has gone transformation, superb decor and the food is commended.
Well worth a visit
Look forward to revisiting

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stupug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I read the Trip advisor reviews for this pub today and as I was visiting the village later in the day, decided to leave early to include a visit here for lunch. Unfortunately, the pub was not just closed today, it has shut down completely! I just wanted to let others know by making this remark on site.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nenims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Owner at Mildmay Arms, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi, just a quick note to say that we have now taken over the Mildmay Arms and we are currently renovating from top to bottom

We hope to reopen soon

Thank you

Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queen Camel
6.1 mi away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
289 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Yeovil Podimore
4.8 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sparkford Inn
Sparkford Inn
#2 of 2 in Sparkford
153 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Keep
The Keep
#4 of 27 in Yeovil
229 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Green Room
The Green Room
#18 of 27 in Yeovil
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mildmay Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mildmay Arms

Property: Mildmay Arms
Address: High Street | Somerset, Queen Camel BA22 7NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Queen Camel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Queen Camel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mildmay Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mildmay Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mildmay Arms Hotel Queen Camel
Mildmay Arms Queen Camel, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing