We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a small hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Barwick House
Ranked #1 of 2 Barwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A gem of a small hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I don't know which aspect to praise most: the food (quite delicious). the room (beautifully furnished with all you could want), the personal service (charming) or the rural setting (far from the madding crowd indeed)....all were strikingly good and made for a memorable overnight stay.
Definitely would want to return as soon as the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDavies593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
56
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We visited for Mum and Dads 40th wedding anniversary and I could not find a fault. We ate so much food I could not list it all but for my own meal I had red mullet for starter, roe deer for mains and cheese for dessert. My wife had the goats cheese salad, the steak and the plate of strawberry. All of this food was well cooked, the fish was moist and tasty, both meat dishes were cooked to perfection as were the garnishes. Again the desserts were excellent and the amount of cheese was huge. I had to leave some.

We also had rolls before starter and coffee and petit fours for a fourth course. To drink we had the New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc (£28) and the New Zealand Pinot Noir, plus I had a glass of port with the cheese course.

The only minor criticism was the petit fours which were a little disappointing and the room we were in was very warm even though doors were open. Some fans or air conditioning would have been great.

The location for this is very tranquil and beautiful. The outside area is a joy to be in and a ore an post meal drink is a must.

I would recommend this to all. The meal was £45 plus £5 for coffee each. The cheapest wines were around £30 however both wines we had were near the bottom of the price list but were very good. They also had chateau hussar on the menu which is a very good wine but at £45 a bottle it was a bit expensive considering someone else was paying.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildsnoopster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We especially wanted to come to Little Barwick for a family 90th birthday will three generations present having come from far and wide. The location is peaceful, the welcome friendly, efficient but not intrusive, the food delicious and beautifully presented, and the house wines first class. We had high expectations and were not disappointed - an outstanding success, and would unreservedly recommend this gem to anyone. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The guest rooms were very good and the staff could not be more helpful, which made our four night stay pure joy. The location is in a quiet village with no road noise so is very peaceful. The quality of the food was excellent and good value for money. The portions were if anything too big for us, but mine host did her best to give us smaller. The ingredients are of a very high quality and cooked to perfection, the wine list comprehensive. What more could you want, except a super breakfast, which we had four days running which set us up for sight seeing in the area.

Room Tip: We were in two different rooms as we changed our booking at the last minute, arriving two days early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset U.K.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

A friend of ours whilst staying at the above Hotel, invited us as Guests to join her for Dinner. The Hotel is situated just outside of Yeovil, Somerset. It certainly needed to be signposted, and thankfully it was. Do use the route suggested, you might easily get lost otherwise. A welcoming host showed us into a charming drawing room, where drinks and your order is taken from a very good menu. Locally fresh produce is used, and expertly cooked and presented. The staff are always there, but not intrusive in any way. A most relaxing Evening, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevilj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

We chose to celebrate our anniversary again at LBH and for the third time decided on the dinner with B&B - admittedly not cheap but for this quality it is very good value.

Contrary to some reports a warm welcome, the offer of tea and biscuits and room 3 that is quiet, well appointed and has a wonderful outlook over the garden. Pre dinner drinks and an amuse bouche in front of the log fire is a good start. The John Dory and scallops were superb, melt-down roe deer and fillet steak cooked to perfection and deserts presented like works of art. A good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed followed by a fine full English breakfast, decent strong coffee to start the day with a sight of a nuthatch and tree creeper as we left.

West Country hospitality at its best, remember though it is a restaurant with rooms and not a hotel. We love and would recommend it.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
244 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

A warm, cosy welcome with log fire in lounge, afternoon tea with cake and shortbread. Extremely comfortable bedroom with Californian King size bed, very restful sleeping and country house situation and style - highly recommended. Food at dinner quite excellent and exceptional - we enjoyed scallops, roe deer and crumble - wide ranging wine list, wonderfully styled fluted champagne glasses, contents of which was much enjoyed. Very adequate house wines at keen prices. Warm bedroom with sofa, cooler bathroom with shower over bath lovely quiet rural outlook. Excellent hostess who provides most of the service. Close enough to Yeovil if you need a town. Restaurant probably better value than the bedroom deals. Well worth a return visit in our opinion.

Room Tip: Ours at the top of the house (two floors up) overlooked the front garden entrance and valley below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barwick
5.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Airfield Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Barwick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Barwick House

Property: Little Barwick House
Address: Barwick, Yeovil BA22 9TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Barwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Barwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Little Barwick House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Little Barwick House Hotel Barwick
Little Barwick House Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing